We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

we booked the villa milano suite for a 3-night trip to ocnj (our 9-month-old's first trip to the beach!). it was absolutely perfect for our small family. we brought our own pack n play and set it up in the living room which has a door that closes it off from the rest of the suite. that way the baby could sleep and we still had use of the bedroom/tv/kitchen/bathroom. the suite even has its own entrance from the sidewalk so was very easy to get in and out with the stroller and various beach gear.
despite being on the ground floor of a somewhat busy corner the room was exceptionally quiet. it was clean with plush towels, a fully equipped kitchen and a very comfortable bed. to be honest the main reason i booked this b&b was because it was one of the only ones i could find with a separate room for the baby to sleep, but it ended up being far beyond my expectations and we will definitely return! delicious breakfast, friendly owner (val) and overall just a perfect stay. other reviewers complain about being "nickel and dimed" but we did not find this the case. in fact, when the manager realized we brought our own crib and didn't use the pull out bed, he refunded us the $50 per night charge for the third person (baby) in the room. a nice surprise at checkout! reviewers also complain the breakfast takes too long. sure, it takes about 45 mins. but we ate outside on the porch and didn't mind the wait. everyone on staff was very friendly to the baby too. highly recommend. we'll go back next year!

Room Tip: villa milano has a separate living room with a pull out sofa - perfect for kids to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nylon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased that your long trip from New York City was well worth it to enjoy Ocean City. We are glad to have contributed to your family vacation.

Val Reyes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    40
    17
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
196
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

First off, the building and the rooms are lovely, with very nice furnishings and well appointed. The breakfast experience of the food (which comes with the room) was very good. After that, it all falls apart. There is no one there to check you in-several people were locked out of the building and one even wandered into our downstairs apartment asking to check in.
Afternoon refreshments were promised, which never materialized-there was supposed to be sangria, lemonade, etc. They did come out very late one afternoon, apparently. How do I know? The detritus was still there in the am at breakfast service at 9:30. Breakfast service is abysmal-they have lots of nice teas-however you need to take your cup from the table, go to another to pick a tea, go somewhere else to get hot water (if they have any), find somewhere to put your tea bag after picking it out of your cup with your hands, then get up again and find some creamer. Might a small creamer on the table solve this? Of course everyone is waiting inline and bumping into each other.
Same is true with butter and jam-you take a common jar of jam from the table as there is not a way to take any out; this causes butter and crumbs to be in the common jar-very distasteful.
The "cleaning" of the room consists of making the bed-no changing of towels, refreshing the supplies or taking out the garbage. there were 5 of that used one small bar of soap all 3 nights. We never did get any shampoo. Oh well, at least it was a cloudy day and the beach was crowded????

Room Tip: right on a very busy street. Might be too noisy for some, especially on the ground floor, as people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaramcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
If I referred to this review as "obnoxious," it would be as unreasonable as the reviewer's use of "absentee owner" and "abysmal" in this review.

"Absentee owner" suggests prolonged absence. My rare 3 days away from the Inn coincided with Reviewer's (and company's) stay in the 2-BR apartment, Villa Portofino. Reviewer would call, but refused to speak to the Inn's manager about the deficiencies for easy correction;
rather Reviewer saved up her comments, perhaps, to mention here instead. Why ruin a vacation in this manner? Reviewer repeatedly called hoping to reach me. I did interrupt my trip to return her call, which is not mentioned here at all.

This review is written over 20 days after departure and does not allow us to respond properly, since staff cannot remember that far back. But below are my comments:

1) Guests do wander around the building and sometimes knock on the Apartment doors - our apologies. Reviewer was properly checked-in. Manager was, in fact, repairing their villa's patio door, damaged by the departing guest, when they arrived.
2) Our courtesy afternoon refreshments and snacks were available, as always at around 4:30 pm. Reviewer sort of demanded Sangria saying it was promised to her, an outright misconception on her part. Manager did provide the sangria then and on subsequent days, but we feel this triggered all the Reviewer's negativity. To soothe further, we delivered complimentary red wine to their apartment.
3) "Abysmal" is quite hard to grasp for our a la carte breakfast service which is widely complimented. There are 2 reviews following this Reviewer's posting, doing just that.
Reviewer requested tea and she was advised there were at least 20 fine teas and some 12 Amish Country jellies and jams at the buffet. There may have been, indeed, a guest or 2 ahead of reviewer at the fresh fruit/fine tea buffet, but rarely is it more. We require reservations to minimize traffic "jams."
4) Towels are replaced if on the floor, or in the tub as our "Go Green" sign says. Ample bath supplies were under vanity sink. Reviewer stayed 3 nights and she could have saved
unnecessary consternation had she spoken with staff.

Our staff bent over backwards for this party. There could have been nothing else we could have done additionally.

Val Reyes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms are very nicely furnished and the breakfast is very good. Access is difficult to rooms on upper levels. There is a winding narrow staircase you are shown to use including carring your luggage. There is a rear more usable staircase but you are not told about it. on the second floor to get to it you have to know it is behind a door marked "private". Rooms 9 and 10 are on the third floor wtih a very steep staircase to get there. There is no actual check in or check out. They need a desk in the livingroom with someone to check you in rather than roam through the place to find someone. They send you a statement. The staff was summer help who knew little about operating a guest facility and were not dressed appropriately.

Room Tip: Use the staircase in the rear of the first floor. Don't get room 9 or 10 unless you want to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We thank reviewer for compliments on room, breakfast and the high rating. We use a local uniform company which was damaged by Hurricane Sandy, and uniform delivery was drastically late and shorted. Following your comments, I made our uniform rules stricter.

The "standard" rear staircase you mentioned is a "private" service staircase and is used by staff to transport linen, trash and supplies. We limit guest use due to the obvious risks of accidents. I agree, the 114-year old circular staircase is challenging, but most find it charming and navigable.

We do run around a lot here for a million details and are not always stationed in the lobby area. But all staff are reachable by mobile phones, and service is guaranteed within seconds.

Val Reyes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It had been over twenty years since we visited Ocean City, NJ, and my sister found the Atlantis Inn via the net. The Inn is very beautifully decorated which helps to create the luxurious affect. The breakfast was delicious and in the afternoons we enjoyed fruit and sangria in the main sitting room. Despite all these amenities our stay would not have been complete without the manager, Michael. This young man was a wealth of information for any question we asked of him and his personality was so pleasant and fun it was contagious. The owner is very fortunate to have this manager represent the Atlantis Inn so well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I will pass on to the manager and staff your compliments and satisfaction.

Val Reyes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I went to the Atlantis Inn for a short anniversary trip. He and I were in a car accident on our way there so needless to say our day did not start out well. Imagine our surprise when we get there and find out parking is 3 BLOCKS away! The last thing we wanted to do after a day like that was walk three blocks back to the inn. But we figured it was free parking so we let it go. Much to our surprise...it was not free parking! On the day of our departure we were charged for the parking as well as the room. We paid over $1000 for three nights at the inn to be charged for parking???

Breakfast was decent. The buffet spread was good and the menu selections were as well. There were a few things that frustrated me there as well. First you had to schedule breakfast...you're given a choice of 8, 8:30, 9 or 9:30. Most b&b's give you a time frame when breakfast is served and you can show up anytime during that time frame. Also looking at the menu if you wanted extra meat...for example extra bacon was $5 DOLLARS?!? Seriously? Again paid $1000 for the 3 night stay and if you want extra meat with your breakfast you get charged?

Finally the room. Little to complain about there. The room was really nice with a jacuzzi and spa shower, big bed, and nice tv. The only thing that kind of frustrated me is that most B&B's have a selection of movies you can choose from to watch in the evening after you're done with running around. Not here. There is no sheet with directions and channels for the tv either so you have to figure our how to work it yourself.

Lastly in the inn itself you may not bring food...at all. There is no food allowed in the room so no late evening snacks. There is a mini fridge on the second floor for drinks only. You cannot even bring leftovers from a restaurant! Honestly as nice as the room was there are too many rules and charges considering what we paid. The only part of the luxury was really the room, not so much the service. We will most likely not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Reviewer called enroute regarding parking and were advised to first pick up parking tag at the Inn, which they did. Fees were explained again, as they have been in two emails. A printed map (also containing the fees) was provided. Reviewer now claims ignorance of both parking proximity and fees? The 3 blocks to the lot is the nearest OVERNIGHT lot available. It is either this lot, or a rare street parking spot in peak season.This parking issue has been addressed in our TripAdvisor responses repeatedly. Somehow, visitors do not agonize over $30-$45 overnight parking fees for Manhattan, Philadelphia or Washington, DC, but curiously, they do for Ocean City. Even nearby Atlantic City charges for parking. We suggest that visitors budget for parking, which in our case, is $18.50, unlimited 24-hour in/out.

We do not charge for extra pieces of bacon (in fact, we can't remember when we have had to). Sausage, bacon or ham are included in most breakfast plates, but if you do want extra side plates of them, we do charge like other food establishments. Unfortunately, we have limited seating in the breakfast room and the veranda, thus the need for reservations. As reviewer enumerated, the seating times are rather abundant.

Regarding TV channels, our Comcast remotes have GUIDE buttons for the channel list. And yes, we have a complimentary DVD library, which reviewer could have enjoyed, had she asked.

Reviewer feels that we have too many rules. We disagree. Breakfast reservations are a matter of practicality; dining in our suites is discouraged due to the delicate fabrics that require dry cleaning in case of spills and stains, which render the room unsellable. Of course, snacks are not prohibited.

We thank the reviewer for her compliments on their suite, which is our most high-end accommodation, the Versailles, and we hope that they had a great anniversary otherwise.

Val Reyes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I usually do not write reviews but I feel compelled to based on my experience at the not luxury Atlantis Inn. My wife and I were looking forward to a nice quiet and luxury weekend away from the kids. Check in is from 3:00pm. We arrived at 3:45. I rang the doorbell and nobody answered. On the door is a note that says something like call us if we do not answer the door because we might hear the bell. Well as I was about to call when another guest came out and let us in. I was told that the innkeeper had left and there was an envelope for us on the desk. No wonder you don't here the doorbell. Nobody is there 45 minutes after it is time to check in. This did not go over well with us at all. At other B&B's we were greeted by a lovely person to show us to our room and around the inn. NOT HERE!!!! We had to do everything ourselves. About 2 hours later we went out when I received a call from someone at the Inn to see how our room was. 2 hours later someone returned to the inn. The only time we saw any staff was during breakfast and another time I will mention later. Are you kidding me!!!!!

After settling in, I learned that parking was over 3 blocks away. We used it the first day but not second day because it was so far. When I arrived home I was charged for using the parking lot both days at $18.50/day. There is plenty of street parking at night when everyone leaves the beach and boardwalk.

Although the room was clean, it was not anything special. The bathroom is the same size as the bedroom. The fancy TV is about a 16" flat screen sitting on top of the fireplace. Not only is it a small TV but part of the bed blocks it from view when laying down. You can here everything when you are in your room or the hallway. The walls must be so thin. You could here people coming and going and make out their conversations clearly. Not very private if you are looking for something romantic and intimate. The best part of the inn is the nice view from the rooftop deck. My wife went up there the first night. There was some other guests up there and one of the innkeepers was up there partying with the guests. Again, are you serious. I couldn't believe she told me that.

The breakfast is not anything special either. There is a buffet style setup for fruit, cereal, coffee, etc. We ordered from the menu and it took a half an hour to get it. We could make a better breakfast at home. It definitely was not gourmet.

We will not be going back to The Atlantis Inn. It is way overpriced and you get nothing for your money. A hotel with a continental breakfast would have been a better option. They have there own parking by your room which is included in the cost of room. Not $18.50/day and over 3 blocks away. Plus at a hotel you expect to carry your own bags, find your room and have an average breakfast. You don't expect any of this at a B&B.

IF YOU ARE READING THIS, DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND LOOK ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pa1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonmainmanasquan, Owner at Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
The Atlantis Inn has recently been awarded TripAdvisor’s 2013 Certificate of Excellence, making it two years in a row, the only lodging in Ocean City, NJ with such distinction.

On a very beautiful late Friday night, many guests assembled around our glowing roofdeck fireplace that overlooks the boardwalk’s dazzling Ferris Wheel. Guests pulled chairs together to huddle around and socialize. The innkeeper was there, too, as he should have been, to socialize. And as well, to watch over the fire. Reviewer’s wife joined the group for an hour -without the reviewer- who, wife said preferred to watch television. In his review, our 30” Flat Screen dimihishes into a 16” dwarf.

As I have posted here before, guests never arrive when they say they will and we avoid our staff standing idly by the main lobby. We seem to have missed the reviewer at check-in as he decided to check himself in, after spotting key envelopes. Staff was surely checking other guests at around the time and giving them arrival tours. Guests do generally ring the doorbell, wait a minute or two, sit in the lobby to enjoy a welcome refreshment, or they call the main number for assistance. As reported, Innkeeper contacted guest as soon as he noted the missing envelope and also to ascertain breakfast reservations.

Numerous TripAdvisor reviews compliment our breakfast service. Our standard is 45 minutes completed; reviewer complains about 30-min service in a sold-out establishment?

Regarding parking, most municipal lots prohibit overnights, and our offsite parking is the nearest that you can, which unfortunately, is 3 blocks away. If a guest requests 2 nights, we prepay it for him. Reviewer committed to this, and had remorse when he found street parking, perhaps, very late at night.


Finally, there is housekeeping staff until early evening, whereupon, a manager on duty takes over. Is it “face time” that the reviewer seeks? Mind you, there are many guests that we don’t even see in the course of their stay, no matter how much we await their appearance. A phone call does reach staff or manager anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our first time at the Atlantis and we loved it!! We stayed in the Cordoba - nice room with private rooftop entrance - loved that!
The establishment is beautifully maintained and very welcoming! I enjoyed the rooftop deck!
Breakfast each morning was top notch! Kudos to their chef!!
We also enjoyed very much the company and welcoming hospitality of Mike the manager! He made our stay! Thanks Mike!
We will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRBMCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#7 of 20 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#3 of 20 in Ocean City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B

Property: Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Address: 601 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3844
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 B&B & #1 Luxury Inn at the South Jersey Shore/ Winner of "BEST OF THE BEST" Award, this upscale Inn is Ocean City's newest and most exquisite and luxurious place to stay! Conveniently located right on the Beach block, the Inn offers 12 King/Queen Luxury Suites & 2 Italian Apartment Villas with luxury bedding, upscale amenities, some with Jacuzzi tubs, spa showers, & fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast, on-site spa services, & rooftop deck with ocean views. Rated by AAA as a 3-Diamond Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Inn Luxury Hotel Ocean City
Atlantis Inn Luxury Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing