We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed here on the Columbus day weekend. The location is great, right on the boardwalk and across the beach. It is on a quiet part of the boardwalk. The manager was friendly and recommended a couple of good restaurants. We had lost our car keys and the manger actually mailed them back to us. This place is not very fancy, it is basic and the rooms are clean. You get what you pay for, a good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraholt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    123
    49
    18
    26
See reviews for
190
92
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had a nice stay, they were clean and had everything we needed

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I took a chance and booked two nights after reading this place was ranked #3, found out first hand that this place was a dump. It should have been listed last. What can I tell you, parking spots were tight, rooms were cramped, bathrooms out-dated, towels were hard & old. Breakfast was a joke, stale English muffins, thrift bake goods, no juice and water down coffee. When we checked in to the room, we noticed the toilet was clogged, call the front desk, the manager came to fix it, after plunging the bowl, he walked out with the plunger dripping all over the carpet - what an !diot. The rooms were not very cleaned, I found it odd that only one person was cleaning the entire hotel and she was done by 3pm. OC is really a nice place, too bad it was big disappointment in staying here. If this is your first time visiting OC, do yourself a favor and stay anywhere but this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachpeople_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

If you're looking for a great location you can't get much better than this hotel. If you're also looking for a clean and smoke free room look elsewhere. The room was no where near as clean as it could be and although we had a smoke free room all the smoking on the deck got into our room and without the ac on high it was more than we could stand.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEDmomCentralNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Ocean Front was perfect for what we needed - three days and two nights of beach and boardwalk in beautiful Ocean City. For the price (we took advantage of a 20% discount by booking on-line 2 weeks before), we were very pleased with our ocean front room. I brought my large SUV, was fortunate to find a spot immediately and left it parked there the whole time. If it had been more crowded, it could have been challenging but still do-able. The boardwalk and beach are 10 -20 steps beyond the parking area - so easy! The room's two double beds were comfortable and sheets clean. The towels are older, but clean and adequate. Overall, the room, small dressing area with the closet and refrigerator/microwave and the bathroom were clean. Our closet had one hanger but it wasn't a big deal for us and I'm sure if I asked for some, they would have been provided. The iron with board and the powerful blowdryer seemed new and were appreciated. The room was older, but it was bright and cheerful. John and his assistant were very helpful and we appreciated their sense of humor and kindness. I had a shipment sent to the hotel and when it came in, the front desk called me on the beach - very very thoughtful! We went out for breakfast every morning so I cannot comment on the taste of the food offered in the lobby, but the free coffee and pastry I saw there looked just fine. We would definitely stay again as an easy, economical and enjoyable way to visit NJ's #1 beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmacNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed with family for 2 nights in August. "John" was not friendly or accomodating at all. He spoke to us with an attitude. Parking was a nightmare and we were afraid to move our car after squeezing it into the parking lot. The room was dirty. The bedspreads had dried gum, cigarette burns, and red stains (possibly blood?). The bathroom shower curtain was covered with mold, as was the floor and the ceiling. There was a "hazardous materials" waste bin in the room that was not cleaned out. We paid approx $240 a night which was not worth it. For the price that is charged for these rooms I am sure they can put some money into refurbishing and cleaning these rooms. There is no value in staying here. Yes, the location is good but even so I would never return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My sister-in-law, Gayle, my son, Derek, and his wife, Susannah and I stayed at The Ocean Front Motel the weekend of 7/24-7/27. Gayle and I returned the weekend of 8/1-3. We only chose the Ocean Front Motel because the manager, John Capalbo, had returned. Everything was just GREAT. John certainly made our stay delightful. Gayle came all the way from Hilton Head Island, SC, when she heard that John was back. We hope to come again next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#27 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1417 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3172
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing