We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest staff and accommodations!”
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impala Island Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We researched the whole Island of Ocean City, NJ for accommodations for our family reunion in June 2012. After comparing location, value, and cleanliness we decided to book at Impala Island Inn. We were not disappointed! Our rooms were completely renovated and the location was fabulous! I cannot say enough about the staff especially Karen the manager and the maid services. In a day and age where customer service is average at best; Karen really proved that great customer service still exists and excels at Impala Island Inn! Our family was very pleased with the entire stay and we would highly recommend the Impala Island Inn!

Room Tip: "Rooms and balcony on the North side are private and quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsimp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Impala Inn many times and have yet to have a bad stay. The rooms have always been clean and the location is excellent. The prices are a little higher then some of the other motels in the area, but the rooms are also a little bit nicer.

They have two pools, one heated and they don't keep the open all night. This is great for me, as I have stayed at places in OC that had pool noises at 11:00 at night.

Their restaurant in nothing special and there are much better values within walking distance.

If I am not doing a B&B, this is where we stay.

Room Tip: The prices are different depending on the view. Don't waste money on a view unless you plan on s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillySon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is obviously worn and in need of a renovation. They provide fridges but there's no tiny freezer for ice packs. The rooms were of good size and clean. Beds were pretty comfy too. The bathrooms need a bit of work. If you're tall, the shower is going to be a challenge. FYI, the parking spaces are super tight so watch-out. The staff were very nice which is always good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stef9371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great place for families right next to boardwalk and beach. Rates very reasonable for size of room. Amazingly soft towels for a beach hotel. Pools nice - access to both - but main pool is shaded by about 3pm in the summer. We'd definitely return. The only bummer was that maid service came so early each day we were often still in the room.

Room Tip: Queen Deluxe rooms have two doubles and a pull out couch. Great for larger families. Comes with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyvdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were very disappointed in our stay here. The room looked so old and did not feel clean at all. We had bleach stains all over the carpet. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and I am not picky about beds. On our second day, the police made a visit to the room 4 days down from us... not a very relaxing atmosphere, for sure. At that point, I asked to pay the difference to move to one of their other properties but was told they were all booked up. We checked out yesterday, 7/7/12 and upon our return home we found (so far) 2 dead bed bugs in our luggage. I called to inform them, and was met with a very cavalier attitude that there was nothing they could do other than to check the room for them. I replied that I hope they would plan to check the room! Wouldn't that be a given, in over to avoid future guests experiencing this nightmare? The manager honestly seemed as though she couldn't care less. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

We use a very reputable extermination company and they pre-treat all our rooms for bed bugs. After you notified our office, we contacted them and they came out immediately and confirmed that there was no evidence of bed bug activity.

As to the police visit during your stay, a neighboring guest did have have a medical emergency and they were responding to the call.

The Impala Island Inn prides itself in our cleanliness. Some of our units are slated for renovations this fall, but we pay the same detailed attention to cleaning of all our units. Once again, we are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Impala Island Inn is in a great location--near the amusement park and fun of the Ocean City boardwalk. The rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable, and large enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. We spent a night there due to a power failure following the terrible storm here in South Jersey. They offered adjoining rooms to our family and made sure we had everything we needed. We enjoyed the boardwalk, and the two pools on the property. They also have a cute roof-top terrace, perfect for relaxing with snacks from the boardwalk. This is a comfortable family inn perfect for the atmosphere of Ocean City. Thank you Impala!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I read the reviews after I made last minute reservations, I was scared!! The Impala Island was GREAT. Room large, clean, beds comfy. Nothing was wrong, staff VERY friendly. The price was right. It was very close to beach, beach tags were included, but there are 3 pools also. We loved it will recommend it ans will return.

Room Tip: Our room was across the street from main motel, next to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g-mom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#7 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 31 in Ocean City
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3341
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $151 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Impala Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is a vacationer's island indeed. Located in the heart of America's greatest family resort within the beach block, this intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of our accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool. Each room has homelike amenities that include a refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, color cable TV and two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa, making every guest's stay at the Impala Island Inn a relaxing and leisurely experience. Activities close to our apartments include sailing and kayaking, boat rides, jet ski rentals, surfing, bicycling, golf, arcades and a variety of amusement parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Impala Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing