We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Report - Dust and Bugs”
Review of Plymouth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plymouth Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ewing, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A True Report - Dust and Bugs”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

I find it very interesting that my original post was removed, so I will keep this short and sweet.

The Room - Massive piles of dust on AC and floor with bugs crawling out of the drain. According to the owner, they were from the fresh peaches on the first floor on the opposite side of the building. Those critters sure do move.

The Staff - Marie was helpful, by no doubt, she is knowledgeable and accommodating in every which way. The helper was not so good (dirty and scantily dressed for a family inn). The owner even admitted, she never interviewed her and was appalled about her appearance.

The Owner - Apparently they care about making money, hence my original post was removed. They did refund my one night stay, but the items left behind were never compensated for...approximately $40. While I understand the owner's mom is dying, it is not an excuse for operating a dirty establishment.

Trip Advisor - Your personal information is NOT private. You disclosed my name to the inn keeper...very interesting.

Other guests – It is rather interesting that we disturbed you, since I spoke privately and quietly to Marie in the kitchen. Marie chooses to make a big deal out of it by screaming at the helper. We quietly left the building even while other guests were asking if everything was okay. We never created a ruckus, so obviously Marie provided a littler slander of her own to the other guests!

The inn's primary concern was making sure nothing was posted to an online site. So be warned, all the reviews will be positive, this post will be gone shortly once the inn keepers are made away of it.

I do not recommend staying at this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FamilyTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
75
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading Pa
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Plymouth Inn a few weeks ago and I have to say that the Plymouth Inn, by far, was the absolute best!! We have been coming to Ocean City for several years and have enjoyed our stay at other places. However, the hospitality at this wonderful Inn is beyond measure. This is truly a gem in Ocean City.

Thanks, Marie, for your wonderful service. You can be sure we will be returning again and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuru20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This place is great. The person that makes it great is Marie, the innkeeper. She is so dedicated to this building and how it runs. Our family suite (small for our growing family) was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was fantastic - french toast, belgium waffles, pancakes, scrambled eggs and bagels, muffins, fruit and cereal daily. It was a short walk to the beach which is great when you have 3 kids to bring with you. I thought parking would be an issue because the inn was packed and Marie takes your keys so she can move the cars if she needs to but when I had to run a few errands, it was so easy to get my car in and out of the area ( I am a terrible driver).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnston128c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Had an amazing time from check in to check out. Even after we left, we were welcome for hours. Marie was an amazing hostess. Cannot wait to return :)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

and I have stayed at plenty. As soon as we pulled up ( I went with my 17 year old daughter and her friend) there was Marie waiting outside and immediately helped me park the car and get us settled. Fabulous front porch with rockers, my favorite place to hang out. As as we walked in we loved all the sitting areas, even the girls loved it. W ehad a woderful family suite that was CLEAN, comfortable and spacious. Mairie is truly amazing and so much fun. By the end of the weekend we all cried to be leaving. Breakfast was wonderful and always stocked or it just took a moment, no question or request was to much for Marie, we had a ball and felt so comfortable. The location is the best, need any recomendations, just ask Marie. I loved it so much I am going back next week.

As for the guy who said they had dust and bugs he must have brought tehm from home! Also the little helper is a sweet girl and what was he doing looking at her like that.

I LOVE the plymouth Inn and can't wait to go back and see my friend Marie!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresawelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My family has been staying here for over 13 years and has never had a problem. The place is kept immaculately clean by the innkeeper, Marie. She takes pride in her job and always makes sure that guests are treated respectfully. "Bugs and Dust" did nothing but complain and disrupt the other guests. Through all of that, Marie handled the situation professionally. The good news is that "B & D" won't be back again. The bad news is that "B & D"s comments were unwarranted, unjust, and untrue. Our family will continue to make the Plymouth Inn our summer destination of choice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybercog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have been coming to the Plymouth Inn for over 10 years. It is the best place around. The rooms are comfortable and beautiful living area in Victorian style. But the best part is the wonderful host Marie who takes care of the Inn and all our needs and wants. Nothing is too much to ask. Marie is knowledgable, courteous and runs a tight ship. The rooms are always the cleanest and every year she updates the rooms sometimes in small ways and other times in big ways. Additionally she is an excellent cook. My daughter never like French Toast until she tasted Ms. Marie's. She gobbled the French toast down and asked for more. You cannot find a nicer place to vacation and a nicer host. I highly recommend a stay at the Plymouth Inn and ask for Marie.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwhayes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plymouth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plymouth Inn

Property: Plymouth Inn
Address: 710 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3726
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Plymouth Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing