We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 24 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a fall/early winter getaway. The area is very quiet at that time of year (mid-Dec). The owner of the bed-and-breakfast is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was small, but comfortable. The bed kind of takes up the whole room, but it was clean, and the bathroom was very spacious, with plenty of room to dress and move around. Everything was clean and nicely kept, with an ample supply of reading material in the rooms as well. Breakfast was delicious, and different each of the 2 days of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imazebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great location with parking nearby. The place does not look fancy from the outside, but it's cute and cozy inside. We stayed in the green room. Small but cozy room with a large king bed and good linens, soft towels. Big bathroom. The room was very clean! The dining area has a bunch of little tables so you are close enough to the other guests but still have a bit of privacy if you are not much of a talker. There was a fridge with soda and there was water and hot water for coffee or tea all night. Breakfast was delicious! Ocean City NJ is a cute little town. We went in the off season so it may be different in the summer, but we had a nice relaxing stay!

Room Tip: green room- big king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

The location is good, because it's a few blocks away from the beach, but the area is not pretty and if you go during fall, or winter, there's nothing to do, not even a single restaurant open. We drove to Cape May and Atlantic City, so that made the trip worth it.
We stayed in room 6, which is really small. The shower is tiny, and the sink is in the bedroom. The bed is twin size, so it was a little uncomfortable for my husband and me. The room was very clean though.
One thing that I didn't like is that you have to have breakfast at a specific time. The day before, you write your name on a list and pick the time you want, but if you arrived after the other guests chances are you will have to wake up very early. So if you're not hungry at that time, or would like to stay in bed a little longer, you can't. The food is ok, by the way.

I have to say that overall it wasn't a bad experience and the owner is a nice lady.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I absolutely loved my stay here! I wish I could have stayed longer but duty calls:( I stayed Oct. 10th-11th. We were sooo lucky because the weather was awesome! We were just in time for the Indian Summer Seafood Festival on the board walk, which is less than a 1/2 a block away!
Some of the features that I enjoyed at this B&B were the dvd selection, couples games in the room, complimentary snacks and sodas, and the delicious breakfast! Karen you are a great host! We will be back!!!
Graciously Green room was the best ....love the decor!

Room Tip: The Graciously Green Room has a very spacious bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I adore this place. Karen is a marvelous hostess. Her gourmet breakfast are the best we have ever had in any B&B stay (and we have been to many). The rooms are cheerful and clean. Afternoon home baked snacks are a real treat as is a never ending supply of soda and chips and treats. We now meet for a couples weekend away with two other couples every November. They love it as much as we do!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I’ve just spent a relaxing three-day weekend at the Serendipity B&B in Ocean City, NJ. What’s not to love about Ocean City – the beach and boardwalk, shopping along Asbury Avenue, and plenty of places to choose for great eats! Staying at the Serendipity B&B makes a visit that much more enjoyable. It’s like home-away-from-home. A gracious innkeeper, comfortable rooms (I’ve stayed in all but one), several breakfast choices (all are hardy), movies/books/magazines/internet/TV, and afternoon refreshments (homemade baked goods) – what more could you ask for? The chairs on the front porch allow for hours of people watching (the 9th St location is awesome) or for enjoying an early morning coffee before heading to the beach. Every time I’m headed to Ocean City for an extended period, I check the availability at Serendipity as I know I’ll have a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAM1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was our second visit. We enjoyed our stay just as much as the first time. Karen is a wonderful innkeeper, always willing to go the extra mile, is sociable and pleasant to get along with. Breakfast is to die for. Between the fresh fruit, freshly baked muffin, cake, bread, to the individualized entrees, you can't go wrong. The rooms are clean, well supplied with towels and blankets and having a committed parking space makes it easy to run out and visit attractions without fear of where you will park when you return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOzieDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Address: 712 E 9th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3554
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 bedroom B&B located 1/2 block from beach and boardwalk! Includes full breakfast, beach tags and parking. Special diets - vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-intolerant - accommodated with prior notice. Walk to restaurants, shopping. All rooms have flat screen TV with DVD. DVD library available. Complimentary hot/cold beverages and snacks available all day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity b&b
Serendipity Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing