We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 24 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I spend a weekend here again in 2013, and it was excellent, as always. We stayed in the "Graciously Green" room which has a large bathroom - it's our favorite. The breakfast was wonderful as always!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were there twice. 5 star all around. Karen always went the extra mile to make us feel at home. Her breakfasts? She should audition for " The Next Iron Chef". Room? Above and beyond the call to duty! Great hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagleman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Serendipity is such a CUTE place. The rooms are lovely and homey. Bathrooms have plenty of space, bright, and all necessities. But, the breakfast is to die for. The stuffed French toast is the best I have EVER tasted. It is your own little heaven of a meal. We go back as often as we can. I would advise it to everyone.

Room Tip: I loved the Green Room. Windows every where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g-mom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay. All the staff was super friendly and helpful with our baby. We had a small "apartment" style room which was perfect, except for the super duper tiny bathroom. Definitely would want a larger bathroom next time, but this was the only real problem. Also, there was a very loud party until about 3am outside of our window, but when we finally asked the group to be quiet, they immediately dispersed. Serendipity's owner seemed very sorry that this happened during our stay. Very clean place, nice breakfast, very close to beach, good storage for stroller/bikes, great big parking lot (hard to come by in OC), beach tags provided, etc., etc. I would highly recommend this spot even though it's a little pricier than some alternatives.

Room Tip: Seaside apt has tiny bathroom and can be loud b.c of neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jms2780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen718, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
While I would love to take credit for the lovely comments that were made, you did not stay at Serendipity! I do not have any apartments and since my rooms only accommodate 2 people, there were no babies here! I do not have a large parking lot - I lease parking across the street. I am close to the beach - 1/2 block - and I am the staff :) My guests enjoy their breakfasts as you can see from other reviews. I also provide beach tags! Perhaps you stayed at Scarborough Inn which is a very nice place with a very nice owner. I am glad you had a very enjoyable stay in Ocean City, NJ!

Karen - owner of Serendipity B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently visited Ocean City, NJ, and chose to stay at this bed and breakfast. The accomodations were quite comfortable, and while the room we were in was a bit tiny, it was not cramped. The bathroom, however, waas the largest bathroom I've ever been in in a bed and breakfast. Aside from the usual necessities, there was literally a small area to sit and read if one would wish to do that.
The breakfasts were incredible. After breakfast, we couldn't eat anythng till dinner, with perhaps a VERY small snack in between. The stay includes beach badges and free parking, about a block away. The B & B is a block from the boardwalk and very near the center of town as well. What we really liked was the price. In the middle of summer (July), we stayed two days, during the week, and the cost , with taxes and fees, was just under $370.00. For the timing of the stay and its proximity to the beach, I think tht's pretty good. And for whatever it's worth, if you ever get a B & B gift certificate from someone (at www.bedandbreakfast.com), this B & B will honor it.
Very much worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I took my daughter for a quick mid week get away and stayed in the Graciously Green room. Karen extended great hospitality and was more than accommodating with our special dietary needs, and the breakfast was amazing! Everything was wonderful and felt so comfortable. I can't wait to return this fall with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Serendipity every year in April. This year we had incredible weather and a lovely weekend. Karen's hospitality was wonderful, as always, and the breakfasts are so good you don't want lunch. We like the larger room on the top floor,but all rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The location of Serendipity is perfect. Easy walk to everything.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Address: 712 E 9th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3554
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom B&B located 1/2 block from beach and boardwalk! Includes full breakfast, beach tags and parking. Special diets - vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-intolerant - accommodated with prior notice. Walk to restaurants, shopping. All rooms have flat screen TV with DVD. DVD library available. Complimentary hot/cold beverages and snacks available all day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity b&b
Serendipity Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing