We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Boardwalk hotel with great & ho-hum features” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boardwalk hotel with great & ho-hum features”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a family-oriented Boardwalk motel close to the beach and all the action. Little fun shops dot the area, and the beautiful beach is crowded with happy vacationers. Staff is friendly and will to help with anything. This motel could use some serious improvements, though, for the big $$ that you'll spend to stay there. First, the rooms have no microwave or fridge, something you'd expect nowadays in a room this expensive. It forces you to eat out every time, and the restaurant food on the premises is not good. Second, parking is miserable. There is supposed to be a spot for each guest, but the parking deck is very, very tight, and you often have to double-park or go up to a block away (think trying to haul bags & kids in & out from this distance). It made us think twice about pulling our car out to go anywhere. Also, the southside ocean view is of a parking lot & smokestacks, with a sideways view of the ocean if you went out onto the balcony. Kind of disappointing. The balconies are supposed to be private, but are not (see photo). The walls are paper thin, and you can hear a lot of door slamming at all hours in the hallway. Beds were very comfortable, and rooms were clean (no bedbugs). Note: remember that you are in a dry county, so there is no liquor in the restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't pay the higher price for a Southside view of the ocean, because it's not what it purpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    70
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
133
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Beach Club Hotel, this was our second time to stay there. As is pointed out in nearly every review, this is a fantastic location if your destination is the boardwalk and the beach. It is at 13th street so it is kind of in the middle of the boardwalk, fun stuff, shops, and restaurants to the right or left of the hotel. Other hotels are a further walk from the boardwalk or beach. The outdoor pool is great, with plenty of room for lounging. The restaurant is one of the better on the boardwalk with outdoor as well as indoor seating. There are bicycle rental shops on either side (12th and 13th streets). The rooms are admittedly a bit dark and outdated, but ours was clean with no complaints. The parking is extremely tight but they were kind enough to allow us to leave our car for a bit after we checked out. Our only real complaint is that the bathroom is very small, and there is NO ventilation in the bathroom, after one shower the place is a sauna and you can't breathe in there. The laundry area was great for drying wet swim suits and towels etc. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for easy walking to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sisters, Mom and I have been going to this hotel for over 30 years. The location is fantastic--right on the Boardwalk and Beach! Excellent shops and restaurants surround the hotel. Bike and surray rentals right across the street. The rooms are really nice and very clean. The staff is wonderful. There is a pool and one of the nicest restaurants on the Boardwalk, including an outdoor eating area right on the Boardswalk and Beach. The single elevator is abysmal--there is barely enough room to fit the luggage cart. You are pretty much on your own getting your luggage to your room. There is a coin laundry for guests in the basement--very handy. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCO_Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Right on the Boardwalk close to the beach it has a great location. The rooms are nice and the staff was wonderful. And the restaurant is lovely (great staff). Admittedly it is aged- the elevator is interesting. But that shouldn't be an impediment with the hotel being as good as it is. The one criticism I would give is the noticeable lack of circulation in the hallways. Yes, it's only the hallways, but there is an inside lounge area near the pool that's essentially unusable for being so uncomfortable. But a small quibble- you won't be disappointed with a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaabarlow, Manager at Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a great time. Our highest priority is the satisfaction of our customers and their repeat business, year after year. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you are looking for a clean hotel you will find it at The Beach Club Hotel! My family and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. It is conveniently located on the boardwalk with easy access to the beach and many shops. You will love it too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and the staff keeps it very clean. You can get to everything in less than 5 mins walking. I parked my car and never went back till we left. The restaurant is owned by a different group they were horrible. They charged me $5 to fill a wawa cup. I wouldn't give them a dime.

Room Tip: Get the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here a few times over the last several years, and most recently stayed in July 2012. The location is perfect, right on the boardwalk, only a couple blocks from the rides for the family. Kids loved it, saying it was soooo cool to be at the pool and lounging in the chairs and able to watch the people walk by on the boards. There's a restaurant attached to the hotel, food is good (recommend the burger), at little pricey but that's to be expected at the beach. Included with the hotel stay are the beach passes to be used for the days you're there, and it's literally steps away. Staff was very courteous, rooms were clean, and the beds very comfortable. Of course, we'll be back there again soon.

Room Tip: Grounds are non-smoking, so if you're a smoker they provide a smoking area near the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Flanders Hotel
The Flanders Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Hotel

Property: Beach Club Hotel
Address: 1280 Boardwalk, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the boardwalk and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Beach Club has an ambiance unlike that of any other hotel in Ocean City. Here you'll be welcomed with warmth, taste and style in a spirit of uncomplicated hospitality. Enjoy our heated, oceanfront pool, spacious sundeck and beach view dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Ocean City
Beach Ocean City
Beach Club Hotel Ocean City Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing