We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winter retreat”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my first visit to the Flanders for a woman's retreat and I thought it was very nice. Rooms were nicely put together and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. The banquet food was enjoyable as wel. I would definitely choose to visit here again.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We love it when our guests have a great time and we especially like to hear that you will visit us again. I agree that our rooms are spacious and the décor makes you feel right at home. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 534 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

.... We stayed at the Flanders during the summer holiday and had a wonderful restful time. Conveniently located to the beaches and boardwalk. We enjoyed sunny days, warm breezy evenings with A/C or an open window to enjoy the ocean breezes. This hotel has a very nice pool for additional swimming and sunbathing. An in house restaurant readily seated us for an evening family dinner with varietal offers recommended by their staff. If this wasn't enough you can walk the family friendly boardwalk for a 36" pizza, yummy custard ice creams, salt water taffies and fudge or try some fried oreos!...( they are amazing).... the hotel is well kept, clean and their staff just wonderful. We will stay here in the future and recommend this location to you, happy travels!

Room Tip: ... just a super spot to stay! one of the best kept, cleanest hotels I've stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our hotel and Ocean City. We love it when our guests have a great time on their vacation. You are correct the hotel has so much to offer plus we are right on the boardwalk. Wow Fried Oreos; I’ll have to put them on my list of things to try this summer! We hope to see you and your family again this summer!
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great room. Cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in . the staff is so friendly and helpful. Now that there is a coffee shop, I never have to go anywhere else. The food at Emilies is great too. Having all the amenities with a full service spa and coffee cafe

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you Jacqueline for the very nice review. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the hotel and providing outstanding service and amenities. We are happy to hear you enjoyed them. The Coffee Shop is a great addition; the smell of fresh brewed coffee every morning is such a nice way to start the day. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you next time you visit Ocean City.
Regards,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my second visit to this historical hotel. Everything is here at this hotel. Shops, Emily's Restaurant, Coffee Express, Business Center, Hair Salon, and a magnificent Banquet and Conference Center for weddings, events and meetings.

This time we stayed in one of their spectacular Penthouse Suites. You would never expect such an elegant suite located in south Jersey.

Make sure this place is on your list!!

Pete B.

Room Tip: Check website for all the different types of accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you Pete for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Penthouse Suite and other services provided at the Flanders. The staff takes a lot of pride in our historical hotel and we love having wonderful guests such as you staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dorothy M Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the first two days of our stay - when the temp was between 98-100 last July, they kept promising to fix the air - and did not. Finally on the third day, they installed a window air conditioner.

I was promised that I would receive a return of $200 for the two days of unbearable heat - and never received it. I would never stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Liz, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. It is most disheartening to read about your experience. The Flanders Hotel is a “Condo-Hotel” with each unit individually owned. Owners have the opportunity to place their units in the Flanders Rental Program. This program offers the guests 24 hours front desk, housekeeping and maintenance services. Some owners choose to rent out and maintain their units on their own. We apologize for the experience you had while renting a unit at our property. I am not certain which room you rented so please contact me and I will try to assist you.
Sincerely,
Dorothy M Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Although there was a two night minimum, we were happy with our choice as it gave us more time to fully appreciate the hotel itself and all it had to offer. Beautiful hotel, friendly service, extremely clean rooms all made this a fantastic place to stay to celebrate Ocean City's first night. The restaurant had a good breakfast, but we chose to dine out for dinner. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the First Night Celebration. Your comments will be shared with the staff as they take a lot of pride in our hotel and the services they provide. We hope to see you again when you return to Ocean City.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
The Flanders Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was rather trite and not very well maintained. There really was no service except check in and out. A good location off season when we went but I think in season it would be a mob scene. Great shops in the hotel.

Room Tip: I'm sure ocean front is lovely, but not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our staff works very diligently to maintain all guest rooms and public spaces. However, it seems we fell short during your stay and for that, we are truly sorry.
We are glad you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the shops at the hotel. You are correct, Ocean City is very quiet during the winter months and before you know it summer will be here and the families will be back enjoying the beach, boardwalk and amusement parks. We hope to see you again should you return to Ocean City.
Happy Holidays,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ocean City
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#30 of 31 in Ocean City
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 31 in Ocean City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing