We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay at the Beach Club!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Club Hotel
Save
You added Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
384 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Beach Club!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We arranged a spur of the moment mini-family reunion at the Beach Club just 2 weeks prior to our trip. The receptionist was friendly and very accommodating- it was easy to make reservations for our two rooms. The hotel itself has, in my opinion, the best location. Right ON the Boardwalk! True, the heated pool is a little on the small side, but sitting at the pool you feel you are on the beach with an ocean view. If you are sitting on the beach and need to go back to the hotel (like I did with our 6 year old bathroom girl) it is just a hop, skip and a jump away.
Our rooms had a "city view" (i.e. NOT a view of the pool or ocean) but, quite frankly, I think I would have been a little uncomfortable with an "oceanview" room overlooking the boardwalk that everyone could look in to. The hallways were a little dark but the rooms were very clean and larger than your average motel room. The hotel was quiet and what I would describe as a family place. I really could relax. We were able to go to sleep early and get up early without revelry in the halls keeping us up.
The board walk was great and walkable with rides to suit our 6 year old (but a little tame for our teens). My dad liked it so much he took a brochure and is planning a little vacation with my mom on their own later in the fall!

  • Liked — location!
  • Disliked — Dark hallways, no microwave in the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    69
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
128
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Since my husband and I were not familiar with the Ocean City area, we relied soley on Trip Advisor ratings/reviews to select our hotel. Unfortunately, this was the first and only time we've disagreed with other reviewers. First off, neither the Beach Club Hotel or Suites should be considered hotels. These are glorified motels with no room service, Wi-Fi or laundry service. This may seem trivial, but when you're on a tour and you arrive hungry and tired at 9 at night, it's an issue. Moreover, both properties look like a throw back to the 1960's with open air balconies that overlook a parking lot or a marginal view of the beach/boardwalk. As for the rooms, the suite we were able to secure for one night (for $400) was lovely inside (a sitting room, 2 queen beds and a spacious bathroom) However, the hotel room (for $325 a night) was much smaller and situated in a narrow, dimly lit hallway. The pool was also outdated and overcrowded. When we complained and said we were leaving early. The front desk person told my husband to "take it up with our credit card company." For discerning travelers, a far better choice would be The Flanders. It was just renovated and is a genuine hotel. We visited our friends there who unlike us weren't disappointed their accommodations.

  • Liked — The room decor
  • Disliked — The outdated building and facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodWaverunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

This was our third summer staying at the Beach Club for our family of 4. You can't beat the location on 12th Street and the Boardwalk overlooking the ocean. The view from the pool is just breathtaking if you like oceanfront locations. Everything is just steps away, from restaurants to mini-golf to amusement rides to shopping. We didn't move our car once! Our room was on the South Side (207) which overlooks the boardwalk and the ocean. We prefer this to a pool view or pool front room because the room is cheaper and we like having a balcony. Just be sure to request a 2nd or 3rd floor room if you go South Side, the 1st floor rooms don't have the view. We liked the 2nd floor because it is the pool and boardwalk floor :) and we had a great view of the ocean. The rooms are small with two double beds, and the bathroom was tiny. Housekeeping did a great job, the room was always clean. This is definitely a family hotel with lots of kids running around, so if you're looking to have an all night party, you might want to look elsewhere. Next time we stay in Ocean City we'd like to try the parasailing and speed boat rides which are offered on the bay side of the city.

  • Liked — Great Location Oceanfront on the Boardwalk
  • Disliked — Tiny Bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joalexajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

The Beach Club Suites overall is a nice place. Very clean, the beds are comfortable and there's a big TV that my teens enjoyed. The bathroom is very small with not much room around the sink.

The pool is also small and never had clean towels available. I did feel as though the suites' pool was second rate when compared to the Beach Club hotel's pool which is bigger, had a lifeguard, a small area to rinse sand off, and a little room with towels. Even so, the pool was a nice place to swim after a day at the beach and didn't get crowded at all.

The location is ideal-a short walk to beach and boardwalk and a bike rental just across the street. Ocean City is a great place for a family vacation. It's somewhat quiet, plenty to do and very quaint.

  • Liked — that it was a suite
  • Disliked — bathroom was too small
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaC347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster , pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY WITH YOUR FAMILY FOR A VACATION OF MEMORIES. the staff is so nice and friendly. the room we chose was beachfront and on the boardwalk. there was no loud noises from other vacationers walking on the boardwalk below.the other guests were so nice and friendly as well.the rooms were very well kept. we had everything we needed and always had a clean room to come back to.there is nothing like wakeing up to the sound of the waves crashing against the sand and a perfect view of everything around you.i will never again stay in ocnj unless it is here in this hotel.

  • Liked — the room, the view,cleanliness
  • Disliked — there was nothing bad about this hotel at all
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nawniesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Flanders Hotel
The Flanders Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#14 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homestead Beach Hotel
Homestead Beach Hotel
#21 of 32 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Hotel

Property: Beach Club Hotel
Address: 1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the boardwalk and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Beach Club has an ambiance unlike that of any other hotel in Ocean City. Here you'll be welcomed with warmth, taste and style in a spirit of uncomplicated hospitality. Enjoy our heated, oceanfront pool, spacious sundeck and beach view dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Ocean City
Beach Ocean City
Beach Club Hotel Ocean City Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing