We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day for a Hike”

Ramapo Mountain State Forest
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Oakland
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great day for a Hike”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great place to hike, bike, dog walks, family picnics (as long as everyone is in good health to walk). I love take the short hike a the bottom of the moutain up to the lake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great afternoon hiking, quick trip from NYC”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Overall I found this park & trail a good solution for a simple and fairly quick afternoon getaway from NYC. It's less than an hour from midtown, I found parking pretty easy (it was 2:00 on a Summer Sunday) and the trail is right off the road. I hiked the yellow trail, not the paved one, it pretty much hikes like a dry river bed and is nicely covered with trees. I also found it relatively quiet, not to many people around. Hike to the lake and around, let your dog go for a swim and leash him back up!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A great place for hiking”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love going to this place year round. It is not great after a heavy rain because of the mud. It's a great place to meet people. You can hike around the lake alone or with a buddy. It is very clean here. I go there for my Sunday exercise routine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hiketastic Jersey!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great moderate hike into the Ramapo Mountains, right off of Route 287. You can hike up to the abandoned castle (it'll take about 45 minutes to get there). Also a nice lake to walk around. Paths are marked. The kids love climbing the large rocks. A number of the woodsy scenes from Hunger Games, Catching Fire were filmed in this park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank coptest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramapo Mountain State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Ramapo Mountain State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing