We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different”
Review of Fire on the Beach - CLOSED

Fire on the Beach
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: FIRE! Is a "farm to fork" sustainable multi-ethnic fusion establishment, featuring locally sourced food. The steak for our burgers is ground fresh daily from a "secret" blend, our produce is from local organic farms & everything is made from scratch or by local artisanal bakers, smokers or butchers. Local art hangs on the wall, local musicians entertain & our "Tower Gardens" provide through aero-ponics many of our herbs & veggies.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast with my family of 4. Only one table was occupied when we arrived. A couple more families stopped in as we were leaving. The server was very attentive and helpful. The food was good and creative. My son had the plain French Toast. Husband had a waffle, eggs and Taylor Pork Roll (he was very happy to see that on the menu, brang back childhood memories). Daughter had the eggs, home fries and bacon. The eggs were nice and fluffy. Good bacon too. I had one of the special omelets with a side of grits. It had spinach, caramelized onions and chèvre cheese. It was a bit overdone on the outside and a bit underdone on the inside (just my preference but I don't like eggs when they are browned). But I made do. The grits were good. Nice selection of teas too. The atmosphere is diner like, tho there's some pretty art on the walls. The tables are on the small side and plates were quite big. Will be trying them for dinner tomorrow night!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gandycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great new find”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family of 4 was looking for a new place to eat in O.C. After looking on Trip Advisor we decided to give this a try. Need to have a reservation, so call ahead. Food was great. We had the tator tots with bacon and chives, more like a potato pancake. Excellent. My husband had a gigantic sandwich with meatloaf and bacon which he said was delicious. My son had a burger, that was amazingly cooked to the perfect temperature (always well done at many other establishments), nice fresh meat. My son had the flatbread with steak and blue cheese which he said was amazing. It is a bit small to make it a meal, but luckily the sandwich my husband ordered was huge so he shared. I had the tomato soup and sliders, good as well. Prices are reasonable. In fact we tried to go back the next night, but unfortunately they were booked. would highly recommend and hope to return next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star new place in OC”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family was looking for a new restaurant. The food and service was excellent. A lot of the portions were enough for 2. Ambience was comfortable and laid back. Only negative was small size for about 40-50. DEFINITELY need reservation or you will wait. Prior review recommended this to us!

Helpful?
2 Thank DeirdreB545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must try!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We went with the entire family and everyone loved the food! The service was outstanding! A must try!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 123TKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fire on the Beach--a neighborhood bistro/cafe that probably can seat no more than 40--is the epitome of what American food should be. The little kitchen offers fresh, bright menu items that fuse the flavors of America, Asia, Mexico, Italy, and France (with a little twist of Greece for good measure) in a way that is as creative as that of any high-end restaurant or resort. But unlike it's over-priced, impossible-to-get-into big brothers in wealthy the boroughs and trendy neighborhoods around NY and Philadelphia, Fire is an exceedingly reasonable eatery that puts on no airs. The produce is local, the food came out of the kitchen with lightening speed (granted a rainy night had kept the crowds at bay), and the owners clearly care about what they are doing. Was it perfect? Not quite. The atmosphere has a somewhat temporary feel about it. And the watermelon in the watermelon steak appetizer was decidedly overripe, which lent the dish an unpleasant tang. But everything else--the two kinds of mac and cheese, the Buffalo Chicken BLT, the chicken and waffles, and the bowl of exceptional tater tots--was fantastic. There were two or three dinner salads and at least as many flatbread pizzas that are short-listed out for my next visit.

Hopefully Fire, which is in a restaurant space that has turned over at least twice in the last few years, will last; it's a very welcome addition to the monotonous, horribly unhealthy Ocean City food scene. (Pizza, anyone?) Make a reservation (which you'll find on your table on a sticky note) and RUN, don't walk, to check it out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaWoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire on the Beach also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing