We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Diner!”
Review of Oakland Diner

Oakland Diner
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Yorktown Heights
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Diner!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been working in Oakland for the past 15 years and haven't been to the Oakland Dinner for the past five. What a mistake! While traveling home to NY state late Saturday night we were looking for a place to get a late night bite. As we were nearing Oakland I was hoping to find an open spot. The Oakland Diner was still open and the staff at almost 12:30 am couldn't have been more pleasant. The Diner was clean and inviting with funky painted murals on the walls and a 50's sort of motif. This late I was hoping for anything edible. What I received was fantastic! The clam chowder was perfect (and hot the way I love it) home made with big chunks of fresh clams and potatoes. We ordered burger platters and cheese steaks. Burgers are made fresh twice a day and you can tell. Cooked to perfection with all the fixings and excellent fries. The cheese steak was very authentic and even at that late an hour the coffee fresh! The menu looks interesting and the prices seemed in line with others in the area.
Sometimes a restaurant not only exceeds expectations but you walk out and say to yourself "I need to eat hear again!". I need to eat here again, and soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Been going here for years...great diner and great service. The prices have gotten out of control so we dont go there as often. But the food is very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good diner -- one of the best in the area!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

While I am not a big diner fan, sometimes they are just what you need, want, etc. I think most diners are fair at best, typical and kind of ordinary.

This is a very good diner -- I've had all three meals here -- and it's always very good. I highly recommend this diner. If you are in the area and need a diner, go out of your way, travel farther, and go here.

High quality food and ingredients, very good preparation and execution, very good service, and more -- and it all leads to a very good meal. This is one of the best diners in the area, and I've been to many/most. This one is one of the top ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cory r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very good food & reliable service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visit the Oakland Diner about once a month or so, as it is in my general neighborhood. The service is always prompt, the food is always good. The menu has lots and lots of choices. Portions are a little big for my personal taste, but on the flipside, that makes it a great value. I am also a fan of the 50s/60s decor of this diner - it is very unique as compared to other diners in the area. If you live in the area or are just stopping by for a visit, I definitely recommend giving the Oakland Diner a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdgrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Diner also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing