We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Ocean City”
Review of Coral Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Sands
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Value in Ocean City”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our second year staying at the Coral Sands.

First of all, the rates can't be beat - only a block from the boardwalk center yet extremely affordable. The room was large and clean with both a refrigerator and a microwave. WIFI was fantastic and free. Two beds, a desk,bureau, table and three chairs more than met our needs.

The friendly owners live on-site and gave us personal service being very concerned that we enjoyed our stay. We WILL be back next year!

rich and laurie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
77
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked this motel for the location to the beach, price, as well as the positive reviews but those positive reviews must come from people who live in a trailer park. This was the worst place I have ever stayed, EVER. I have been coming to OC since I was a child - that is at least 30 years. We stayed one night in the Efficiency. Let me start with the walk to the room, the narrow walkway is lined with pots full of sand and cigarettes and you literally bump the legs of people sitting on a bench smoking outside of their room. I wanted to vomit before I even got to the room. The parking lot is extremely small and does not accommodate SUVs well. Sure the owners are nice and accomodating but they need to put a lot of work into this place. The room smelled awful like cigarettes and mildew. There is no bathtub so beware for families there is no way to bath small children. The room is dark bc the windows have opaque panels on them that may or may not open. I could only get one open. There is a wicker chair in this room for seating whose cushion is black with filth and the chair itself is broken. I was actually disgusted by the bedding. There is a small additional room attached that gets no light because of the window a/c unit. I was also uncomfortable with the fact that the small bedroom's door does not lock from the inside (but there was a chain) and therefore a fun discovery for my 2 year old. Everywhere you look there is something broken or has a cigarette burn in it. Even the lamp shade had a tear in it. My best suggestion is the gut the place and start over. Everything is so dated and old. I'm sorry for the terrible review but hopefully it is a wake up call. With a location as great as this one this property should invest some money and update (and fumigate).

Room Tip: Don't choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stay in the motel...one block from the beach....for 4 nights.
It is an older beach motel and not fancy at all, but it was clean
and roomy with queen size bed, 2 chairs and table, desk and
chair, TV, microwave and refrigerator. Plenty of towels, 4 pillows
and an extra blanket, shampoo and soap. Room was cleaned
daily. Manager was very nice, available, and accomodating.
Location was Perfect.....a short walk to the boardwalk and beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllentownBarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatboro pa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

price and value for this location can't be beat... the service was so friendly

Room Tip: check online specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephrata
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

It is very clean, very close to boardwalk and beach. Staff is very friendly and very willing to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacys69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My family stayed here for years. We stay in the duplex. It is awesome. It has everything we need. It is a block from the boardwalk and beach. One of the nice things is when you walk to the boardwalk you are right in the middle of everything. You do not have to walk blocks to get to the action. The people are so friendly. I feel like part of the family. If there are any problems, they take care of it in record time. Even when the coffee maker broke, we had a new one in an hour. I have already booked for next year and hopefully for many years to come.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed for a night, and only booked because of generally good reviews on Tripadvisor, but must say it was not a good experience. The pros are the price and the location, being very close to the beach and boards. Otherwise, the room was very dated, musty and not pleasant. The parking lot is very tight, especially for minivan or SUV owners. Oh, another pro was Rich, the guy who checked us in - he was cool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#22 of 32 in Ocean City
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands

Property: Coral Sands
Address: 709 E 9th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3553
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you and your family are planing to come to the Beach and Boardwalk at Ocean City, New Jersey, stay at a clean, comfortable, family oriented staffed accommodation with security, Coral Sands is an Ocean City Hotel Motel, having Seasonal Duplex House Rentals, Apartment, Efficiency Room, Beach Block Lodging, Jersey Shore Family Vacation, Pet Friendly, On SiTE Restaurant, Free Parking. Closed for season November till April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing