We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 24 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Hammonton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived in February (after being preempted by Hurricane Sandra in November).
What a delightful place!
The room was magnificent - clean with a huge bathroom and a sleep number bed!
A TV & DVD player were in the room with a nice selection of movies (and books) in the downstairs parlor.
In addition to a coffee station in the dining room there was also a mini fridge with soft drinks and a microwave for us to use.
There was a large window for breakfast but being on vacation we slept in until the 9:30 (last call) slot.
Breakfast itself was great - fresh baked pastry, juice, coffee and a choice of some type of pancake/waffle, eggs and a third choice as well.

Room Tip: Front rooms are larger with larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Serendipity for years. Karen has made the place so warm and welcoming. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is fantastic and the breakfasts are out of this world. She accommodates both meat eaters and vegans! We look forward to staying with her again this summer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times because it is such a treat! Karen is very hospitable and has excellent dining and event recommendations. Her breakfasts are delicious and you truly get your money's worth. We just got home from our last stay and I am still salivating over the memory of her homemade gingerbread! Serendipity is in a central location and close to the boardwalk and downtown shopping area (Asbury Avenue). We are looking at our work schedules to book our next visit in the Spring! An absolute must for you fellow B&B lovers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen718, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I love to have new people book a stay. It gives me an opportunity to show them the hospitality that Serendipity and Ocean City are known for! I especially enjoy my "repeat" guests - people who started here as new guests and have evolved over stays to become friends. It is nice to know that people enjoy staying here and come again and again. Can't wait for you to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This B&B really is our serendipity. We were sent to this small B&B when our original booking was cancelled due to a neighborhood fire and we had no place to stay for the weekend (thank you original B&B for arranging!). The host of Serendipity is so kind, she charged us the price of our original B&B, which was lower than her rate. Our room was small but very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good (made to order — you fill out a sheet the night before). Although there are a small number of rooms, you still feel privacy (no communal breakfasts at once — you pick your own time which is what we liked). The home is stocked with videos, games, books, drinks and afternoon snacks. Parking is free but in the lot across the street. However you can pull into the driveway to drop off your bags. The location is so close to the boardwalk. We had a nice stay, very much like a home.

Room Tip: This B&B is on a busy street but it didn't bother us. If you are a light sleeper, however, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a wonderful B & B literally 2 minutes by foot to the boardwalk and ocean. All rooms have private baths, t.v.'s, & air conditioners. Main floor has nice sitting area with a variety of books, DVD's, and board games. All guests have use of fridge & freezer in public area. Owner is extremely accommodating on preparing breakfasts (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free -- you name it!) and is a wonderful cook and superb baker. Snacks and beverages available. Spotlessly clean. Nice front porch with chairs for people watching.

Charming little town with shops, a few gyms, restaurants, bike & surrey rentals, and not far from gaming (Atlantic City) and historic Cape May, plus a ferry to Lewes, Delaware. Perfect for families and couples, and great for singles who want to relax and unwind.

I stayed there many times years ago and always loved it and this is a new owner and she was as terrific as the former owners.

Will go back and definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Look at website as room locations and amenities are listed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just spent the weekend - 4/27/12 through 4/29/12 here. Warm and friendly, cozy room and living room area. Great snacks and drinks available all day long. Sample breakfast - fresh fruit cup, apple muffin, breakfast frittatta, sausage, french toast. The manager can accommodate dietary restrictions.
Very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Old charm, comfy rooms, porch with rocking chairs, just like Grand Ma's house! Quiet retreat in a busy shore town. Karen's gourmet breakfast is a welcome addition. My home away from home! No glitz & glamour here. That would be Atlantic City!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank generalnansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Address: 712 E 9th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3554
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom B&B located 1/2 block from beach and boardwalk! Includes full breakfast, beach tags and parking. Special diets - vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-intolerant - accommodated with prior notice. Walk to restaurants, shopping. All rooms have flat screen TV with DVD. DVD library available. Complimentary hot/cold beverages and snacks available all day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity b&b
Serendipity Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing