We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Water Inn”
Review of Blue Water Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Water Inn”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went down for a few day get away. The staff was great, room while small was clean and comfortable for what we wanted....a beach hotel! They had a nice breakfast included in the stay. We enjoyed watching the fireworks from the great porch with many of the other guest and had a great evening. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    11
    9
    26
See reviews for
35
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were able to get away for a few nights a week ago and felt like reliving some youth at the shore. We enjoyed our stay at Blue Water Inn and found the staff to be friendly and the accomodations clean.

This is a no-frills hotel where you can have a clean room, a couple blocks from the beach and boardwalk, and pretty low cost. They had a great breakfast included in the stay and a pool that looked nice but we didn't have a chance to get in.

Overall enjoyable time and we would do it again if we get a chance to get away during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went down for a couple of days just to get away. The hotel was cleam, the prices were good. Our room was a little small but we didn't spend that much time in their anyway. There is a great porch to sit on and relax in the morning or evening. It is 1 block from the boardwalk and within walking distance of many stores and small restaurants. The only thing I did not like was the comfort of the bed. The staff was great and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was there in June 2013, the hotel was clean, had good staff, provided a light breakfast and was 1 block from the boardwalk and within walking distance to many shops and small restaurants. The only thing that I found unsatisfactory was the comfort of the bed. But we had a great time. There is a nice porch you can sit on and just relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Upon deciding on a last minute trip to Ocean City, we booked this place based on price and availability. We could not regret this decision more. The room is small, loud (you hear everything!!), old, and a partially done and cheaply done "renovation".
The showers are made for children (I'm 5'2 and found myself to have no space) and horrible water pressure. The toilet the same, very small.
The rooms do not have in them what most consider standard: no alarm clocks, microwave, maid service (yep, NO maid service), coffee maker, or a decent bed.
This place was so terrible, we only stayed for one night and paid for two.
Do your research and stay at another hotel and enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacatwentythirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thought it was a good price so we booked it for a weekend. My wife cried when we walked in the room. I realized then why there were so many "no refunds" signs all over the place. Doors don't seal, toilets are terrible, shower looks like something from a camp site, exposed pipes everywhere , water leaking all over the stairs walking into the lobby because there too lazy to divert the water coming from the ac unit above. I'm no professional handyman but I could've fixed the place up better than they had. I'm guessing someone bought it in high times and is ready to go out of buisness. Stay away unless your college kids looking to save a buck!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mon505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanAveHotels, Manager at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Sad that you didn't say anything to our staff. We strive very hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible but can't read minds. I disagree with your description and invite anyone to stop by and look for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsville,nj
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

pros-clean, friendly front desk staff,beach tags for the beach, tv in each room.fridge in each room. shower in each bathroom. We got a 2 room suite seperated by a bathroom which was great with teens in tow that don't want to share a room with mom and dad anymore.breakfast from 8am-10am at front desk. close to ocean and boardwalk, close to alot of local restaurants.Although we didn't use this amenity they do have on your leaving day you can use the hallway shower after the beach so you don't have to drive home salty and sandy.

cons- maid banging on our door at 10am, then couldn't understand her. steep steps, no elevator for us lazy people.no phone in the room, no snack machines on premises.no bathtub for us tub people, shower's water force was not all that great, 3 story steps to walk up, no frills hotel.

Room Tip: we got a 3rd floor suite that had 2 rooms together seperated by a bathroom. very nice for people wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katkev2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#22 of 32 in Ocean City
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands
Coral Sands
#15 of 32 in Ocean City
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#23 of 32 in Ocean City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn

Property: Blue Water Inn
Address: 617 E 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3743 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Water Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel. All new windows, some new carpet, new paint and friendly staff. We want to be your home at the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing