We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sifting Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sifting Sands Motel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Berks County, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I booked this motel fairly last minute. My vacation budget was limited so we didn't stay at our normal hotel of choice. Sifting Sands is in a decent location and the price was right. The room was clean but the bathroom looked original to the building giving it the impression of not being well kept. It had a very musty smell from not getting fresh air often (my 4 yr. old kept mentioning the weird smell every time we walked in the door). Our room was cramped to the point that we almost put our suitcase back in the car so we could walk freely. The beds were comfortable, the staff was very accommodating by letting us keep our beach tags past check out as well as stay parked in their lot, and the room was clean. I would recommend this motel for a short stay if you can handle a no-frills experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottaluvtheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    20
    14
    21
See reviews for
46
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We travel to OC every year. Most times with our two boys, this most recent trip was just the two of us. I have to say, I stayed here years ago and was not happy. This time, it was better. Yes, all of rooms are privately owned so they vary greatly. That said, when you go online you can look at each one of the rooms to understand what you will get. If you look carefully at the pictures, you can tell which ones have an updated bathroom. I think that sets the tone for the rest of the unit - so choose carefully. Our first time we did feel attitude from the management. Not so this time. The manager (an older gentleman and I forget his name) was very nice to me from my telecon with him to the day we left. He knew we were repeat guests and even recommended a different room than the one I had originally called for. He did not steer me wrong. We like our unit and appreciated that it had faux wood floors and not dirty sand filled carpets. The bathroom, countertops and even burner unit were new. The place was nicely painted as well.

Yes, these are very tiny units. You walk in and there is the kitchen on one side, a futon on the other and two doors lead to either the small bedroom or the bathroom. When we stayed years ago we learned that you could not close the bedroom door or you wouldn't get any air as the unit only has on A/C unit which is located in the main 'living room' area. So much for a bedroom and privacy, if you have kids. When we did come before with kids, they were little and pooped out when we returned to the room. I would not stay here with my kids now and the place is too small and not possible to manuever around with 4 (almost) adults. However, it was perfect, clean and nicely kept for my husband and I on a quick and quite couples getaway.

For those that don't know the area, it's a quick 1 1/2 block walk to the beach and boards. No need for your car the entire stay as everything is in walking distance. Great restaurants and shopping all around!

If you carefully decide which unit to stay in and are assured that your unit has a new(er) bathroom, you should be ok. Oh, and the cleaning people have gotten much better since our last stay.

Room Tip: Go online and look at each one of the rooms before
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partyelfllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manahawkin, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

luckily never made it to this hotel..we had to cancel reservation, more than 2 weeks in advance, whoever answered the phone when we cancelled was downrite nasty and rude..when asked when the money would be refunded to my debit card i was told when he got around to it..and this was before Memorial Day..can imagine what would happen during the busy summer months...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTHESTIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I've just returned from a weekend in OC that was perfect. I didn't know what to expect from this motel but it was great. There were bunk beds for my kids (the gentleman on the phone asked me ahead of time if this was okay) and a queen size bed for us. The bathroom was clean. We didn't use the kitchen much. The pool was a great alternative to the very rough beach. When it was check out time, the gentleman in the office said i could keep my car there until we were ready to go home instead of having to move it. Really, super friendly people. Oh - it was cheaper than the other places I called by almost $100 and they didn't require me to have a 2 night stay, which all the other places did. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I just came back from spending a night at the motel. We paid $225.00 for a tiny room. Comforter on bed had stains. The bathroom was ancient. The rooms smelled like smoke. Tiny shower had a handle on the faucet that kept coming off. On the plus side, the people that work in the office are nice, pool and pool area is clean. The location is nice. I think its a rip off to charge that kind of money for a room like that!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsmom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is a Condo Motel where each person owns a room.

We had a blackout and they had no flashlights or candles and when I nicely asked what was going on with the blackout the man in the office very nastily said he didn't know because he had lost his crystal ball. The Motel was not there for their guests and the man was very rude. There was absolutely no kind of light in the room, just blackness. The lights went out at about 4:30 PM and came back around 10:30 PM only to go out again at around midnight.

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Me and my MS150 team stayed here for one night during the MS150 Bike tour. It was pretty good. Service was okay, but the rooms were pretty cozy and tight. It was pretty modern though even though it had a lamp with no shade no where near an outlet. Showers were very small. Few blocks away from beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsfan101703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands
Coral Sands
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifting Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifting Sands Motel

Property: Sifting Sands Motel
Address: 840 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3621
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just paces away from the beaches and boardwalk. We offer a retriet that includes a heated pool thats open till 10pm, daily maid service, free beachtags, and free parking to just name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sifting Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifting Sands Hotel Ocean City
Sifting Sands Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing