We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impala Island Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My husband, 5 year old son and 7 year old daughter stayed for three nights in mid August 2008. The price, cleanliness, parking and location can not be beaten. I took Lysol wipes to wipe down the place but could not find a speck of dirt, not even on the bathroom floor. The blankets, pillows, mattresses and box springs seemed new. The room size was nice with just the table. They had an outside bathroom and showers to change in before and after checking into the place. The grounds were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was great. The Inn is located within a few blocks of great restaurants on and off the board walk. We stayed on the side of the building next to the amusement park but the air conditioning unit almost covered the sounds from the rides and riders. The air conditioning unit was no louder nor quieter than any other hotel room unit and it worked well. The pools were easily accessed and clean. Getting to the beach was a breeze because the motel is at the boardwalk ramp and on the other side are stairs to the beach, right next to a life guard. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank jswshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

The best thing about the Impala Island Inn is the close proximity to the boardwalk and beach. It's not oceanfront, but it's right at the end of the ramp leading to the boardwalk. If you have kids, it's directly next to the Playland Amusement Park, and there is a kiddie pool on the property for very small children. The rooms are clean. The pool closes officially at 6pm, so you don't have to worry about late night noise from that. There is a tiny refrigerator, but no microwave. A few things the Impala doesn't have that most hotels do have; an iron and ironing board and a bible. The hotel restaurant, The Blooming Tulip, is pretty good with really good breakfast choices. Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, but for short visits only.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ARNLED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Impala Island Inn is an average, old fashioned hotel. For us, the great location made up for what it lacked in luxury.

We did have a hard time communicating with the cleaning staff. I believe they were Eastern European and still learning English. But the room was clean and we received the extra towels we requested.

The one side of the hotel is located directly behind a small amusement park. Some might find it a nuisance, but I really liked watching the Ferris wheel light up at night. The beach and boardwalk are less than 2 blocks away, which made it the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuddingPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This property is I guess what you'd expect for paying middle of the road in a beach town. The style is old fashioned roadside motel, they still don't even have key card entry. Parking was a huge pain, we had to park down the street because the lot was too small. Half of the hotel is on the opposite side of the street, so when we checked in late we had to walk across the street to find our room in the dark - there was no street lighting. The room was a nice size and clean, but very old looking - nothing fancy by far. I guess you get what you pay for. Although the location was nice, directly in the middle of the boardwalk and only about a half of a block from it. I'm not sure if I'd stay here again, I might spend a little more and get something a little nicer!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank esa138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Just came back from Impala for Memorial Day with husband and 2 toddlers. Hotel is clean, organized and friendly. 3 minutes to boardwalk and rides. Rooms are roomy and clean. Got extra pillows in a snap. Pool has plenty of chairs and life guard. Able to get a 2 day reservation last minute. The walk up to Boardwalk is right in the center, so we walked one way one day and one way the other day. Will just stay here from now on.
Thanks Impala!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommyNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

I love this hotel, it's like my home away from home whenever I'm in Ocean City. My grandparents stayed here with my mother and aunt when they were children and the tradition of staying here has continued from there. The rooms are clean, nice pool, and is located just feet from the boardwalk. Recommend anyone with children to stay here! Best of the best in Ocean City!!

Stayed: August 2004
1  Thank Rinbin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

PROS: Room was very clean; great location..right in the middle of the boardwalk; no streets to cross to get to the beach; whenever we called for more towels, etc., it was brought quickly.
CONS: Room was a little small for 1 adult and 3 teens, however, that was all that was available when I booked; shower was a little narrow; parking tight, dorm type refrigerator.
All in all, we had a great time and I would stay then again in a heartbeat, but would like to try one of the apartments.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbsdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 31 in Ocean City
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3341
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $151 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Impala Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is a vacationer's island indeed. Located in the heart of America's greatest family resort within the beach block, this intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of our accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool. Each room has homelike amenities that include a refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, color cable TV and two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa, making every guest's stay at the Impala Island Inn a relaxing and leisurely experience. Activities close to our apartments include sailing and kayaking, boat rides, jet ski rentals, surfing, bicycling, golf, arcades and a variety of amusement parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Impala Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing