We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,helpful,would stay again.”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly,helpful,would stay again.”
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Once a year our family attends a function in Ocean City that is for our dog - it is so hard to find places that will allow dogs and even on top of that, be friendly about it and not charge ridiculous pet fees.
Ocean Front was reasonable, friendly & the cleanest place we stayed at in our 5 years doing this vacation and on top of all of that - its right on the boardwalk with a wonderful ocean view! We plan on staying every year!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank shamrocksweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    51
    18
    26
See reviews for
194
92
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lansdale, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We had a very pleasant weekend to start the summer.
Rooms are Clean and Staff could not be nicer...
John (manager) goes out of his way to make your stay
easy and enjoyable..
We look forward to our next trip to the shore and we
will be back to oceanfront. Grandchildren like the
convenience of the beach, right out the door... Thank you again,to
John and Staff .

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PaSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

The Ocean Front hotel in Ocean City, NJ is a classic boardwalk experience! Located on the southern end of the OC boardwalk it is just yards from the beach and has a great view of the ocean and the fishing pier. We have spent many nights sitting on the deck at the Ocean Front watching the moon rise over the ocean and watching people walk by on the boardwalk.
The rooms are cozy and very well kept. Prices are very reasonable.
The best part of our stay at the Ocean Front is the great service from John, the manager. John makes a point of knowing his customers. When we pull in to the Ocean Front, he comes out to greet the kids and see how much they have grown. Even as teenagers now, my kids look forward to seeing John. It is part of their OC experience.
If you want to have a great experience too, I'd really recommend the Ocean Front in Ocean City, NJ!

  • Liked — Located on bordwalk and great price. Also, fantastic manger!
  • Disliked — climb up the stairs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dkennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I stayed at this motel with several aunts and cousins for a four-day weekend. The rooms were clean and adequate for our needs. We loved the convenience of being right on the boardwalk and close to shopping. John, the Manager, was very helpful in making our stay pleasant. Some areas where I could suggest improvement are: bigger parking spaces (We were ok since we stayed in the off season. I imagine that things are really tight when the hotel is full. You wouldn't be able to park your car and have the passengers get out.) and an elevator (it was a little difficult for some of our party to climb the stairs to their rooms). The continental breakfast was adequate.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Grandma2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This was my first trip to Ocean City, NJ and I had a great time. The Ocean Front Motel provided the services I needed: relatively clean beds, working shower, shelter, very nice and new TV w/ good channel selection, and a nice A/C heating unit. The rooms and bedding are a bit old, but seemed clean and comfortable enough.

The breakfast was a bit sparse: danish, english muffins, donuts, and coffee. But enough to get you going if you don't want to spend a lot on the boardwalk. The management is very friendly and eager to please. The location is great -- right on the edge between the commercial and residential sections of the boardwalk. We had ocean view -- it was nice, but nothing spectacular. I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — A bit old and nothing really exciting about the place.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank phyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We just returned from our first stay at the Ocean Front Motel and were very pleased with what we found there. The location couldn't be better, right on the Boardwalk and only a few steps to the 14th Street beach. The neighborhood is quiet, partly due to the fact that Ocean Ave. (street side) ends at the next corner and slows traffic down considerably. Our room contained two full sized beds,a nightstand, a TV / chest-of-drawers combination, two chairs and a small table that was just the right size for snacks and playing games. The room also had a cube refrigerator, ample closet space and a fully ceramic tiled bathroom. While our room was considered a "regular" room we still could see the ocean and boardwalk from both our room and bathroom windows. John, the manager was always hard at work whenever we saw him. We do wonder if he ever gets to sleep!
Parking, as mentioned in other reviews, is tight, but if you are careful and respect the vehicles next to you, you shouldn't have a problem. If you are looking for "posh" accomodations, this is not the place for you. But if you'd like a nice room at the shore that is convenient to just about everything and not over-priced, this is the place. We are looking forward to staying at the "Ocean Front" again next year.

  • Liked — Location and value for the money
  • Disliked — Tight parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1020OceanAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Even though their are no ground rooms the manager was very accomadating for our child with disabilities. We were allowed to keep her wheelchair by the office and just carried our daughter up to our room. The manager went out of his way to assist us in getting access to one of those beach accessible handicap wheelchairs. He checked up on our family at various times to ensure our comfort and meet our needs.

We did not hear any noise in our rooms from the boardwalk but enjoyed the close access to the beach. I would reccommend this motel to any of our friends as a no-frills but very nice motel to stay at. The purpose of our trip was to enjoy the beach and we did! We hope to return next year!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank familymomPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#22 of 32 in Ocean City
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1417 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3172
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing