We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO Sleep Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NO Sleep Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Terrible experience,much too expensive for the terrible experience. Bugs smashed on the wall above the bed, 4 registered guests only 3 towels, rock hard beds that meant very little sleep for everyone, location was good but parking was horrible. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBShover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamenow, General Manager at Pavilion Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Feedback is always more effective when we have the ability to act on your needs immediately. I would have been happy to address the issues you sited as we care deeply that you and your family enjoy your stay with us. We are not a chain hotel - each peron on my staff personally work to make sure our guests are happy and will do whatever it takes to correct a problem. While we are proactive about maintenance, sometimes things happen before we become aware of it.

Regarding the number of towels in a room, the number of people registered to a room directly correlates with the number of towels received. Perhaps you did not reserve in advance so that we could set your room up properly prior to your arrival? But always, extra towels are available at the Front Desk.

Guests are entitled to free parking! Being so close to the Boardwalk, parking is always at a premium however we have 2 lots (one behind the hotel and 1 across the street) to amply accomodate our guests. Our Office Staff & Lot Attendant are here to assure that our guests are always accomodated. I hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    41
    12
    21
See reviews for
114
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We showed up in Ocean City late afternoon on Friday without a reservation. We didn't expect to get a room at all, so we were pleasantly surprised to find a room as close to the beach as this motel is. The lobby is small and cute and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We were assigned room 100, first floor by the road and next to the lobby. the room has two queen beds, a small table with two chairs, A dresser, a mini fridge and air conditioning. The room looks to have had some updates, such as new light fixtures, carpet and flat screen tv. The bathroom, beds, sheets and mattress were clean, but the blankets and bedspreads have seen better days. Tiny bathroom...tiny. There was no hair dryer in the room...bummer for me!

The pool is ok, looks clean but we didn't go in. The lounge chairs were dated.

The location for this hotel was ideal for us. Parking is free and very convenient. The boardwalk was a very short walk from the hotel.. maybe 4 minutes. Overall, this was a typical beach hotel. If you are spending your time at the each and boardwalk, the room will suit you fine for sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the pavilion with my teenage daughter and her friend. We originally booked a room at the Ocean Breeze. It was a disaster. I walked into the Pavilion and explained our situation. They were more then willing to accommodate us. The room was spacious and very clean. I will definately be planning more weekend trips and the Pavilion will be the only place we will stay. The staff was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjmatteo310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited here in July 2013 and was quite happy with our stay. You can tell that this was and older hotel that's why the rooms seem a little small but that did not bother us we only needed a place to sleep. The staff was uber friendly and the rooms were clean and well maintained. What I really loved was the gardens and sitting area outside of our rooms. There are decks and gardens with tables and a nice pool area. Who wants to sit in the room anyway.

This was my first visit to The Pavilion but I sure intend to stay again the next time we come to the shore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am a single parent who decided to take my 15 year old daughter on a 3 day, 2 night vacation to the shore before the end of summer. ( What I can afford). I used booking,com to reserve 2 nights at sifting sands hotel. When we arrived there, the room was horrible and dirty. We left and found the Pavilion right up the street. We stopped in and spoke with the lady at the front desk who was very nice upon hearing our situation. She showed us a room before we booked. We got into our nice clean, comfortable room at 2 o'clock. Our room had a fridge, microwave and two double beds with a flat screen tv. It came with 2 beach tags and was one block to the beach! The room was extremely clean, comfortable and roomy! Thank God, we didn't stay where we originally booked, it would have been miserable.
I definitely would stay again and probably will next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is nice. We stayed in 4 (parents and teenage kids). The room was clean, not fancy.
The swimming pool is very good and the fountain view room was very nice because we could use a sort of terrace with table and chairs (in common with all the other guests) to have lunch with take-away food. Coming from Europe with 4 suitcases, it was very hard to find space in our room to put our luggage, this was the only negative part; the sink was placed in the same room where we slept and not in the bathroom.
The board-walk/beach is at walking distance with all sorts of places to eat, shop and have fun. Free wi-fi worked just fine. Next to the hotel main office there's the Fresco restaurant that gives 10% discount to the Pavillon guests and that is just great for breakfast (waffles, eggs, cappuccino) and lunch/dinner: Mexican and Italian food was very good and abundant.

Room Tip: fountain view room was quiet and with a better wide view (see photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The family that runs the Pavilion certainly worked very hard to maintain the property. So much was renovated including all new beds and carpet. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful; a hidden surprise from the street. I was able to take a peak in the apartments and they are gorgeous. New floors and beachy decor. As always everyone was so friendly and helpful and my family and I had a really relaxing stay. Everything was fresh and clean and my kids loved swimming in the pool. I love it here and will continue to stay at the Pavilion as long as it is here!

Room Tip: The rooms on third even side are my favorite and occassionaly I like the Fountain View 2nd floor by...
See more room tips
Green Features: They clean everything with Eco Lab products and clean the AC filters
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Motor Lodge

Property: Pavilion Motor Lodge
Address: 801 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3679
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ocean City - on the beachblock of 8th Street. Heated Pool, Restaurant, free internet and free parking. 26 foot rooms with 2 queen beds or a king and a double bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pavilion Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Motor Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing