We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Low-Key”
Review of Shawmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shawmont Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet and low key. It had was across the street from the ocean, so there were magnificent views. Ocean Grove is a beautiful town with much history. The locals are very polite. Music was everywhere - under gazeebos or down the boardwalk in Asbury Park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBAzavedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend in mid-April & was very disappointed to see how just having come off their quiet time of year (winter) that things that should have been cleaned/repaired were just left undone. It's small stuff but that's what makes an inn a special place - attention to detail. There was a stain on the rug in the lobby, the couch in the lobby has a doily covering a huge stain, paint was off the wall our room. The rooms here are not cheap so I was just surprised that the owners are not more mindful. This was my 1st stay here & I'm not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed from May 19-May 21st for Bamboozle festival. This mini weekend getaway was well needed! We had a pass for Sunday only so enjoyed the rest of the time visiting the boutiques, coffee shops, and art gallery in the area. The good thing is the Shawmont is about 10 minutes away from the main "action" area of Asbury park so it was nice and peaceful. The Shawmont itself is a really cute bed and breakfast. We had a nice room, nothing fancy, with an ocean view. The breakfast is simple: yogurt, fruit, bagels, oatmeal, and orange juice. The staff were incredibly warm, attentive, and welcoming! We're already planning to come back soon with the rest of our family.

Side note: the shower is very tight. It didn't bother us as we're not very picky with those type of things but if you're claustrophobic that may be a problem. They may have bigger showers in the other rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia0287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This bed and breakfast is directly in front of the beach. Perferct location! It is a short walk from the shops over in Asbury Park, and close to the town. Be prepared to park your car, and relax. The rooms are clean and the house is run well. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in Room 201 on the top floor, with a beautiful view of the ocean and access to the balcony right outside (shared with Room 200). Across the not-very-busy street is the boardwalk and the beach – it was closer than it appeared in the pictures! The shops and restaurants on Main Ave are a 3-minute walk, the fun boardwalk activity in neighboring Asbury Park is a very pleasant 10 minutes along the boardwalk, and the Asbury Park train station is a 15-minute walk (with sidewalks the entire way). The location really can’t be beat.

Luxury? No way. Think of it as staying at your old aunt’s house. Things are a bit old, dated, and at times falling apart (rusted radiators, bathroom floor tiles, etc). The shower head is not the best, and the water wouldn’t get past warm on the first night (improved in the morning though). But the bed was comfortable, the TV worked, and it was generally clean. The breakfast was basic (bagels & small pastries, yogurt, bananas & apples, instant oatmeal).

Overall the Shawmont served our purposes (a weekend getaway from the bustle of NYC). While I would consider staying there again, I would look at other oceanfront options in Ocean Grove first before rebooking at the Shawmont.

Room Tip: Pay a little more per night to get the ocean view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaPortuguesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a lovely place to visit. Good value off season. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Our only problem was that we were told our room was on the second floor and it ended up being on the third (no elevator). That was probably our fault - they explained that the first floor is really the ground floor, not the first. They did offer to carry our bags which was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriCrisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a nice place to stay. It's right on the ocean. We got an Oceanfront room with a porch overlooking the beach. The people at the front desk were so nice and helpful. The room was a bit small with only a double bed, but in fairness the Hotel is 140 years old and the rooms due tend to run small. The town of Ocean Grove is only one square mile and is very family friendly. It is a dry town, due to the fact that it was founded by a Methodist group, who still meet there during the summer. They serve a nice continental breakfast for the guests. Just enough food for most people. The restaurants were fine, some were better than others. All in all, I really liked the place and the town. It is truly a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Not really recommended for wheelchair folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrock56eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ocean Grove
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawmont Hotel

Address: 17 Ocean Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1662
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Price Range: $85 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shawmont is a fully refurbished 30 room hotel facing the Ocean, in historic Ocean Grove NJ right on the NJ shore. All rooms have private baths, AC, and Cable TV. Built in 1865 all rooms have updated and many have outstanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shawmont Hotel Ocean Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing