We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds hard as rubber erasers, uncomfortable”
Review of The Crossings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crossings
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you like hard, uncomfortable beds, you'll love the Crossings. Although the staff was friendly and helpful, the location convenient (along with free parking) and pool handy, the one thing a hotel or motel needs to get right is making sure you can sleep well. The beds almost seem workable at first -- springy, a bit of give, maybe it'll work you think. Nope. They're wrapped in a plastic layer presumably to prevent bedbugs. By 4 am of tossing and turning I eventually fell asleep but woke up sore and cranky.

You can do better. Maybe they'll get new beds someday. Until they do, only book this place if you're good at sleeping on any sort of surface (eg maybe you like camping and sleeping in a sleeping bag on solid dirt.). It's really a shame because the location is so great.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank dmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for The Crossings
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been going to OC for many years, usually renting a house. But this time we were squeezing in a few days at the end of a different vacation, so our choices were limited. Always saw Crossings there, so gave it a shot. We got room 301 and, even though it is small, it was perfect for our little trip. We overlooked the pool and the kids loved going to it. All very clean. It is a bit worn at some of the edges, but updated in others. The furniture, carpeting and appliances were updated, for instance, but the (clean) bathroom could use a refresh. Perfect location not too far from the beach and right next to grocery, pharmacy and convenience stores.

Room Tip: Get room 301 or 303 -- they have the best view (towards the ocean).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewc903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Crossings since 2007. This building was converted to condominiums in 2004 and the units are individually owned and decorated. We stay in Unit 304 every year and love it. The owners continuously update it and it is tastefully appointed. There are still a lot of units that haven’t been updated and I can understand why people have mixed reviews. **If you find a unit that is clean and updated request it when you make a reservation**

As for the property, it has come a long way since we started renting but there is still room for improvement (painting, cleaning, etc.). The property was flooded by Hurricane Sandy so they have a new lobby this year which is a big upgrade. Pool is small but adequate. Parking is accessible. No views of ocean or private balconies.

Location is great if you don't plan on spending a ton of time on the boardwalk. 2 1/2 blocks to beach which is much cleaner than downtown because there is no boardwalk. Wawa, CVS, Blitz’s and Acme within 100 yards. Trolley runs downtown until midnight so you can avoid driving and paying for parking.

Overall, we love this property because it is affordable and in a quitter part of town but still has access to restaurants, shopping, and the beach within a three block radius. Ask to see pictures of the rooms when you check in or search reviews to see what rooms people recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jonz113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with 2 adults and 1 child.
Positives: The rooms were clean, there was plenty of parking, staff was friendly, super easy to get to (come across the 34th street bridge and watch for the WaWa-done!), that's the next plus-WaWa connected to the hotel and Acme right behind the hotel (you could actually wheel your cart to the lobby it is so close), CVS nearby if you need a pharmacy, Hoy's block away for easy souvenir shopping, some good restaurants in walking distant (Fractured prune donuts for breakfast was awesome!!), great playground 1 block away, bike rentals 1/2 block away. I could rally keep going here but I'll stop.
Negatives: 20 blocks from boardwalk do if this is why you are on OCNJ be prepared to drive or take the trolley (which runs 5pm-midnight in season), hallways are very slim so if you have a large beach cart (which we did) or a stroller leave it in your car, most of the first floor was under water during Sandy so the lobby was redone (actually a positive) but he game room is not done yet, pool is nice but small and chair space is at a premium, when we checked in they didn't mention the beach tags they have and I missed it and ended up paying (they have signs but I was carrying bags and totally missed it)-so don't buy tags-ask the hotel first, the fridge is only a small fridge (most efficiencies I stayed in have a large fridge), there was plenty of cabinet space but not counter space, we had ants in the front part of our room-never in the kitchen though, AC unit is either off or arctic and blows on right on the bed closest to the window (we had 2 queens).

All in all I would stay here again. Great for the price and it was nice not hearing the loud noise theat comes from the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeMRayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in Room 231 which overlooked the parking lot and was pool view. The room was clean a little small for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. This is not a high end hotel with all the extras but it is good for the price. If you want all the high end extras you will need to pay the high rates.
This is not near the boardwalk you would need to drive there too far to walk. Beach is 3 blocks away and was not a issue and this was when the temp all week was at 95-100 degrees. I do not go on vacation to stay in my room much really to sleep and to shower and this place fit my needs for the price and was clean. Maids did a good job each day cleaning the room. Place outside does need to be painted (the railings). Lobby is very nice looks like it was just remodeled recently.

Nice thing is they give you beach tags to use for your stay and they have two changing areas/showers in the lobby to use after checkout and they provide towels, soap, shampoo, ect.
So you can get another day at the beach before heading home. Nice Touch!!

I have not been to Ocean City New Jersey in years and the whole town and boardwalk is clean and very family oriented. Would go back.

Cons were:
The only thing is there is not a lot of restaurants in the area.

Bathroom needs to have lighting over the sink too dark!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a nice wknd and the rooms were clean but for the price you pay and the money they are making they could put a lot of work into this place. Defiantly needs a light above the vanity, beds are a bit uncomfortable, small pool. Just an average kind of place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great place to stay that is affordable and within walking distance to beach! entire island is very clean and so well kept. will definitely return to The Crossings in OC NJ! Staff is wonderful and very accomodating.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have best views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelli1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossings

Address: 3420 Haven Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-1931
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crossings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossings is located in the beautiful South End of Ocean City, NJ. The Crossings offers easy access to a host of historical sites, artisans' villages, shopping, state and national parks, Ocean City beaches and fine dining guaranteed to satisfy the entire family. The Crossings offers many amenities and services, pool and tastefully furnished one room efficiency rooms featuring color cable TV, refrigerators, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crossings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing