We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We love this place. We went last year and returned. The location (practically on the boardwalk) is great and the parking with it is a real plus. The rooms we've had were well decorated, clean and comfortable. The front desk was helpful. (We had really terrible service in the restaurant this year, but I'm reviewing the hotel here...). Truly, I can't imagine a more convenient/better place to stay in OCNJ.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    110
    44
    33
    26
See reviews for
256
118
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I can't say enough about The Flanders historic hotel in Ocean City, NJ. The rooms are actually suites, so you have lots of room and great views. The staff is wonderfully accommodating and they go above and beyond. Parking is convenient and easy. I have been coming here for nearly a decade and I won't stay anyplace else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetwotravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a great place!!!! We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Ocean City. Our weekend was enhanced by this lovely historic Flanders Hotel which is located in the heart of the boardwalk. This is not just a room, but a suite complete with a bedroom (with a door!), a good size living room, a fully appointed galley type kitchen, and a large bathroom. Our room was a standard, but we understand that there are also some lovely Penthouse suits also. A wedding reception was going on at the time we were there, but the area is spacious so it did not interfere with our enjoyment. Maybe a couple of extra bucks to stay here, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liveitup1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We come to Ocean City several times a year. Each year we rent a house for a week or two, but for weekend trips we have stayed at a variety of hotels and B&Bs. Flanders is definitely the best place to stay in Ocean City. The rooms are a great size, very clean and nicely decorated. The only downside is that there are only two elevators, so on a busy day, you may be stuck waiting for several minutes. That said, I am done searching for our weekend get-aways, it will be the Flanders from now on.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gets17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Friends and I stayed at the Flanders for a wedding in the hotel and the hotel has seen better days. Location was great and parking was very easy but the hotel has not been updated in at least 20 years and the suites were hit or miss or both. Our 2 bedroom suite overlooked the pool and was next to the log ride at the park next door. One bedroom I would rate a B since it had windows and a dedicated AC but the other was an interior room without a window I would rate an F and it had the worst AC possible. Bathroom, Kitchen, Living room were all fine. Other friends of ours had a different 2 bedroom suite and they wore their shoes at all times since the carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. We would never stay here again unless it was free.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I reserved the South View Penthouse for 2 nights for my family over a weekend in July 2011. For the money we spent I would have expected a clean room with furniture that was not broken, i was surprised. We checked into the room and discovered it was filthy, from the teeth cleaners left in the drawers, under the bed and in the bathroom to the beds having sand in them, as well as the broken armchairs in the dining area. The couch and chairs had gross stains on them. The kitchen was dirty, the glasses and silverware still had food on them! We quickly loaded everything into the dishwaher and ran it twice!. For our 2k and inconvenience, we received a $40.00 lunch and less than sincere apology for the filth and inconvenience. The master bed was horrible, creeked and rattled everytime we moved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in a condo on the 5th floor in the center area of the hotel with a general view of the beach and ocean. The room was nicely decorated and very cozy. It was in a spot where the sounds of the rides didn't bother us. The elevators are very, very slow so we took the stairs most of the time. Pool was nice, provided towels, and plenty of seating. However, the log flume is in full view and a little noisy. The restaurant was pricey so we avoided that for other eateries (recommend biking to Oves on 4th for breakfast, pizza at Primavera's; did not like our meals at Bloomin Tulip; Clancy's stayed open and served a yummy breakfast the morning we left to escape Hurricane Irene). Fitness room is adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethenjbeach_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#17 of 32 in Ocean City
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Property: The Flanders Hotel
Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing