We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner not as successful as lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro

Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 213 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between E. 6th St. and E. 7th St.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Dinner not as successful as lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've eaten here for lunch before, and was impressed with their emphasis on different and healthier menu options.
We returned for dinner, and while some of the same charm applied, it wasn't as positive of an experience as lunch.
The service was still efficient and very friendly, but the food was a step down from our prior visit. My burger was fresh and tasty, but the plate was haphazard with just a few chips tossed on. Crab cakes lacked taste. The shrimp tacos, a special that night, were good, and the chicken salad sandwich was fine. The kids quesadillas and mac'n'cheese were frankly terrible - bland and almost inedible.
I'll stick to breakfast and lunch here in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    50
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

One of our favorite places in OCNJ. Great dessert coffee concoctions and the food is excellent. A nice change from pizza and hoagies. Healthy and delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rextrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
227 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very creative menu, great breads, fantastic teas/drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was a really nice lunch experience. They have great creativity on the menu, unique great tasting items, a wonderful selection of breads for the sandwiches, and a fantastic selection of ice teas and other drinks. Definitely a cut above. Wait staff were very friendly. Greeted warmly on arrived by a person that looked like the owner. Also, they give military discounts which was an added plus. Prices reasonable. Very nice ambiance....it almost doesn't feel like a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 805teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“3rd trip and still amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

on my 3rd trip to Ocean City NJ. we went straight to Jon & Patty's for lunch. while we were in town we had a breakfast, lunch and dinner here. It's never disappointing but always a tasty delight. The food here is not your typical thrown together plate of food. Every meal is clearly made by a chef who cares what they are delivering to the customer. The veggie bomb omelet was loaded but not over loaded with veggies and the egg part of the omelet was fluffy and delicious. Their specialty coffees are the best forget all the other coffee you've had and try one here, You will love it. The nutty Chicken Salad is also a favorite on delicious cranberry bread. and for dinner the fire grilled Salmon is a must have and my husband tried the veggie bomb pasta also made by a chef who knows how to cook good good food.
Hats off to the best food in Ocean city NJ.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
1 review
“Gluten free meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We heard this was a nice place for a casual meal. My wife has celiac disease, and of course, was the first question asked when we entered. The owner, Jon, heard us ask our server, and he came over to tell us they could probably make her meal GF. He said he could make GF crab cakes and it was awesome! It was truly a pleasure to see a smile on my wife's face, knowing she could actually enjoy a real meal! They make everything on their menu, so they know what is in it. Jon is knowledgable about gluten, and both our meals were terrific. I am not necessarily GF, but I know enough to appreciate a terrific little bistro when I see one. We will definitely return to OC, possibly just to eat there again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Been to Jon & Patty's Coffee Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing