We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Easter Sunday”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Being Ocean City veterans, we wanted to spend the our Easter Weekend at the beach. Last minute we settled on the Flanders. We had never stayed there before. We loved every minute of it. The room (suite) was spacious for the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 kids). The staff was very accommodating. Also enjoyed a wonderful Sunday Brunch. Definitely plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Higher beach front rooms give a good view of the boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are please hear you and your family found your room comfortable and enjoyed your Easter Brunch. We look forward to your return visit to the Flanders Hotel.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609-399-1000
TheFlandersHotel com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel staff was warm and inviting. We booked a 1 bed 1 bath room, but upon arrival they upgraded us for free since something was wrong with the room we were intended to stay in. The room was beautiful! With 2 bedrooms and a huge bathroom. Not to mention the kitchen and washer and dryer! Since we visited in the "off season", the shops on the boardwalk were closed, but it was so quiet and relaxing. The hotel itself was gorgeous and we spent some time walking around and admiring it all. I will definitely be staying here anytime I come back to New Jersey!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtneylynne509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a nice review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed exploring the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609-399-1000
TheFlandersHotel com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We recently stayed on the 6th floor with our three kids. I think even the very most demanding guest could not have found any problems with our suite. I saw that a few people complained about their beds at the Flanders. Our mattresses were absolutely, completely perfect. The mattress on the sofa-bed was the most comfortable one I have ever laid on and I have become a kind of connoisseur of sofa-bed mattresses, since we travel a lot with our three kids. Our suite had a dishwasher and everything in the suite looked and operated as if it was new. Everyone working there was very friendly and we love the restaurant. It is our favorite restaurant in Ocean City and my kids are 5th generation Ocean City visitors. It has very good food but, at the same time, is very kid-friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olivedougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodations comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Ocean City.

Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609-399-1000
TheFlandersHotel com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have been traveling to Ocean City N.J. for over 35 years. It is our favorite beach town. Rented houses for years when our children were young. My husband and I are now traveling- just the two of us with the kids grown and no longer need a house. Last year while visiting Ocean City we had the pleasure of eating at Emily's Restaurant in the Flanders Hotel. It was warm, charming and relaxing- and the food was great. We had a very welcoming and excellent waitress, Paula, and after such a great experience decided we needed to stay here. It was a great choice!! We loved our beautiful room overlooking the ocean. It was decorated better than any hotel we have ever stayed in, very modern and very colorful. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom relaxing. Large living room/dining area with kitchen. Everything was spotless. The experience of staying here was wonderful from check-in to check out. Everyone in the hotel is so very nice and welcoming. We loved the shops and were greeted warmly there also. At check in we were told about the ballrooms on the second floor, which we would have never known about. There are no words to describe how magnificent they are! The only bad thing was we were only able to stay one night. We were spending the next few days at an event in Cape May. Looking forward to staying much longer the next time we visit. Thank you to Paula for giving us such great service, it's because of you we chose this hotel! We live in Pittsburgh and this stay really brightened up a very cold, snowy, dreary winter, thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay at the Flanders Hotel. Wow, 35 years says it all, Ocean City is America's #1 Family Resort! We are pleased to hear your nice comments about your room and the staff. I have shared your kind words with Paula, the staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Flanders in the near future!
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy
TheFlandersHotel com
609-399-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Me and my daughter stayed last weekend for the miss United States pageant. We stayed at the Flanders. The room was beautiful (609). Large. Clean. I was surprised. It was a bright yellow w a nautical theme. We loved it. The restaurant was great. Loved the three gift shops. Front desk and staff was amazing. There was even a bridal expo that Sunday. Was first trip to oc nj. But would go back and stay at Flanders. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Flanders Hotel. We enjoyed hosting the Miss NJ USA families at the hotel. Ocean City is known as "America's #1 Family Resort. Our family friendly staff takes pride in the services the provide and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend. I will share your wonderful comments with the staff and management.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Last week I was extremely impressed when I attended a business conference at the Flanders. The private meeting rooms were large and comfortable, the food was tasty and the staff was friendly & efficient. Over the past 30 years, I have attended 12-15 events at the Flanders, from weddings to seminars to business luncheons and baby showers - all good experiences. I requested a tour of the different types of suites and WOW what a variety. Their basic one room suite is spacious with a real kitchenette (full size frig, stove top, dishwasher, cabinets and counters), large bathroom and large bedroom. Then there are 2 and 3 bedroom suites with huge living rooms (some with breakfast bars), dining room tables, full kitchens and large balconies. You could invite 30 people for drinks and not be crowded; great for family gatherings. Each suite was beautifully & uniquely decorated, giving a cozy feeling to the rooms. I hated to go home...

Room Tip: Elevators are small, so stay on a lower floor unless you don't mind stairs. During summer, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Flanders Hotel. As you mentioned we are a full service Banquet and Conference Center with ballrooms and meeting space to host small and large events. We are please to hear you had a moment to take a tour of our hotel suites. You are right our rooms are cozy and family friendly with separate bedrooms and kitchenettes. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first and last time staying here. The place is tacky tacky tacky. They have not decided if they want to be a modern hotel or not. Our room was not cleaned, the bed was not made, we were not given clean towels and the list goes on. I couldn't believe it. We notified the front desk and they did nothing. The mattress on the bed has to be as old as the hotel, they were old, worn, lumpy and uncomfortable. We ate at the restaurant on site. We had a 1pm reservation, we got there a few minutes early and were seated, our order was taken around 1:10p we ordered 2 panni sandwiches and a side salad, we waited and waited finally at 2:05p our food came out. Service was beyond slow. It was like they had no idea they were open for business. The sandwiches were just ok. The positive things were the staff in the garden room were very friendly and professional, the hotel is right on the board walk, and after 2 1/2 days we checked out.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkat3454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is through our guests comments that we are able to grow and improve. I would like to discuss your stay in more detail and welcome a call from you. Please contact me directly at 609-399-1000, ext. 7195.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.7 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing