We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK not as good as Browns”

Fractured Prune Ocean
Ranked #1 of 10 Bakeries in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: An Independent, Incensed Fractured Prune Legacy Store. Hot- Hand made donuts made to order
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK not as good as Browns”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Newer place about a year old. The people who run the place areall very friendly. Good variety of hot donuts and toppings, but a little more expensive. Our families just did not care for this as much as Browns.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelGuest_1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for your next visit to Ocean City!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

These donuts are so delicious. They hand dip the donuts in a variety of favors/toppings that you choose. They are served warm which is really a treat. Go early otherwise there will be a wait since it takes time to hand dip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaESF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Run”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the second visit to the Fractured Prune. We stopped by and picked up a menu the day before we left Ocean City for MA. The kids carefully pre-selected the donuts they wanted to make so that we could quickly stop in the morning before our 6 hour drive. The process of building your own donuts was exciting and even more so with the anticipation of having to wait until the next morning to see their actual creations. The donuts were warm and exceeded everyone's expectations. The menu even has an area to write in your creations. The cost of the donuts is comparative to major donut chains and much larger.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Donut Ever!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Easily the best donuts we've ever had! Fresh, thick, homemade donuts are covered with your choice of 20 plus glazes and toppings. There are also 20 or so suggested types. You watch them glaze and coat your donuts while you wait. A single donut was around $1.50, a half dozen was around $6.50, and a dozen was $12. I highly suggest the dozen because one won't be enough! You will not be dissaointed! At one of the ends of Asbury Street. Easy parking in front. Go!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wowed the kids...”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The concept of building your own donut was a big hit with our kids and their crowd of teenage friends. My wife found the brochure among the countless that were provided when we arrived at our Ocean City rental unit. She immediately began planning for the morning our guests would be able to construct their own breakfast treat. One evening, during dinner she proposed the idea, which was met with energetic enthusiasm. Each person carefully studied the list of glazes and toppings and scribbled down their selections. She even made a game of selecting two additional donuts with the most unusual combination of ingredients.

The donut shop was clean and efficient when we arrived early the next morning. The shop was initially empty, but more customers came in as we were waiting. Four donut engineers were on hand to “help.” We gave them our list and they set about making the fourteen donuts, fresh to order. More customers arrived as we waited.

The donuts were warm and gooey; gone in seconds. Everyone seemed pleased with their creations.

I wasn’t as impressed, albeit, I’m not much of a heavy-breakfast eater or donut connoisseur. I selected a banana glaze with coconut and powdered sugar. Now, it was a good donut, but with all of the hype, I guess I expected more. The donut itself seemed relatively small as compared to the pictures on the brochure and there wasn’t much glaze. Maybe it was my ingredient selections that resulted in a “simply-adequate” donut.

Next time, I’ll need to be more adventurous and go with something more decadent like chocolate glaze with bacon bits and cinnamon sugar!

Then again, maybe not.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunt201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fractured Prune Ocean also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Been to Fractured Prune Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing