We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Ocean City”
Review of Ocean Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Manor Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had never been to the Jersey Shore before and had a wonderful week at the Ocean Manor. Rachelle, Florence, and Cindy were wonderful....warm, genuine, and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony. My wife has strict standards when it comes to rooms so if it passed her test, you won't be disappointed. The location is perfect, just a short walk to everything. When you look around the area, you will find the Ocean Manor extremely competitive with a homey feeling the others just can't match!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanmanor, Manager at Ocean Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I apologize for not responding sooner to your comments. it probably would have been to my best interest to have responded immediately, but our first priority is to our guests. With that said I would like to address the room key issue. Yes, we made a mistake. We humbly apologized at the time to all parties concerned. If I remember correctly at the time you had said it wasn't a big deal. Although it was to us. We try our best and in a rush handed you the wrong key.
Again, our sincere apology for the mix-up. Unfortunately, we are not perfect.
In reference to the room itself. At the time the reservation was made the room was described to you. It is called a mini-suite because it is 2 rooms and mini because they are small. That room is designed to have 3 to 4 people. maybe in your excitement to find a room for 1 night you were willing to settle for something less than what you needed. All our rooms have showers. We had No idea a standard shower would be an issue
If the fridge didn't work and had you told us we would have been happy to replace it immediately for you. We can't fix something we don't know is broken.
the next thing you mentioned was a sewer pipe. The pipe you saw was actually a sprinkler pipe
which is there for the safety of all. Some people see the pipe and believe it adds character to the
building just differences of opinions.
You were here for 2 days using the amenities, passing by us but never saying a word. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guest and this is truly disturbing that you would have been that unhappy with us and not shared it with us

our building is over 100 years old and the sprinkler pipe is there for your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our third year staying at OCEAN MANOR and our best experience. We love the proximity to beach, boardwalk, and shopping district on Asbury Avenue. We also enjoy the pretty landscaped pool area with shaded spots, tables and chairs, and shower. The staff is friendly and there is complimentary coffee and citrus water. The rooms are spacious with plenty of drawer space, a microwave, coffee pot, and fridge, The porch has rockers and tables and chairs for dining outside. Everything is clean and decorated beautifully.

Room Tip: First floor and above have porch access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this hotel instead of a more expensive option across the street (Flanders). It was very clean, rooms were spacious and all rooms have a huge balcony with tables and chairs. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You receive parking for no charge (if you want to leave your car there after you check out it's only $5 for the entire day). They also supply daily beach badges for only $2 (instead of $5). We left a brand new gps in the room after we checked out and when we got back to our car (in their parking lot) there was a note saying they found it and it was at the front desk. They also let us use the restrooms for the day (even after we checked out). Definitely would go back again. It is an older hotel but it's priced right and a nice place at the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked this room because it was cheap. I was a little put off by some of the negative reviews, but the most recent ones were good so I gave it a chance. I wasn't disappointed. The women at the front desk were very friendly. When we got to our room it wasn't very fancy, but it was clean and just what we were looking for. Two double beds, a TV, a 6 drawer bureau, a closet with plenty of space, and a mini fridge. The best part was that the inn is just a block from the boardwalk and beach, so you could see the ocean from our balcony. The room could have used a refresher (like maybe some new ceiling tiles), and there wasn't a screen in the one window, so we couldn't open it, but it was a nice place to stay. Finding your parking spot can be tricky.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazyshayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanmanor, Manager at Ocean Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are glad you gave us a try and that you were pleased with The Ocean Manor. We try to give the best service possible and would like you to know that the screen has been replaced. It had been out for repair while you were here. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. don,t let the minor things deter you from coming as we work hard all the time to make our establishment top notch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been going to Ocean Manor since I was around 11 or so with my family. I now have a 27 year old daughter and family of my own and we are still coming here. Rachelle and her family are wonderful proprietors and I can't think of staying anywhere else. They are like family to us. It is not the Ritz, but it is clean and we love the new balconies and decks.
We have already booked our stay with them for this summer!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherryH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Rachelle is the best, always accommodating. It's a great family place to stay with a great location close to everything. We go every year and always have a great stay. The rooms are inexpensive so don't expect the Trump plaza but they are clean and it's the shoryuck you are not in the room too often and as long as the air conditioner works and the towels are clean it's all good!!! The pool it small but has a good amount of shade so you are not baking in the sun the whole time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annegilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Once again we have stayed at Ocean Manor and had a great time! Just love Rachelle and her family. My husband and I realized that we have been coming to ocean manor for almost 20 years! Hopefully we will be returning to our favorite Ocean City place for the next 20 years to come! Love Rachelle and her family!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, and stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momchris62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#30 of 31 in Ocean City
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#14 of 31 in Ocean City
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Hotel

Address: 1100 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3344
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: $98 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean City Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing