We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down the shore”
Review of Harris House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harris House Motel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Down the shore”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

i enjoyed staying @ Harris House, very clean. Grounds were kept tidy & pool area as well. Air conditioner was a bit on the noisy side, but did its job. Check in was fast and were given information on area. Very good location. Our family enjoys Ocean City & this hotel was a good choice. Thanks Again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
107
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This motel is at a great location, located just off the boardwalk. It is clean and the staff is very nice. However, our room was located on the first floor street side of the motel and the noise is unbelievable. At night you hear people walking past the motel as they come off of the boardwalk, which makes it very hard to fall asleep. Delivery and trash trucks start coming down the street bright and early in the morning, around 5:30am and wake you up. The other issue we had in our room was that the air conditioning unit did not have a constant fan option. If there had been a fan on the unit it would have helped to block out the noise from the outside. The room got very warm since there was nothing constantly circulating the air. However, we had other family members in another room of the motel and their AC unit had a fan unit, so this seemed to only be an issue in some rooms.

Room Tip: Absolutely request a room on the pool side of the hotel. The street side of the hotel is extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McGee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My experience was fabulous, so let me start with the negatives, or rather the least positive things. Later on, I will talk about the fabulous location and the truly wonderful staff.

The room itself is roomy and great, with flatscreen tv, fridge, microwave, comfy beds, and nice bathroom and shower. The WIFI is free and reasonably fast. Ask for the password when you arrive.

But remember that it is a motel, with two floors of rooms, facing either the parking lot and pool, or directly onto the street. If you are on the first floor, you get the hubbub. If you wish to sit outside your room, you will either have parked cars and lot directly in front of you, or you will be looking directly at people walking on the street about 10 feet in front of you. If you are on the second floor (I RECOMMEND THE 2ND FLOOR), you must carry your stuff up steps, as there is no elevator. On either floor, you must fully close the drapes to have privacy. This makes the room really dark.

But you don't go to the shore to stay in the room, do you? The location is beyond compare. It is less than 100 steps to the boardwalk and ocean. And you are at a great spot on the boardwalk, with a changing room/public facility right there. Check out my photo from my room (232) looking toward my right. You are almost on the boards without the clamor and noise.

And the staff is fabulous. Nothing seems too much. We arrived around 7 PM and were directed to a waiting spot in the seemingly full parking lot. We were constantly offered coffee and advice. When we went to check out at 10 am (normal check out is noon), we were told that we could only leave the car on the lot until noon, but could continue to use the pool and other facilities for as long as we wished, for the whole afternoon if we desired. All the staff had a smile each time I saw them.

This was a last minute trip to celebrate my birthday. The room was great (when we were in it)allowing us to have doggy bags and re-heated snacks; the staff was excellent with check-in and out speedy and parking (a big problem at the shore) never an issue. And problems and requests were "not a problem." Room was cleaned thoroughly each night and there were plenty of towels. As a final plus, the weather cooperated with sun and warm water until the morning of our departure.

Finally, the cost. Including all taxes, our stay came to about $250 per night. If you want to pay up to twice as much, you could stay at a true HOTEL with a view that allowed you to have your drapes open all the time and perhaps a balcony. I thought this MOTEL was EXCELLENT value for money. The attitude of the staff only made the bargain even better. Choose this place--you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are the best. Street side can see the boardwalk and a sliver of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HistoryandSafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We really appreciated this review, as you truly seemed to understand the "heart" of our hotel. Thanks for the kind words and we hope you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

You get a great location, right off the Boardwalk. Rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Our only request is that the pool be open later in the evenings. If you have lots of luggage, you may want to stay on the 1st floor.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShipU2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thanks for the extremely positive review. Our policy right now is to allow swimming from sunrise to sundown, which in the height of the summer is about 8pm. However we hear your request and at the end of this season, we will discuss potentially leaving it open later in the evening.Hope to see you again soon and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I just spent one night at Harris House but enjoyed my stay. I arrived early in the day (a few hours before official check in). When I called to see if I could check in early or if I would have to find a parking space elsewhere I was informed to stop at the hotel. I was also informed that I would be given my parking pass and beach tags early so I "could get my day started" even if the room wasn't ready.

Luckily, my room was ready and check in was a breeze. The man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The parking lot was rather spacious compared to other OC parking lots. It was an extremely short walk to the beach (no roads to cross, just turned the corner & walked onto the boardwalk). It is located right next to Jilly's Arcade and the Surf Mall.

As others have said, it is a basic room/hotel with no on site restaurant or elevator but those things aren't necessary to me for a good stay. My room was clean, comfortable and the AC worked great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thanks for the warm words! Making the most of your day is definitely important to us, and if we can accommodate early arrivals, we do. Our focus is clean rooms and friendly customer service, since the prime location speaks for itself. It always means a lot to us when we hear our guests were able to enjoy Ocean City, as we truly think it is the gem of the Jersey shore. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We chose this motel due to good reviews and location. Right behind the boardwalk and beach on 14th street. The room was clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed sitting outside our 2nd floor room, just watching all the people going to the beach and renting surrey or bike rides across the street. The pool was very refreshing and well kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Morning coffee in the lobby and free beach tags. Due to being peak summer rates, it cost more then we normally would pay but all considered, it was worth it. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babymisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
it sounds like you had a very relaxing vacation, and we are so glad our property met your expectations. The comments on the pool are very gratifying - we have high standards and keep it in pristine condition. Thanks for the positive words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just spent two days at the Harris House Motel. The rooms were very clean and it is right behind the boardwalk with easy access to the beach. The rooms have a microwave, fridge and TV as well. If you want to rent a bicycle, just walk across the parking lot. Everything is so convenient!

Room Tip: You have a choice of rooms by the pool or rooms by the street (boardwalk access).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLPeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay -- it sounds like you were able to take advantage of one of the best activities in Ocean City, the morning bicycle ride. One of our favorite things to do.We hope you'll choose to stay with us again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris House Motel

Property: Harris House Motel
Address: 1201 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Harris House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris House Motel Hotel Ocean City
Harris Hotel Ocean City
Harris Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing