We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful B&B”
Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scarborough Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, NH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful B&B”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've been back to this B&B several times and are never disappointed. They are very customer focused and always attuned to changes or trying some new things as with their packages.
The breakfasts are light and very nasty! Convenient to boardwalk and Asbury shopping! Great front porch!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    19
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
100
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Loved our room. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is very good too. We go there every year and really enjoy it. Very close to the beach and the downtown. We can walk everywhere we need to here.

Room Tip: Plan your trip early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Breakfast was very good, but my husband is a big eater and often left hungry :) This is also a very large B&B so if you are looking for a nice quiet stay, this might not be the place for you. We enjoyed our stay very much however. We were celebrating our anniversary and arrived to chocolate covered strawberries in our room!

Room Tip: I would recommend room #10 it is the only room on that side of the hallway! It was very quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

There were several positives about this place, such as a beautiful room, outdoor as well as indoor showers, and nice staff. It is really an inn and not a B&B, missing that level of intimacy given it's sheer size with so many rooms, though it does have great B&B decor. It is also a family place. So if you are into kids, great. The Breakfast left a lot to be desired, though it might have just been an off day. I think a place that size should offer more food choices. They have WIFI but it was not usable due, I think to number of users. They have their own parking lot which is a big plus. There are lots of good restaurants around, including those on the Boardwalk in walking distance (2.5 blocks).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KryptoUnderDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughInn, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to submit comments to TripAdvisor. We appreciate the fact that you commented on several positive aspects of your stay. We regret to learn that you were not completely satisfied, however.

Even within the B&B community there is discussion about what constitutes a “bed and breakfast.” Just like B&Bs themselves, there are many variations and I think that is a core advantage of this type of lodging option. With 24 rooms, we are certainly larger than some, but we provide a nice balance of times and places for interaction with our family, staff, and fellow guests, plus areas for personal time with your traveling companion(s). Full details about the Inn are available on our website.

Ocean City, NJ calls itself, America’s Greatest Family Resort. We welcome “well-behaved children” and of the 24 rooms at the inn, we have 4 adjoining/family rooms. Since we are just 5-minutes from the beach and boardwalk, ours is the perfect location for seashore visitors of all ages. In fact, we have a large percentage of guests who have been coming to the Inn since THEY were children and we are proud to be part of cherished family traditions.

We offer a 3-course Breakfast midweek and 4-course Breakfast on the weekend. Breakfasts include a choice of juices, seasonal fruit (or other starter), plus an entrée du jour with sides. The fourth course also varies. Naturally, coffees or teas are also provided. Those who want other options or additional food may also have a selection of cold cereals, oatmeal, or Greek yogurt. We make a concerted effort to provide food that is fresh, flavorful, and beautifully presented. We also accommodate dietary restrictions to the best of our ability and with prior notice. I will ask the staff to be more diligent about asking guests if they have had sufficient.

The free WiFi that we provide is subject to the reliability of the Internet connection, of course, but guests have a dedicated connection completely separate from the inn’s. No one else reported a problem; I hope you asked for assistance when you experienced difficulty!

We’ve owned the Scarborough Inn for 23 years and we raised our children here; many things have changed over the years, but one thing has remained constant – we truly want guests to have a special experience, every time, so I hope you will visit again and let me know personally how we may accommodate you to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This B & B is awesome! Very relaxing atmosphere. Kind, caring hosts. You can't go wrong with the location and amenities here. Book it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARLPAGLIACCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed at Scarborough Inn from May 28 to may 31, 3 days. Wonderful place! Very friendly atmosphere. Nice art on display through the halls. Breakfast is oh, soooo good, so tasty. And they serve it too!!!! Apple Puffs are my favorite! Our room was small, but cute and comfortable. And I loved the fact that hotel has very good cross ventilation and we did not even use AC in the room, just open window and have fan on. Though it was quite hot outside during the day. Loved every minute we spent at Scarborough :) Would recommend highly and hope we can come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScarboroughInn, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
On behalf of our family and staff, thank you so much for your enthusiastic and positive comments; we all appreciate them very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Scarborough Inn the weekend of 5/13 - 5/15/11 for my birthday. The staff along with owner Gus Bruno were very welcoming. Our room was very nice and comfortable. What a wonderful and pleasing atmosphere! As a kind gesture (which I will never forget) was getting back to our room and finding a birthday card along with 3 heart shaped brownies. I will cherish the moment as long as I live.

The Inn is very well kept. The wrap around porch is very appealing and enjoyable. There are many rocking chairs that one can sit and at the same time read a book or just sit and relax. The boardwalk is two blocks away and there is so much to do and see.

We will definitely plan on returning to Scarborough Inn again...A+++

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#20 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 32 in Ocean City
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Property: Scarborough Inn
Address: 720 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an Ocean City, NJ vacation haven that artfully combines appealing vintage charm with plentiful modern amenities.*Individually Decorated Rooms with Private Baths & Signature Toiletries*Complimentary WiFi, Beach Tags & Bathhouse, free Parking on premise*Breakfast & Afternoon Refreshments feature fresh, local ingredients*Easy walking distance to Beach, Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping & Recreation. Travel to Atlantic City or Cape May easily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Ocean City
Scarborough Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing