We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all regards ! Great value !”
Review of The Crossings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crossings
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just completed a 7-night stay. Great property close to beach and all conveniences at "quiet" end of island. Close to grocery store, convenience store, 5 & 10, gas station, banks, playground, restaurants.
This is an older 1960s-style motel that has been converteds to individually-owned condos. Rooms are appointed with galley kitchen, and are decorated according to the owner's style. If you are expecting the Waldorf-Astoria, this is a shore condo, not a luxury hotel.
Regarding a previous reviewer complaining about the lack of a room telephone--where's your cell phone? To the person who complained about housekeeping: If you were renting a house or a separate condo, you would not have maid service picking up after you on a daily basis. The fact that towels are changed daily, and bed linens changed on request, places this property a step above many shore rentals. Housekeepers will go out of their way to assist you; all you have to do is ask!
The pool IS small, and does get packed with screaming kids at various times during the day, but hey, this is the shore and it's summer vacation.
Crossings frequently is awarded "Best of Ocean City" in hotel/mote/condo category.
Definitely will stay here again, and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside, nearer to the elevator/steps to minimize schlepping of luggage.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for The Crossings
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

I completly agree with Chris Connecticut. My tub would not drain on July 3rd when the rates were $209 a night. I complained. Nothing was done they tell me til the 4th, since I wouldn't know b/c I couldn't get in my bathroom b/c no one cleaned my room or the bath the next day. I still could not use the bath b/c the place was so dirty. The two nights before were OK but the maid does not clean the room she only makes the beds and empties the trash.I highly reccommend to never stay at the Crossings. Very unsafe for children since you walk right out into the parking lot. PS you even have to pay for the ice!

Room Tip: No locatin would be any good there. Check out Hotels or Motels in person when your in OC before you...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in room 225 with the family for basketball tourney. Dried blood on the bedskirt. No blankets on bed. When asked for blankets, the desk agent stated; "Waddaya need blankets for?". No telephone... yes, you read that correctly, NO TELEPHONE. Hope you don't need to call the front desk for anything. Parking garage is right under the rooms. Pool is basically in the WaWa's parking lot. Vanity and mirror are in the bathroom so you have to stand in front of the toilet, close the door to get yourself ready and the light is over the shower so you can't really see yourself. Would NOT return and would not recommend. Many, many hotels to choose from in this area.

Room Tip: pick another motel
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chrisConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a great suite. It was brand new..Hardwood floors, new AC/heater, a great 42" plasma and dvd player, and a good size fridge/freezer. It was close to everything..Beach, Acme, CVS, park, Wawa, restaurants, ect...It is a perfect room for a couple and one child.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Not a bad place to stay at all. We had orignally booked to arrive on Sun. Aug. 28th and leave Thursday Sept. 1. Then Hurricane Irene decided to blow through and the entire NJ shore was being evacuated. I got a call from the Hotel staff on Thursday night asking me what I wanted to do. I said I would call them on Monday to see how bad the storm was and would make a decision then. The storm was not too bad in Ocean City and the hotel staff called me back on Sunday saying that they were open for business and I could come down on Monday and they would charge me for only 3 nights instead of 4. Great! The room was cute, decorated in a sea shore motif. The bathroom was tight, but the room was really clean and comfortable for the 3 nights we stayed. The only other thing that was not so good, was that the blinds that they had in the windows had spaces in between and the sunlight would hit the room at 6am and wake us up! Please get some curtains that block out the light. Other than that it was a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This place is owned by individuals owners who rent out on a nightly basis the rooms. If one were to purchase one of this motel rooms, it would cost you about $75K. Our room's A/C did not work and we were told there was nothing that could be done because the place was sold out. I won't be back because of that experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Crossings is a fine place for a quick trip to the beach. The 3-block walk to the beach is no problem at all. The boardwalk is accessible by trolley each night, there is a great playground and tennis courts just a block from the motel, and plenty of ice cream shops and good restaurant options in the same 3 block radius. Beach tags are provided with a security deposit - which is a great perk in O.C.

The pool and staff were very nice and accommodating. Although we didn't ask for anything special, I got the impression they would oblige any reasonable request. I agree with other posts to request a room on the pool side of the motel. Better view and better breezes.

Housekeeping could be improved, but overall, the motel is maintained well.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Pool side of the motel
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hometown_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossings

Address: 3420 Haven Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-1931
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: $98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crossings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossings is located in the beautiful South End of Ocean City, NJ. The Crossings offers easy access to a host of historical sites, artisans' villages, shopping, state and national parks, Ocean City beaches and fine dining guaranteed to satisfy the entire family. The Crossings offers many amenities and services, pool and tastefully furnished one room efficiency rooms featuring color cable TV, refrigerators, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crossings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Hotel Ocean City
Crossings Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing