We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for?”
Review of Ocean 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean 7
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“What more could you ask for?”
Reviewed August 27, 2007

before booking a room at Ocean 7 I came to tripadvisor and read a few of the reviews, and I agree with the positive reviews. Not only was the room spacious and clean (clean is a big issue for me), but everyone at the front desk was so nice. This hotel is conveniently located right off the board walk, one street over from a water park, a full block over from the amusement park, and the section of the beach it is located in front of was not crowed at all. The only problem came when it was time to leave, we were all left wanting a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smandabear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    103
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
210
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed here two nights mid-week in a one-bedroom suite on the fourth floor. The room had obviously been renovated recently. Everything was clean and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Although we did not use the pool, it looked clean and welcoming. The bathroom was very tiny, with the sink and mirror outside. The galley kitchen was sufficiently furnished including papertowels and dish liquid, and came in handy. Both rooms had a tv. We used the pull-out couch as a bed, which was not great for sleeping, but very adequate. The location could not have been better, right behind the boardwalk at 7th. The room included free beach passes and one parking space. Rooms do not have their own balcony, but share a common walkway. The price was comparable to what some hotels were charging for a single room. The boardwalk stays open very late and appears safe, a plus for traveling with teenagers, as we were. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Stayed here in 2006 when renovated. Loved it. Beach just steps away pool was clean staff friendly. Went back July 2007 was still satisfied with everything. Need more towels when there are six people. Also, staff (some not all) could be a little more friendly. Will go back in 2008.

  • Liked — price and convenience
  • Disliked — parking a little tight
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gia1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Myself and my family booked a vacation for 5 days 4 nights at the Ocean 7 Hotel. This hotel is not the worst...we did choose the cheapest room available on the dates that we would be staying. It was a ground floor room with the view of two cars parked outside our window. The room looked very nice and everything looked new as far as construction (tiles etc.) the pull out sofa looked old and I think was a hand me down or something. There were a few holes in the seat cushions. My 8 year old daughter slept on the sofa bed and was extremely uncomforable. The dining table was small and a bit wobbly...with only two chairs; the room sleeps 4...but please keep in mind it was the cheapest room available...The tile floor appeared clean but about twently minutes after we arrived my daughter, who tends to walk around barefoot, hopped on the sofa and her feet were filthy on the bottom, my husband checked his as well and they were also black. We did have our 8 month old with us and he had to spend all of his time in the room sitting on our laps, on the bed with one of us or in his pack and play. It was bad for him and made him irritable. The floor was eventually cleaned up...

What to bring with you....

Your bikes, they have a bike rack right infront of the lobby!!

Paper towels, paper plates, paper cups and plastic utensils..the rooms don't have dishwasher and it just skeves me out to think that the dishes, etc. in the rooms didn't go through a dishwasher to be sanitized.

Extra kitchen towels, and pot holders; I don't know about the other rooms, we had the same "dish towel" through out our stay, it was never changed, so you may want to bring your own.

DVDS...They have DVD players!!!

Beach towels..as they do not provide towels at the pool.

Other useful info; The Wonderland amusement pier is very close, about 1 block away...This year (2007) they have a couple of specials you should know about while planning your trip: Usually each ride is 4 tickets, and a sheet of 30 tickets are $20; on Tuesdays this summer you can use 2 tickets for each ride from 1-4PM and on Wed. they have wrist band day and that is $20 for a wristband and ride all the rides you want from 1-4PM.

We ate one night at Periwinkels...it was soso. We had some awsome ice cream at Carousel Ice Cream parlor...awsome!!! The candy store on the right as you are leaving the hotel and heading to the board walk (George's) has some wonderful Macarrons and candy. And of course Mack and Manco for pizza is right down the way.

Have fun in Ocean City!! Would we stay at the Ocean 7 again? Yes..we would, but we would choose a room more carefully. Even though we paid a lot for a 4 night stay...almost as much as a home rental for a week a few blocks from the ocean...the location of the Ocean 7 cannot be beat!

  • Liked — Loation
  • Disliked — Cleanliness...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JSL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We did stay at Ocean 7 when a brief but nasty storm absolutely flooded the streets in Ocean City this past August.

Luckily, our room was not facing the ocean (fourth floor efficiency), so there was no water beating against it or flooding it in any way. Our parking spot was somewhat elevated, so our car stayed dry. Also, because we were right next to the Boardwalk, we were able to avoid the flooded area by stepping right onto the boardwalk onramp. Crappy weather should be no deterrent to fun when there's a whole boardwalk to conquer!

Yes, the hotel stairwells and some of the halls became wet and rather treacherous. But, it was obvious that the management and staff were doing everything within their power to resolve the problems that the weather was causing. They gave us a discount to compensate for any inconvenience we may have experienced the day of the flood. When we were ready to leave, they extended our parking time so we could have one last, awesome donut feast at Brown's before we left.

The room was small but clean. We took extra care to consolidate and stack our empty suitcases on top of the armoir once we'd unpacked our clothes into the drawers. Beach towns are generally not known for spacious rooms, so neatness helps. We, too, had a toddler, but we left the stroller and any beach equipment in the car. We just stopped at the car on the way to the boardwalk or beach.

The hotel housekeeping was great. The pool was lots of fun. You just can't beat the location. Wonderland Pier was close enough to walk, but not so close as to be a noisy distraction.

We would definitely stay here again. We'll probably make reservations for late June or early July to avoid the jellyfish that gravitiate to the shore in late August.

  • Liked — Great location, clean room, fun pool
  • Disliked — Small room, "beach" quality (rather than resort quality), somewhat pricey
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

For 5 years my family had been staying at this hotel, beginning when it was the Days Inn. In fact, in 2005, we stayed twice! This past April we were excited to see the "upgrades" in their brochure and we booked an efficiency for Labor Day week. We flew my daughter, son-in-law, and granddaughter from St. Louis to the Phila. airport where we picked them up after we drove up in 2 cars, from Virginia. When we got to the hotel, we were only allowed 1 parking spot, under covered parking. The car scraped the concrete piling (it was too wide to fit into the space). The management didn't care that our car was damaged and we had to park it 10 blocks away (on the bay side)! Our other car (Toyota Rav4) BARELY fit into the assigned parking spot (with much maneuvering!) -- others complained to the manager about their spaces and THEY were allowed to use other spots throughout the week. The elevator was constantly broken (and, no, the staff didn't help bringing luggage up to the floor or down to the cars when we were leaving). The sofabed was like sleeping on a rock. The toilet was clogged every other day. Housekeeping was excellent (we needed a crib, pillows, extra towels) and within 10 minutes they delivered. The management was only concerned about selling Condos. Their brochure only showed unsold Condos with nice furniture, NOT the rooms that we paid a premium for with recycled furniture. The pool was an unswimable sewer! We love Ocean City but we will not be wasting our money at Ocean 7. Never again!

  • Tips/Secrets — look elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaLegalEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Property: Ocean 7
Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3843 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing