We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahiti Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahiti Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

We stayed here in 2004 and are returning in 2005 because the place we think is wonderful we never had a problem..We rent the 2 bedroom apartment which I think is very well taken care of...It is within walking distance of almost everything....I would reccomens this to anyone looking to stay in Ocean City New Jersey.....I always found the Management to be very helpful....My girlfriend came down last year while we were here and liked it so much she also rented an apartment for this summer....I give the Tahiti 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    29
    13
    19
See reviews for
98
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

The location is hard to beat, being half a block from the beach and boardwark and $145. Parking was fine for us. It was clean. We did have one large bug, but its to be expected with concrete and pool nearby. They were good about cleaning the room. We did have the problem with not being able to open our shades without the whole pool area seeing us. Pool is smallish for number of people. Surprisingly quiet for being poolside, but then again we leave our fan/ac running to help drown out any noise. We enjoyed what seemed like a somewhat more mellow crowd, maybe due to it being a dry town. People still were enjoying beers they brought with them. You still have to leave $20 deposit for phone, remote, keys and car tag. There are definitely are some things they could do to upgrade the place a bit. The small fridge in the room was handy, but no coffee maker and no coffee served in the lobby. So first thing in the morning we had to walk up to the boardwark just to get some tea and coffee. Luckily there is a restaurant right at the boardwalk. They also need hair dryers in the room and the paper bath mat is ridiculous. Also, a sheer second curtain or half curtain would solve the privacy problem with the windows. I'd stay again, my 85 year old Mom, my two daughters and I, enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blgdabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

A few friends and I just recently stayed at the Tahiti Inn for three nights. I must say that we were majorly disappointed. When we walked in the main office for check in the manager of the hotel was screaming about some of her employees and complaining about most of them, which i found highly unprofessional. We then proceeded to check in and our room was not ready until a half hour after they told us we could have it. The water fall bridge you walk over out front was completely disgusting and didn't seem like it has been cleaned for years. The pool which was supposed to be heated was freezing cold and there were dead bugs in one of our beds. One of the lights were broken in our room and when they came in to clean the room the next day they didn't replace our towels. We were extremely disgusted the whole time and needless to say we won't be making a return trip there. The only good point....and i mean only....... was that it was very close to the beach and boardwalk. So if you don't mind feeling like you are staying at a campground rather then a hotel the Tahiti Inn is right for you.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShannonSeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Tahiti Inn a few times last summer. We wanted to stay at nicer hotels, but they all have that 21 or older age restriction. After some research, we were reccomended to stay at the Tahiti Inn. The price is good, its right on the boardwalk, the rooms are clean. Not many complaints. The rooms are a bit small, along with the pool, but other than that its a great place to stay if no other place will allow you to. You will have to pay a security deposit though, along with the possibility of wearing a wristband the whole time so they know you arent a visitor.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2005

This past summer was the second year in a row I had stayed at the Tahiti Inn. We didn't have any complaints the first summer, other than having to rent the t.v. remote which you know longer have to do, but this past year a few small issues occurred. First, the air conditioner was on a fritz. Supposedly maintenance came and checked it while we were out one afternoon, but there was no difference. Second, compared to the bathroom we had two years ago, this bathroom was tiny. Third, we actually paid extra for a "pool side" room, but little did I know, the pool side room literally faced pool side and once you went to the window, everybody in the pool area was staring in the room, we couldn't even keep our curtain open. Finally, the biggest complaint was the parking. The first summer, we had no problem whatsoever, however one night there was no parking in the main lot so we had to park in the less convenient nearby lot the hotel rents out. Other than that, the hotel room was decent, and it really is a great location to the beach and boardwalk. I would recommend this hotel if you don't need everything to be perfect, just decent.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcr115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2004

We spent two nights at the Tahiti in July. The room was terrible. Dirty faucets, dirty floor in the bathroom, which was so small you could not move without bumping your elbows. The towels were threadbare, the bathmat was paper. The refrigerator smelled so strongly of fish that the management replaced it with another unit. They will not give you a room number when you make your reservation and believe me they gave us the worst room. The other rooms might be better but I'll never stay there again to find out. Also the parking is pathetic. We had to park in the public lot beside and behind the hotel. All this was way overpriced and on top of it all they tried to charge us for phone calls we didn't make. Turns out it was the people who occupied the room before us and we had to stand in the office and wait while they called the phone numbers to verify that the people called did not know us. This was insulting. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2004

This looked like a nice place on the outside, but it was one big disappointment. It was by no means reasonable, and we would not have minded that except that the room was so shabby. The floor was so dirty that we never let our children take their shoes off, their feet would get black. We needed a lightbulb for lighting and it was like pulling teeth.
The pool seemed so over used and dingy. It needs an update and freshening up. I would rather stay home.

Helpful?
8 Thank Nicki 707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Inn

Property: Tahiti Inn
Address: 12th and Ocean Avenue, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Tahiti Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing