We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tahiti Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahiti Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

We spend five days at the Tahiti Inn in one of their apartment rentals. The until was cleaned and the kitchen had plenty of dishes and utensils so you didn't have to go out and buy any. The location is perfect and we enjoyed the hotel pool every day. We found the office staff courteous and helpful whenever we needed anything. Overall it was a wonderful value for the money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms need some updating.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littlebearhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    29
    13
    19
See reviews for
98
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

I have stayed at Tahiti Inn three summers in a row. I have accepteed the rude front desk and emploees because the location of beach and boards is perfect. However this year i realized i deserve to be a Guest and not treated so rudely. At check in the man was ignorant..,not even somewhat friendly. Then the room smelled...drawers smelled so musty i could not put my clothes in there. As for parking....they are all about making money off the lot they own connected to motel.. They do not have enough motel spots for paying guests because they flip sign that says "motel guest" and allow visitos to park there. I do not recommend this motel to anyone. oh and the pool smelled like urine and we had huge termites in our room. I could keep going and going. I will miss convience of this motel but I will not miss being treated so terrible.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else but location...lack of parking, smelly room with termites, rude front desk
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sham0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

After ten plus years staying here, we would not stay anyplace else. Great deal for the money - Location incredible, Real nice pool for non-beach days. Under-cover parking. Owner lives on premises. WE have not had anything but the greatest courtesy by the owner's family. Not a lot of amenities, but check the prices of the other hotels! This is way cheaper!!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmroseWestChester_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

My family and I booked a 3-night vacation here. we checked in at 1:10pm and was given room 112, which was overwhelmed by the foul stench of cat urine. I informed the manager and she offered me another room which smelled damp and musty. Her excuse was due to the pool and the stench of cat urine in room 112 was caused by cleaning powder. This is completely unacceptable !!! My 10 year old son is an asthmatic and I decided not to risk his health and the rooms were disgusting. I demanded my money back,she refused and refunded me $329.80 and kept $135.00 as a deposit/cancellation fee, after only being on the property for 45 minutes. I needed to leave due to unhealthy conditions and I should have been fully refunded. what happened at the Tahiti Inn was unacceptable and I wanted to write this review and inform as many people as I can. Do not stay here !!!!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank GMOMYOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

If you look at their web site for September 3-8, you will see $80 per room max. But when I called on the 8th to book the last room, it was $170. The reason was "it is the last room". The Jersey shore is barely worth $80 off season in my opinion, but to be gouged after advertising another price is unethical. Look for another place.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

I was in Ocean City over Labor Day Weekend for a wedding and stayed at the Tahiti Inn along with about half the other people from the wedding. I grew up in South Jersey and have been to Ocean City on numerous occasions, but this was the first time at the Tahiti Inn. It was the worst hotel I have ever been in (and this includes hostels in Europe and those motels right before you get into Atlantic City). From the start the staff was rude when we checked in. The price of the room was $145 a night. And the room itself hasn't been updated since the place was built. To add insult to injury, when we complained, Mario Gallelli, the owner, told us we weren't welcome there and called the police. The police said there was nothing that was wrong with the guests and that we were permitted to stay. I would recommend that anyone planning a trip to Ocean City find another establishment to stay at.

  • Liked — Location to the boardwalk
  • Disliked — The owner and staff.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GeoffCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

My husband, one year old son and I stayed 3 nights at the Tahiti Inn. Like many others, we were skeptical when booking this hotel as it didn't receive great reviews and we've never been to Ocean City, NJ before. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not it. However, this hotel was extremely clean and in a great location. The rooms were very plain and not the biggest but served their purpose. The pool was small and sometimes crowded, but only for short times and the pool and deck were very clean. Hotel staff were constantly on the property and available should you need anything. The rooms and grounds of this hotel were spotless. The hotel is literally very few steps to the boardwalk and the beach (it takes about 1 minute to walk there). There were no problems with parking (spaces are tight like any other property). We had a great time and were pleased with our accomodations, including the price!!!!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no restaurant on site
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Inn

Property: Tahiti Inn
Address: 12th and Ocean Avenue, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Tahiti Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing