We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sifting Sands Motel
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Must Stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2006

We stayed here for a week, my wife and twin boys. It was a friendly environment that was truely inviting. A heated pool made it a plus in my book. It was clean, close to the beach, nice staff, and priced right. We will definatly be returning in 06.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    20
    14
    21
See reviews for
46
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2006

I couldn't get enough of this place. I stayed a total of 5 times this past summer of 2005. Each stay kept getting better. In 2006, I plan on staying here even more. It became my home away from home. The staff is wonderful, the place is clean, and it felt like my new home. And, with speaking with the management, I found out that there even upgrading the motel for 2006. I can't wait to see whats in store for 2006 then. I already have my reservation for my first stay with them. Whats nice is that they noticed us coming back, and even lessened the rates for being a frequent customer.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCHWENKSVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We had stayed at the Sifting Sands prior to this review, however they were always for one day sleepover trips or quick weekend getaways. This year, however, we decided to take four days and enjoy the last of the season. We only decided to go here because we visited their website and saw that alot of improvements SEEMED to have been made. Prior to visiting their website, we only chose the Sifting Sands because of how cheap they were and their ever ready availability. Based upon what we saw when we arrived, it was obvious that nothing has changed. We booked what we were told was a "Superior" suite, replete with a kitchenette and a kitchen table. As well, we were told on the phone that the room had a seperate bedroom as well as a pull out couch. The room on the website was painted in pastel colors and looked as nice as some of the more expensive motels in Ocean City. When we arrived we entered our room and it looked exactly as all their rooms always have. Drab, spotted and stained white walls in desperate need of repair and paint, disgusting, grease or food stained carpets, sand and gunk caked in the shower, and sand in all of our sheets. It was almost as if they didnt change the sheets prior to our arrival. In addition, there was NO seperate bedroom, NO kitchen table, and the coffee table (think Unclaimed Freight 1.99 special) had a broken leg. We only found this out after moving it so that our son could sleep by himself on the pull out couch (sheets also stained and covered in sand). We decided that since we were down there to enjoy each others company we would just let it go and vow to never return. To hell with tradition. On the next day, after returning to the room at about 4pm, I went to advise management about our coffee table and the fact that the room was far from what was advertised. As well, the maid service still hadnt been in to clean and replace the sheets and towels. I went to the lobby to talk to management but was found in the way of the owner watching the current Nascar race. He kept looking around me and trying to look over me as I explained my problems. I told him that I thought my family and I were staying in the "Superior" suite. His response was, "You are." I advised him that it didnt look like the pictures on the website and that there wasnt a seperate bedroom nor a kitchen table. His response was, "They dont all look alike" I also advised him that the maids hadnt been in. His response was, "Listen, I have five girls here running around, theyll be in soon." To say I was unimpressed is an understatement considering we paid 199.00 per night for this dingy overpriced flea trap. The maid service eventually came, and impressively enough, started coming earlier after I spoke to management. Of course, in keeping with managements keen eye for customer satisfaction, THEY NEVER CHANGED THE SHEETS. I could continue on this diatribe, complaining about the cracked shower door, the cramped and dirty bathroom, the fact that you couldnt shower properly for fear that someone would flush a toilet and you would be scalded (yep, happened 2x with my wife in the shower), but I digress. Suffice it to say, If you have any intentions of ever coming to Ocean City to enjoy the sand, the surf and the boardwalk, please please please DO NOT STAY AT THE SIFTING SANDS.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank whythehellnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 3, 2005

Call me snobby but the pink exterior and the yellow flashing arrow had me thinking this place was a sure dive. We were having some car troubles and had to stay in OC. We stumbled across sifting sands and what a treat! The room was great and the people at the front desk were willing to do anything to help with any needs we had. They welcomed us like family. The bathroom shower was a tad small but VERY clean. I have been in ritzy hotels in NY that had hair and grime all over and cost 3 times what this did. It is clean, perfect location to beach and a great enviroment. Kudos to the new management as considering some other not so good reviews they must have done a 180 on this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 8, 2004

Loved this place...my husband & children came down for the block party & it was the only place we could get a nightly rental on short notice. they have new owners & was truly suprised how much it had changed in the past few months. we stayed there this summer & it was in much needed repair....how suprised were we to find it clean & redone. a new family has taken over the motel & were just lovely to deal with, & anything we needed was provided for immediately. the girl at the front desk was helpful & gave us much needed info on the area & a listing of restaurants & their menus, as well as suggestions for spas, florists & stores to shop. a big A+++ over the last time we were there. we will definately stay there again this summer.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2004

Loved the sifting sands, 9th & ocean...they are under new management & are currently redoing all their rooms. they were reasonable & clean & a block from the ocean. they have a great pool & are in the heart of ocean city, close to restaurants, boardwalk & shopping. they had a kitchenette & was close to grocery stores & wawa, & that saved us a bundle. the girl at the front desk was GREAT & so helpful....was one of the best experiences we had in ocean city in a long time.

Helpful?
8 Thank kathyfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 18, 2004

We were in Ocean City because we had to be. The city had been completed booked until, finally, there was a cancellation at The Sifting Sands, leary, but having no other choice I took it.

There was no phone or clock in the room and it was pretty filthy (The windows had gunk all over them, there was hair all in the bathroom, and dust and dirt everywhere....). There was no microwave like there website mentions. There was a mini refrigerator with a freezer compartment but our items in the freezer thawed and the refrigerator wasn't cold. There was a pile of particle board furniture stuff next to the refrigerator and outside our door as well.

The outside of the motel had mass lights so our room never got dark at night. We had a toddler with us who couldn't sleep because of it. At around midnight my husband suggested we just leave. I had plans in Ocean City the next day but as I watched my toddler wide awake and a cockroach running up the curtain I couldn't argue. We were out almost $150 for this experience, (a motel that might as well been off a freeway next to a truck stop and only $40), can you believe it.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homestead Beach Hotel
Homestead Beach Hotel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#16 of 32 in Ocean City
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifting Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifting Sands Motel

Property: Sifting Sands Motel
Address: 840 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3621
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sifting Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just paces away from the beaches and boardwalk. We offer a retriet that includes a heated pool thats open till 10pm, daily maid service, free beachtags, and free parking to just name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sifting Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifting Sands Hotel Ocean City
Sifting Sands Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing