We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Value”
Review of Ocean 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean 7
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Value”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family and I stayed one night on August 24th, and as a veteran of the South Jersey hotel/motel scene I have to say I was impresseed. The staff was nice and accomodating. We arrived way early and the folks behind the desk gave us their blessing to park the car in their lot. Frequently we are told we need to park offsite until check in, so this was good news for us. The rooms were affordable, clean, very close to the beach, and very close to the attractions for the kids. I'm usually not a pool person, but the weather this weekend was cold and windy. Having that heated pool available saved the trip for us because it was too cold to go to the beach on that particular day. The room was small but clean, and there were areas out by the pool that could use a fresh coat of paint, but if youre looking for a little more bang for your buck, look no farther then the Ocean 7 motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carter547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    104
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
211
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed her for a number of years during Columbus Day weekend. The rooms are wonderful with a variety of different layouts and price ranges to choose from. They give discounts for all sorts of things, from advanced booking to paying by cash or check for your stay. The pool is heated, the office always has hot fresh coffee, and, for rainy days, they have a huge library of DVDs that you can select from, take to your room, and just return when you're finished for no charge. They also have games and books to use as well. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hsnoke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We fiound the Ocean 7 a great place to stay due to it's location and friendly staff. We stay there everytime we go to the Shorr. Our room was comfortable and clean with a small kitchen two large beds.

  • Liked — The overall experience
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times for the location. Two years ago rooms seemed more clean. Last stay I was put in a room next to the housekeeping room. It was horrible. No balcony felt like a dungeon. Out dated and near a ice machine as well. We asked to move but was advised no other rooms available. We sucked it up and stood the night. Thank god we brought our own sheets because the bedding had stains all over it. It was disgusting and looked like the sheets been there since the 80s. I stood at this hotel probably about 5 times and never complained about anything. Next time I take a trip to ocean city im going to research for another hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texaspete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had never been to Ocean City, New Jersey, and I was a bit disappointed when we started looking for a hotel there that I couldn't find a hotel chain I was familiar with. After much consideration, we decided to book a room at the Ocean 7. We ended up being extremely pleased with our decision. We stayed in Room 419, which is an ocean view efficiency on the 4th floor. However, to enjoy that view, you had to have the curtains to the room open or open the door, and the balcony is actually the walkway to the other rooms on the floor. Also, your view also includes the back of the boardwalk shops. That being said, it was still worth the higher cost, and they provide a couple chairs outside each room. The room itself was small, but it was clean, and the kitchenette was a nice bonus. It also had a DVD player, and a built-in potty seat in the bathroom for little ones. The only complaints we had about the room is that it was smaller than we are used to for the four of us (two adults and two kids), and the one bed was close to the air conditioner, so whoever slept there got cold in the middle of the night. The parking spot assigned to our room was just outside the door from the lobby, so it was really convenient to park and to leave our beach stuff in the trunk when we didn't need it. The desk staff was nice and knowledgeable...I happened to talk to the same guy every time I needed something and he was friendly and very helpful. They leave you a form to fill out when you want your room serviced and how much of a service you want (i.e. full service, just a towel exchange). Hot coffee is always available, starting early in the morning. There are umbrellas next to the door in case it's raining. And the best thing about this place is the location. At the edge of the parking lot, there is a ramp to the boardwalk, just a few yards down from the steps onto the beach. There were actually so many shops and eateries located close by that we made an effort to walk farther down the boardwalk our last night there, just because we hadn't done so before. Gillian's Wonderland Pier is just a short walk one direction down the boardwalk, and a water park is a short walk the other direction. And, of course, the beach was great. Beach tags are included with your stay. Like everyone else, we were tickled with our personalized mug when we left. Would definitely recommend if you can deal with the small room!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 419 - oceanview efficiency
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Hotel is Nice. My family and I have been going there for 4 years. If we had any problems? They were always sorted out quickly. Very Professional people at front desk. All 3 guys are so different but have each got their own unique sense of humor. We had an awesome vacation this summer. This year we forgot our special souvenir mug :( and were so disappointed because it was my wife and I's 7 year marriage anniversary. Guess what came in the post today? 8 days after we had left Ocean 7? Yes, that's right, our anniversary mug. You guy's are Awesome. :)

Room Tip: If you have a problem, any problem? Talk to Mark, Stephen or Michael at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finlayfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for two nights, Staff at the front desk are great. They were all very helpful and professional as well as something that many csr's are not these days which is personable, it goes a long way.

Our room was great for the price, it had a refrigerator and small kitchenette with plates and cups and silverware. The bathroom was clean and everything was top notch in terms of being clean and well kept.

The location is great, its right next to the boardwalk but far enough away so that noise doesnt carry over from the amusement park etc.. You can walk to everything from here. The staff let us keep our car parked in their lot after checkout time so we didn't have to use a meter, very cool.

When we left the staff gave us a personalized (I have no idea how they did it) mug which was completely unexpected and very cool. We will be coming back next year :)

Room Tip: If you get a room on the pool side try to get one away from the pool gate on the 2nd floor because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binxolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#23 of 32 in Ocean City
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Property: Ocean 7
Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3843 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing