We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn and friendly hosts made for a perfect OC weekend!”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Inn and friendly hosts made for a perfect OC weekend!”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This was our first stay at the Northwood Inn, but it will not be our last. This restored Victorian is beautiful and our room, with a king-sized bed, was very comfortable. Our hosts, Marj and John, were welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and Marj attended to the dietary needs of the guests.
The Northwood Inn is a delightful change from typical seaside accommodations and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
107
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Driving home from our five night stay at the Northwood this morning, my partner and I talked about the fact that we feel so comfortable at this wonderful Victorian Inn, that it feels like our "home away from home"! Marj and John are so caring and attentive to every need. The home baked muffins, cookies and cakes not only taste delicious but provide the house with a tantalizing aroma and the fresh sweet melons are to die for. We've vacationed at the Northwood for several years now but this time we discovered its most wonderful treasure....the Professional Massage Services offered at the Inn by Rebecca Balun. Rebecca is certified to offer many different types of massages. My partner and I both selected the "Foot Indulgence" which was absolutely incredible. Being connoisseurs when it comes to massage therapy, we were totally impressed with Rebecca's talent and healing skills. We'll be driving from Philly to Ocean City as often as we can, just to "indulge" our feet and bodies again. So, I highly recommend you take advantage of this added treat while you're at the Northwood!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatLafayetteHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallingford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

this was probably the third or fourth time staying at the northwood in ocean city. again no complaints. the loepers ,marj and john. are great hosts and the inn again was very comfortable. we stayed in the garden room this time. very pretty room and more spacious than the azalea room that we usually book. fantastic muffins or coffee cake served each morning. we definitely recommend the northwood for its location- it is a bit of a walk to the beach and boardwalk (about four blocks) but we like the fact that it is far enough way to be peaceful at times when you want to be away from the crowds. my husband and i would not stay anywhere else in ocean city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudywallingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at the Northwood Inn based on the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! I'm so glad we stayed here instead of some shabby overpriced motel!

The hosts, Marj and John, are extremely welcoming and we felt more like guests than paying customers. John is a genial character who will make you feel right at home. He is president of the local fishing club ...My husband loves to fish and John gave him some excellent fishing advice! John also builds ship models which are displayed around the home.

Marj is a great cook and loves to bake. We were treated to several varieties of home made muffins for breakfast, and she also made fresh cookies every afternoon! Weekday breakfasts are continental style (including juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, home made muffins, bagels, and cereals). We enjoyed a variety of fresh melons each morning. Saturday and Sunday, the breakfast includes a hot entree. We were treated to crustless quiche and sausage one day, and baked apple french toast and canadian bacon the second day. Everything was delicious!

Our group of four (two adults, two teen girls) stayed in the Lotus Blossom Suite, located on the second floor of the house. This suite consists of a bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed, a living room with queen sleeper sofa, mini-fridge, TV/DVD/VCR, a bathroom and a small balcony. The only downside of the suite setup is that there is only one TV (so no TV in the bedroom). I appreciated the in-room mini-fridge, a perfect place to store the beverage of your choice (remember OC is a "dry" town). I would have liked an in-room safe for valuables.

The second floor also has a convenient pantry area with full size refrigerator and a spring water dispenser. The refrigerator came in handy for the 30 inch striped bass my husband caught surf-fishing the first day!!

The house is a beautifully restored Victorian home and attractively landscaped.Several areas of the house are worth mentioning: there is a billiard room , a roof deck with hot tub and hammock, and a huge shady wrap-around porch with rocking chairs, perfect for reading a good book. The library contains a supply of movies & board games.

Three parking spaces are provided for guests. We had no problem finding a parking space within a block of the Inn. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach/boardwalk area, or you can bike there using the complimentary "beach bikes" provided by the Inn.

Beach tags are also included in the price of the room. We were able to use the beach tags after check-out on the last day of our stay. An outdoor shower/dressing room is also available for use after checkout.

Overall, the Northwood Inn fulfilled all our needs and was a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocknroll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

At the Northwood Inn no detail has been overlooked. Great value for the dollar. Breakfasts were delicious! It is a comfortable and relaxing place. We definitely plan to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOGUMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Northwood Inn on three different occassions and loved every stay. Marj was very helpful with restaurants and we now have a favorite place to visit when we return. You can always look forward to John's stories at breakfast along with Marj's lime muffins...Yummmm! We have stayed in the Rose Room two of the three stays and have really enjoyed the room. Thanks Marj and John...we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Marj and John Loeper were wonderful hosts during our recent stay at their Northwoods Inn. Our room was quite nice and had all desired amenities. Their inn is located within a few blocks of the boardwalk and the ability to use bikes both before and after the official start/stop time of our stay was a very nice plus as was the availability of a hot shower and dressing room to clean up before we left for home (even though we had already checked out much earlier in the day).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESHLansdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#2 of 20 in Ocean City
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Property: Northwood Inn
Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing