We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two for Two”
Review of Port-O-Call Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port-O-Call Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Two for Two”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our second stay in two years and once again I am very happy with our decision to return. The hotel continued to be clean and well maintained. The staff again upon arrival and departure were kind, warm and helpful. Our bell boy made two trips to my room because of all the luggage and promptly tried to leave without me giving him a tip. I of course ran him down and tipped him. I had 2 connecting ocean front rooms that I was happy with. My sister booked a smaller room and was under the presumption that she could have a cot in her room. She never ordered the cot and was told there weren’t any more left and that her specific room might be too small to accommodate one. She went to the front desk to complain about a musty smell in her room but unfortunately there were no other rooms available. That night she asked if she could have a lounge chair brought into the room and the front desk person surprised her by getting a cot and also giving her a reduced rate on both nights for any inconveniences she might have in countered. That in my opinion is indeed customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    99
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
173
64
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have been fanatical beach goers for many, many years, staying in a wide variety of accomodations - from beach front homes to condos to typical South Jersey shore motels. The Port-O-Call is, by far, our absolute favorite. From the moment you pull up in front of this beautiful pink resort hotel, you are greeted by staff in the parking lot who are there to welcome you, assist with bags and give you a feeling that they've been waiting for you. The parking lot is large and can accomodate all guest vehicles, unlike some motels with limited parking. When you enter the breezy, tropical lobby you are greeted by more friendly staff and an amazing view of the pool, beach and ocean. The lobby area is plush and inviting and is a great place to sit and read or wait for friends and family. The lobby includes clean bathrooms, a gift shop and entrance to The Pink Parrot Grill, an excellent restaurant that is open for breakfast and lunch and includes a "coffee bar" for early risers. The Pink Parrot Gril has outdoor seating and a great pirate themed kid's room with TVs and video games for them to play while they are waiting for food, or while they are eating to give parents a chance to sit and talk or even play along with the kids. Again, the entire restaurant has excellent views of the pool, beach and ocean. The pool is inviting and is warmed by the morning and early afternoon sun. It is 9 feet deep with no lifeguard on duty but pool staff is there constantly replenishing an endless supply of pool towels and keeping the pool area clean. Floats and toys are permitted in the pool. Poolside, in addition to tables from The Pink Parrot Grill, the hotel has an outdoor eating area called "Flippers" where you can get great lunch and snack foods while you are sunning by the pool or on a break from the beach. There is outdoor seating as well as a deck lined with lounge chairs overlooking the beach and ocean for those non-beach, non-pool goers. The food in both establishments is tasty and excellently prepared. All rooms are accessed from inside hallways only (true hotel as opposed to the many outdoor-entrace motels on the coast). The rooms are phenomenal - every room has a private balcony overlooking the ocean or the bay, flat 32-inch TV, an in-room safe, refrigerator and coffee pot. The rooms come in Standard Bay or Standard Ocean (beds, small table and two chairs, bath. The room is smaller with a smaller balcony), Deluxe Bay or Deluxe Ocean (beds, table with two chairs, bath. This room is larger than standard with a larger deck), Superior Bay or Oceanfront (north corner rooms which have same amenities as Deluxe but the room is larger and the corner deck offers more views), Deluxe or King Coastline (with generous living space, large balcony, larger table with 2 chairs, extra seating, and same amenities above including a wet-bar) and the Front Corner King which is the largest room in the hotel with extra windows overlooking the ocean. If you are lucky to get an ocean front room there is no better view on the whole South Jersey coast. Even the Coastline rooms offer great views of the ocean and mainland. We have stayed in both the Deluxe Coastline and Standard Ocean rooms. The Deluxe Coastline was beautifully decorated with white furniture and a beachy, breezy color scheme. The room included a round kitchen-sized table with two chairs, a King size bed and kitchenette area. The view from the deck gave us partial ocean view which was, nonetheless, breathtaking, and a great view of south Ocean City. The Standard Ocean room had a view that made the smaller size of the room easily endurable. The view was spectacular - one could see as far north as the Music Pier and, on a clear day, as far south as the tip of Sea Isle City. Below is a great view of the pool. The room was small but certainly big enough for 2-4 people. The beds in both rooms were comfy and clean with mattress covers on both the boxspring and the mattresses (maniacal bed bug checker here, and these rooms were beautifully clean and bug free). The bathrooms were, as well, very clean. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and quick to respond. We ordered delivery one night from a local Italian restaurant so we could dine on our balcony overlooking the ocean and the restaurant had forgotten to include utensils (the only drawback of the hotel is that there are no dinner or late night meal or snack options other than vending machines but, let's face it, you're in Ocean City which boasts of many great dinner dining options!) We called the front desk and within 3 minutes a housekeeping staff member was at our door with packs of plastic utensils and napkins. The ground floor of the hotel has banquet rooms for weddings, conferences and meetings and a two-shower dressing room for that last day on the beach after you check out. The hotel offers free beach tags for any adult or child over the age of 12 (you don't need them for kids under 12) and that is nice since the cost of the beach tag alone can be staggering for families. Pool tags are issued to all guests to assure that non-hotel guests do not use the pool, which is also nice when you're paying for the priviledge of staying here! At check-in, they will put a hold on your account for the cost of the tags which you can use after check out on your last day but must return (As a side note, we mistakenly brought our tags home but when I called the hotel the next day they said it was no problem, just mail them back and there will be no charge). Other hotel amenities and extras include a free "Kids Camp" from 3-9 p.m. everyday where parents can drop off kids for games and crafts while they dine, shop or relax. Every night, housekeeping staff comes to the room with a juice box , cookies and chocolates for kids - even my 11 year old still LOVES this royal treatment! There is a massage service available although we have not taken advantage of this. The hotel offers bike storage and is close to bike rental places and everything else as it is located directly on the boardwalk so there is no street crossing required. The overall atmosphere is very resort-like and you will not find the amenities offered here at any other Ocean City hotel or motel. The overall feeling you get from staff is that they are happy you are here, willing to help with whatever you may need and - perhaps the best part - on the day you check out you are invited to stay, go to the beach, use the pool and the changing room and, although the hotel book asks you to move your car upon check out, we were told we could leave our car until we left Ocean City later that night. While the prices are more than you will pay at other OC motels, we have determined it is worth if for everything you get, especially considering you definitely get what you pay for. You will not find a better hotel in Ocean City that offers the excellent location, amenities, friendly staff, cleanliness and overall "tropical beachy vacation" feeling that this resort does. Stay here and you will, like us, never stay anywhere else in Ocean City again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaislegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

It can be hard to find hotels in Ocean City that rent rooms for only one night at a time, but that's what we neeeded for this trip. Now, you pay pretty dearly for that single night (about $400), but for that we got: nicely decorated, clean room on the 8th floor with an oceanfront balcony; refrigerator and coffeemaker, marble countertops, nice toiletry offerings, oceanfront pool, direct access to the boardwalk that passes right in front of the hotel, outdoor showers so that you can use the beach before checking in or after checking out, and beach tags.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My two daughters and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and we had a great time. The location was perfect, the room was clean and comfortable, the staff was professional and polite. We would stay here again and we recommend this hotel to any family looking for a quality hotel in Ocean City, NJ

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here with family for three day in the middle of July. Had the the best time ever. Kids loved the complimentary kids kamp, kids dining room and juice and coolies at bed time.

Cleanliness was top-notch. Our room was immaculate. As were the grounds and pool.

The staff was very friendly and helpful from check in to check out.

The food, in the restaurant and at an outside grill by the pool, was very good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaf097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Port-O-Call Hotel, Ocean City, NJ

We spent a few days at the beautiful Port-O-Call Hotel. There’s nothing I could say to “sell” those vacationers who live within 100 miles of this beautiful resort. As for those friends who are far away and who long to visit pristine beaches, without traveling to exotic Caribbean Isles, all I can say is…come to Ocean City NJ.

The Port-O-Call is one of OC’s premier hotels. It’s not inexpensive, at the average rate of $300 per night, but it is worth the money; after-all, you are staying on-the-beach! Rent a bike and ride along the Boardwalk in the morning before 9AM. At night, walk up the “boards’” and watch the gleeful kids, because Ocean City is ABOUT kids! And those “boards” are without peer in all of “Boardwalk-dom.”

The sand in OCNJ is like sugar. It is not coarse like the sand in so many resorts. If you are a swimmer, the surf is gradual; no sharp drop-offs as in so many beaches. It is well protected and the water is warm. The average temperature in July is 80-degrees.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OBE94347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I have been taking our entire family (10 people) to Ocean City for vacation every summer for years and I've always wanted to stay at the Port O Call. This summer I got that opportunity. We took our two young grandchildren for a mini vacation and stayed at the Port O Call. Loved mostly everything about it. Location, location, location.....convenient to everything on the boardwalk (where young children want to be) and the beach. The room was beautiful and spotless, the service terrific and everyone couldn't be more helpful or polite. The only negative thing that I could say, is that it is pricey and would have stayed longer if a little less expensive. Will do it again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the 8th floor. Beautiful scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan30068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.8 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
64 reviews
16.8 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-O-Call Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-O-Call Hotel

Property: Port-O-Call Hotel
Address: 1510 Boardwalk, 15th and Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3153
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port-O-Call Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Beachfront Accommodations for both the Family and Adult Holiday. Ocean City's premier resort offers spectacular beachfront accommodations with breathtaking ocean views. Just steps from our front door are Ocean City's famous boardwalk and beaches. Our staff is committed to providing uncompromising services to all our guests. Located on the scenic boardwalk of Ocean City, New Jersey. The Port-O-Call Hotel is perfect for both business and social gatherings. Our modern meeting rooms accommodate a vast array of groups and provides a professional, comfortable environment for a successful meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Port-O-Call Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o Call Hotel
Hotel Port o Call

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing