We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, service and decor were excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bongo Cafe & Grille - CLOSED

Bongo Cafe & Grille
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Creative dishes served in an upbeat retro beach setting. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Separate vegan menu available. Gluten-free options. Pet friendly outdoor seating, in season.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, service and decor were excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had dinner at the Bongo Cafe and Grille after reading great reviews on Trip Advisor. It was excellent! Everyone in our party of six raved about their meals. Decor and service were great! Terrific addition to our vacation experience. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My Dad and I decided to get breakfast at Bongo. We live only a couple blocks away so we have always wanted to try it. We parked our bikes out front and we were seated right away. Our waitress, Jenna, was very funny and nice. She brought our food out really fast. She did a great job and we will definitely be back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from Ocean City and had to write a review on Bongo! Went there for breakfast and as if the décor wasn't cute enough, the food was outstanding! Lots of different breakfast creations, and you'll struggle not to find something you love on their menu. Wait staff was also fabulous. They are quick without making you feel rushed, and very helpful! Thank you Damaris for being so wonderful to our kids, and providing us with excellent service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cute, Fun Place with Good Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We ate at Bongo Café & Grille on June 12, 2014 based on Trip Advisor ratings and we were not disappointed. The café is located a couple of blocks off the boardwalk and has a very large menu with lots of tasty choices for your taste. They even have a kids menu. I had the enchiladas which were awesome. The café is decorated in 1960's décor, particularly the "Beach Blanket Bingo" movies starring Frankie Avalon & Annette Funnicello. It's not a large restaurant, but the food is great at reasonable prices. If you're tired of the boardwalk junk food, then you'll be very happy with eating at Bongo Café.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank racer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Food is always good. The place is normally bustling and the service is good. It pays to be nice and you will be treated like a king.

Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvsr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongo Cafe & Grille also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing