We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip! Will be back! ”
Review of Port-O-Call Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port-O-Call Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hotel! I Searched for a hotel that was on the beach & no place this nice will get you closer! The rooms are so clean - I expected some sand & such being on the beach but our room was spotless! The girl when we checked in was so nice & we were able to get our beach tags right away to enjoy the day even though our room wasn't ready (we were early). They also have a full changing area on the lower level for guests that are early or want to leave late after check out - this is a wonderful feature for families that want to get the most out of the day. The restaurant had delicious food! My husband wasn't a fan of his steak at breakfast but the waitress took care of it right away & was so nice. We enjoyed every minute & are already planning a trip back with more family that are visiting in the fall! Best place in Ocean City with such an amazing view!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank swawerski_82_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm glad to hear that our wait staff member resolved your husband's issue in our restaurant to your satisfaction.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I visited the Port O Call Hotel the weekend before Memorial Day. We won the weekend at an auction so had no idea what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel is. The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very functional -- double sinks along with shampoo, etc. mounted on the shower wall. The staff was extremely accommodating. We ordered breakfast in our room and it was delivered promptly. Our view was wonderful, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel is located in the quiet section of the boardwalk, however, you are within walking distance to restaurants and shops. No need to get in your car. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I'm happy you were pleasantly surprised and also took the time to share you experience. Hopefully, you will make the Port-O-Call any annual tradition for years to come.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I would recommend this hotel because they are really nice in an elegant way. You may get whatever you need in the hotel. I met young people from all over the world during my 10 days stay. I had actually been there twice

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jujanka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are always making improvements to hotel to ensure our guests enjoy every moment of their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon and please ask for me at the desk as I would like to personally greet you.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a very enjoyable Thursday thru Sunday. When we arrived we were told that the dining room was being renovated, which was NOT mentioned a month + earlier when the reservations were made! nor a week prior when we spoke to confirm. You MUST be specific in all communications. This inconvenience became more of an issue Saturday and Sunday mornings when returning to find parking space dear in the small ( for the hotel) lot. Some friends ended up parking on the street.

The rooms were clean and we'll appointed, with a comfortable balcony. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient

Room Tip: Ocean great especially if you like to wake to the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for the fact that you were not informed about the renovation of our restaurant. Please visit us again so you can experience our brand new, beautiful restaurant Adelene. In addition, we have taken great steps regarding our training program for all staff members and based on your reveiw of our staff, our new program is proving quite successful.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Port-O-Call lies at the southern end of the traditional (the "commercial" part) of the boardwalk. It is ocean front we stay here occasionally for sentimental reasons and it has always been pleasant and it was so this time. We asked for and got a corner room on the 9th floor - it carries a "premium price" - but its was worth it. The rooms are modernized - flat panel TV, bed was comfortable, fridge and coffee maker in room. You find a few oddities - shower head looked like it was as old as the building (which is at least 45 years) - you hear activities in the hallway. Staff was warm and friendly. We enjoy staying here and Port-O-Call adds character to the reason you go to Ocean City NJ. I am sure, once and awhile - we will get the urge to again visit Ocean City and Port-O-Call will be where we stay and we will find an old friend.

Room Tip: You pay extra for the views -- its personal choice here but I find the views worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is both an honor and a privilege to know that the Port-O-Call has been your choice throughout the years. I have addressed your comment regarding the shower head and it has been corrected.

Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you for years to come.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice Hotel. We had ocean front room which was nice and very clean. Plenty of parking. Only knock i would give is that the walls are very thin. We could hear every word people next to our room were saying. (They were'nt yelling or loud)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennLosch, General Manager at Port-O-Call Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience regarding your stay at the Port-O-Call. Guest feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the time you took review our hotel. We pride ourselves in offering our guests a clean environment, so thank you for that recognition.

Sincerely,
Glenn Losch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

In the year 2011,hurricane sandy caused major damage to our home. We were displaced for approx 3 months. Due to my daughter attending school in ocean city it was easier to stay in ocean city rather then in another home outside of cape may county. The staff at port o call were wonderful! Always professional, polite and very caring. The rooms were clean due to staying there for a long period of time we kept her room clean ourselves. The rooms could use alittle updating but overall the furniture was in good shape. The staff made our stay there pleasant. Scott, Dan,Stephanie and Sarah made such a sad time seem pleasant and were very accomadating that we felt like our stay washome away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miami45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.8 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
248 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pier 4 Hotel
Pier 4 Hotel
#2 of 7 in Somers Point
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
10.9 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-O-Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-O-Call Hotel

Address: 1510 Boardwalk, 15th and Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3153
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $169 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port-O-Call Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Beachfront Accommodations for both the Family and Adult Holiday. Ocean City's premier resort offers spectacular beachfront accommodations with breathtaking ocean views. Just steps from our front door are Ocean City's famous boardwalk and beaches. Our staff is committed to providing uncompromising services to all our guests. Located on the scenic boardwalk of Ocean City, New Jersey. The Port-O-Call Hotel is perfect for both business and social gatherings. Our modern meeting rooms accommodate a vast array of groups and provides a professional, comfortable environment for a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Port-O-Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o Call Hotel
Hotel Port o Call

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing