We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food”
Review of Cafe L' Amore

Cafe L' Amore
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great Italian food and coal oven pizza in Oakland. Food and service are excellent. It is BYOB. Nice selection on the lunch menu at a great price. Parking is an issue but the place always seems to have a crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 117Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent BYO”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Owners and staff are friendly, great food to eat in or take out. Awesome pizza too!
I have been visiting this place for 15 years and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mleahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local BOYB place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We came to Cafe L'Amore to meet with friends or just for a family dinner. The food is always great, the atmosphere is cozy and friendly.
The important thing to know is that there is a valet parking – just hand you keys to the gay at the door.
I would highly recommend the place, it’s hard not to enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysBusyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great pizza and solid Italian at reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The parking at this BYOB Italian is a major pain, yet this place is consistently packed and has been since it opened nearly 20 years ago. There are reasons for its popularity and those are outstanding pizza, solid food and reasonable prices.

My wife and I lived literally around the corner from Cafe L'Amore at the time it opened. We were delighted to have excellent pizza and reasonable, quality Italian food within walking distance. The place started out as a pizzeria with a tiny restaurant in the corner with perhaps 6 tables and has expanded at least twice since then. We moved away after about a year, but have been coming back regularly ever since even though we live several towns away.

Most of the complaints I've seen about Cafe L'Amore revolve around the the service. It can be slow at peak times and the servers generally are not the cheerful, "Chatty Cathy" types you encounter at so many casual places (a type that I actually find annoying). They can be brusque but I usually find them to be efficient. Having eaten here literally over a hundred times, I can count the times when we had truly poor service on one hand with a finger left over.

Among my favorite dishes are the Fusilli di Pomodoro, Cappelinni L'Amore, Pollo alla Boscaiola and Involtini di Pollo. My wife loves the veal dishes here. And of course there is the pizza. Though this is a 25 mile round trip from our home, we drive past many other pizza establishments when we're in the mood for a pizza.

Cafe L'Amore is approaching its 20th anniversay and in an age when most restaurants don't make it a year and even the many of the best don't make it past 5 or 10 years, that says something.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BYOB in Oakland”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great food and service, bring your own bottle of wine and enjoy ! Sat next to Brad Garret from Everybody Loves Raymond one time. Cozy place with big portions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhramius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe L' Amore also viewed

 

Been to Cafe L' Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing