We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place, great food”
Review of Bongo Cafe & Grille - CLOSED

Bongo Cafe & Grille
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Creative dishes served in an upbeat retro beach setting. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Separate vegan menu available. Gluten-free options. Pet friendly outdoor seating, in season.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New place, great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had breakfast here. While the prices were a little high, the food was great and the portion size were good. Husband had a breakfast pizza which was loaded. Yes it's blocks off the beach & boardwalk, but there are tons of great places to eat in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Haven eaten here 3 times, for breakfast only. Family has really enjoyed everything about the place. Decor is soo cute, place is very child friendly. staff have always been pleasant and efficient. Great food choices, interesting and different breakfast selections. There is vegan and gluten free food and healthy and organic items. Delicious and different teas which they actually bag themselves. Will return soon to try their dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vunursedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed with service or food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My family brought me here for breakfast. They had come the day before and was told to sit anywhere. I came and we sat at a table at which point we were lectured we were to be seated; because the girls would be overwhelmed . My sister explained that she was there the day before and told to sit anywhere then because it was the weekend it was different. Hint: Put up a sign if you have a be seated or wait to be seated change. The decor was interesting? I thought they gave up too much floor space for the fiberglass alligator but I am sure it brings joy to children. The food was ho hum and the coffee was not great. The service is as all customer service in S. Jersey unimpressive. Coffee when I ordered my food and refilled when the food was brought. Never checked on in between and at the end here is the check no would you like more coffee. Sorry you are too far away from the beach to have meh service. I do not plan on returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nighthawkasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great, unexpected find!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Bongo, a new restaurant in OCNJ is a real find. Beach blanket decor, casual atmosphere but way better than expected food. Owner is a nutritionist and there is a good selection of vegetarian and VEGAN as well. Very varied choice. Serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Tonight we had Mahi Tacos, Maple Glazed Salmon, Sushi Tuna sandwich, and a grilled tuna salad. Last time it was an excellent grilled sandwich and a perfect Panko crusted fish and chips. Ben & Jerry's ice cream is available as well as home made desserts.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nskaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongo Cafe & Grille also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing