We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The hotel is located next to an amusement park so do not waste your money on an ocean view room. You can expect a lot of noise from the rides and people screaming. Hotel staff was nice enough but when checking out no porters to be found. The restaurant is average at best. Also city is dry and there are very few good restaurants. Unless you like Italian food. Go to Ocean City MD.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank foster1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2008

Although I have a soft spot for the Flanders, I learned to swim
there, when it had pools out front. They have improved it since we stayed and it is lovely. However, I would never rate it #2 of the hotels in O.C., more like 7 or 8. It tends to attract an older population, which is fine, but it also can be noisy. It's not too far from some amusements, and one of the piers where the teenagers hang out. I like the Flanders, I just think that its rating is too high. If people were there during the construction, they came home very unhappy. Maybe I'll give it another try, but I don't think that it's worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan_J_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

The Flanders is a well furnished hotel. The experience it gives is not however very good. My wife and I booked our honeymoon stay at the Flanders last year (at 2007 prices). We booked one of their more expensive "Promenade Suites". Their website claimed that all promenade suites came standard with a whirlpool tub, along with other amenities. When we arrived we discovered that our room did not in fact have a whirlpool tub. We took this issue up with the front desk and were shown a copy in the hotels own paper flier which states that a whirlpool tub or double shower is standard (our room had the shower). We explained that the hotel website says otherwise, and that we were using the information on the website when we booked. The woman at the desk told us she would have the general manager come see us the next morning. The next morning we went down to the front desk again (we were told the GM would come up to our room, but she didn't). The GM was there, and was very apathetic about our situation, saying that the employee that had booked us was fired a while ago, and that they knew that there was inaccurate information on the website. She didn't have an explanation as to why the website had not been updated. When looking over our reservation she made a comment about how there was already a $100+ discount per night on our account. We booked at 2007 rates because we booked in 2007. This is not a discount, it was early booking. I pointed this out to her. The best she could do to correct our problem was offer us a free breakfast at the in-house restaurant. We booked a room, with specific amenities, and we were given a room that did not match what we booked. If it had not been for the tub, we would not have booked at the Flanders. Apparently the hotel management has no problem with generating bookings through false advertising on their website. I should also mention that our room was supposed to have an ocean view. Well, it did face the ocean, but instead of a view of the ocean, we had a view of the small amusement park behind the hotel, and could hear clearly the noise of the rides and screaming children until late at night.

Another issue we had during our stay was the inability to get on the hotel's wireless network. The rooms do not offer wired connectivity. The only Internet access is wireless. I could connect to the network, but was unable to maintain a working Internet connection. When I did get a working Internet connection, it would drop out after 30 seconds to 2 minutes. My wife happened to spot the wireless router out in the hallway, and being a network engineering major, I looked at it. The hotel uses a residential grade Linksys router to offer internet access. My guess is that they went cheap and the equipment they are using is unable to handle the capacity needed for a busy hotel.

On our last day, I guess as the cherry on top of this whole ordeal, we discovered ants in our room.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BladeOfAnduril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Hi, We are The Stewarts, from Annandale NJ. We have been here several times before. We came here to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We have stayed here several times before, most recent was last summer when our children came down to celebrate all there birthdays. We had a great time. Thank you, Rose Stewart

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FlandersGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We had an excellent time; it's a great location in the boardwalk & they've done a fine job of renovating the property.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Dear Sir or Madam,
My family and I stayed at The Flanders Hotel this past summer, for the 3rd time. And I've got to tel you, it has gotten nothing but better and better and better!! From the moment you walk into this elegant and beautiful hotel, you are greeted by the friendliest and most competent front desk people I have met in any hotel anywhere! They make us feel like VIP's every time we check in.

On our last visit, we arrived at 1:00 pm, and even though check in wasn't until 3:00, they put us into the room early at no additional charge.

The rooms get more beautiful every year. Our first year we stayed in a regular suite with an ocean view where we could see the rides, boardwalk and ocean. The next year we stayed in a ocean front room that looked straight out at the ocean. And this year we stayed in one of their million dollar penthouse suites.

The rooms are really nice, clean and have a charm about them. Housekeeping was wonderful, and honored all of our requests.

The hotel now has a quality restaurant called Emily's Ocean Room Cafe. They have this crab in sauce dish that was out of this world. The soups and desserts were delicious and homemade!!! It was so nice to eat a great meal without leaving the hotel. Plus we used room service for our breakfast.

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. We plan to continue to vacation in Ocean City at the Flanders for many years to come. We just heard about their First Night Package for New Years. We are trying to fit it in our schedule. It sounds like a wonderful time for the whole family.

If you are vacationing in Ocean City, you must check out this hotel.

Rock

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rjpolomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We were invited to a wedding reception there, and we were very impressed. The hotel has just been through a thorough renovation, and everything was perfect. The wait staff all wore white gloves, and the food was very good. Our suite (804) had a nice very of the boardwalk, nice new furniture and a cute little kitchen with a dishwasher. The bride and groom and a spectacular penthouse on the 10th floor. It is an 80 year old hotel, but I never saw any musty old furniture like someone else wrote.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank graymatter08318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.7 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing