We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have EVER stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suitcase Motel & Travel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Driving from Mystic CT we were exhausted and stopped at the first place we saw with a vacancy sign. The room was disgusting!! It was filthy and smelled like dead mice and air freshener...ugg. It was so bad that I actually checked the mattress for bed bugs before I would lay down. Perhaps if I was 20 years old, and the room was cheap I would be ok with the filth. However, it was $140 a night and totally not worth more than $50. If you are in Wildwood and sleepy, I suggest sleeping in your car rather than staying at the Suitcase.

Room Tip: Go down the street and find a completely different motel/hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mitsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_WildwoodGarden, General Manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Our records indicated that for the entire season, there was no one from Maryland stayed at our motel for one night. No complaint on cleanliness or rooms smelled ever. We guarantee all rooms are very clean and no bad smell. Our rates are very competitive at this resorts area. We have no idea what this person talked about. In general, if guests really have problems with the rental room for whatever reason, guests would waste no time to make a report to the office for an other room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

My kids and i have been to this hotel 2 times and are planning another trip this week i personally have never noticed a creepy innkeeper and as far as the pool goes, it always looked clean to me but who really goes to the beach to swim in a pool anyway. I will advise to call in advance to get a room it goes so much faster that way. Also watch out for the slugs! I was standing outside down stairs one nite and realized they were everywhere i don't know where they came from but my kids found it awesome and hilarious to see how grossed out i was but it was definitely no reason for us not to go back! Its not a 5star hotel but its a great place to shower and sleep the whole point of going on vacation is to be out having fun not sit in a hotel. One more thing is the lady at the desk is the best she's funny, very personable, and easy to get along with.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miabia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitcase M, General Manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Thank you very much for being our repeated guests. We are truly appreciated your business. We strike to make our motel a place that can be satisfied to all of our guests and keep on coming back to stay with us again. We have our motel exterminated few times during the season. You properly will not see any more slugs. Our motel do have a lot of trees, plants, flowers. These greenery may cause the slugs to come out. Thanks goodness, we did not see them again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night and woke up with ants crawling all over my bags...hundreds...manager tried to blame it on a few potato chips left at the bottom of my bag ...there is no reason that should occur unless there is an ant problem...matter of fact the clerk working when i had the problem told me that he sprayed the room yesterday and as of "last night there were no ants found when he last inspected teh room"...and another lady staying a few doors down from me also said she had ants in her room...When i checked into the room, there were 3 ants in the bathroom and i saw a few on the dresser/lamp but since we were just staying the night to sleep i didn't think it was indicative of a big issue... boy was i wrong, little did I know what I would awaken to...absolutely disgusting and completely unacceptable that they would rent our rooms knowing that they have this problem... my bags and towels got ruined since i had to spray them with so much raid to kill the hundreds of ants crawling all over...and of course they refused to refund my money...take my advice and DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMF8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_WildwoodGarden, General Manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We guarantee very clean rooms at the check in time. We tell all guests to report to us immediately if they find any problem in the rooms. If room has problem, we will immediately fix the problem or offer another room if it is available or refund. We did not receive any complaint from this guest until the next morning prior to check out time about ants in her bag. We help guest to dump the bag and found a lot of potato chips at the bottom of her bag. We told the guest about the problem that she created and help cleaning her bag. Guest threated to dispute the charges and left the motel. That was on Friday morning. We have other guests that stay at the next unit from this guest were very happy and told us of their return to our motel for the next staying. We received a call on Saturday afternoon from this guest with yelling, screaming and threatening without listening to what we have to say. She threated to write false reports and claimed that the motel is too cheap to give her back the charges. No motel will refund guests after all night staying and using facilities at the motel until check out time. In real life, if guest check in to a motel room and find problem in the room, guest will report the problem right away because they paid for that services. If the problem created by guest and the motel did not charge any extra service charges, guest should feel lucky. We found the complaints are false and unacceptable especially after all the threats from the guest. We feel the guest created problem and hope to get a free night staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Suitcase Motel for a weekend and it was wonderful. The staff were very nice and welcoming. We were close enough to the boardwalk to walk which was great! We loved it and will definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitcase M, General Manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that our guests are satisfied with our services. You are always welcome to stay at our motel. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Not until I saw the last review did I decide to write this one. My family and I stayed at the Suitcase for one night, simply to wash up and sleep. Most expensive shower and bed I ever had($200,cash only) but I agreed to that because there was no minimum stay required.

The rooms were dark, and the front walls/windows paper thin, because when the fire whistle went off several times during the night, it woke you up.

Now to the best part, my family and I thought the innkeeper was a triplet. No lie every time we turned around, the "creepy" innkeeper as we called him was right behind you.

The pool smelled bad and was dirty as obviously it had not been skimmed all day.

The best part of this place was the woman at the check-in and leaving.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crusher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_WildwoodGarden, owner/manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2008

I reviewed the complaints and found many false statements of the complainant. Please be advised that our staff were trained to be on duty and do their work but not trying to watch what our guests were doing. There was no reason for our staff to do so. Any adult and mature responsible person should not show concern that somebody was watching them.

The terms of payment at our motel is always customer' s choice either cash, money order or credit card. Amount to be charged depends on room type, number of people in room. Weekend rates are slightly higher than weekday rates. This is a common practice of motels. The complainant should feel so lucky that we did not reject his/her staying. Many motels have no limit staying. After shopping around and stopped right here at our motel should tell story of the shopper. It shows childish to make complaints after accepted the offer.

The complaints about siren from Fire Department is a joke. I wonder whether this guest has any idea at all that all tourism areas include the Wildwoods always seriously concern about safety of all tourists. Obviously, this guest came to the wrong town. Too bad the siren from Fire Department woke him/her up. It woke every body in the entire town up too. The complaints about our front walls/windows paper-thin proves poor vision of the complainant. Our buildings are cement blocks and all of our windows are new and double panels. All windows have curtains. Guests can always open the curtains for brightness as needed. All other guests love their privacy with the curtains down.

In terms of pool, it is very senseless to complaint about our pool. We have two Certified Pool Operators on premises. Pool water was being tested every two hours to ensure perfect water for swimming. We have perfect score from Certified Labs and Health Department. We skim our pool every time after guests used pool. Is this guest know what he/she talking about? No body in the right mind should make any complaints unless that person has enough knowledge to know what he/she complaints about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

It wasn't by any means a 5 star hotel....or even 3 It was simply a place to shower and sleep. The rooms are very dark But beware of the creepy inn keeper, when ever you turn around he is right behind you YIKES!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank beachbumgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_WildwoodGarden, owner/manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2008

As a manager of this motel for the past 19 years, I would like public to know that almost all motels in Wildwoods area are independently owned and not chain motels. Our motel is in business for 19 years and it is known by all Associations that Suitcase Motel is a family motel, very clean and every room is as modern as it can be. We upgrade our motel rooms and amenities every year. Our staff was trained to be on duty and do their work. Guests should complaints if he/she stayed in a motel that there was no staff on premises could be found. There is no reason for a responsible guest to complaint on staff that does work at the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

We got a room there Irish weekend, just for a place to sleep. About 10 pm my relatives came to pick us up, so they walked to the room just to say "ready?" and the rude man came and said "no visitors" and we explained that we werent staying, and he threatened to call police, and make a big issue out of it. Its not a nice place to begin with, but he acted like he was afraid of something being destroyed, (like from teenagers partying) but in reality, i dont think anyone could damage the unit worse than it already is!

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMarPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_WildwoodGarden, owner and manager at Suitcase Motel & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2008

Irish Festival weekend is the biggest event in town. Our motel is always fully booked. From our 19 years experience in this resort motel business, we saw them all. Our policy of "registered guest only" is very up front to all guests when making a reservations. We also inform guests at the check in time. There is no surprise to all guests about this practice. Our office is open to all visitors. This restriction of "no visitors" is very common practice for all motels in this resort area. Every guest has many friends and families. If we see visitors in guest's room, we will remind our guests of the "registered guest only" policy and the visitors must be out of the room. If guests refuse and insist to have their nonregistered guests in their room, it leaves us no other choice but call police and remove the guests. Our motel is catered to responsible adult guests and families who registered with us only. We have to concern about quiet and peaceful staying of other guests through out the motel. There is no teenagers accepted at our motel, therefore, no guests should concern about teenagers partying. The law in this city clearly indicated the penalty of all disorderly person who entered the building.
In terms of cleanliness and up keep of the motel, our motel is being known as a very clean and beautiful decorated motel. We improved our motel every year. 85% of our guests are repeated guests. We have a very good reputation on what we do. Our rates are very comparable to other motel. All guests are shopping around for better rates. If the guests complainted about our rates, we wonder why the guests chose our motel after shopping around and majority were coming back year after year.
We are a full service motel. We offer more amenities than a lot of motel in this island. All staff were well trained and on the jobs for years. Our location is within a walking distance to the Irish Festival event, well known restaurants, bars and entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.6 mi away
White Caps Motel
White Caps Motel
#34 of 41 in North Wildwood
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#3 of 41 in North Wildwood
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carideon Motel
Carideon Motel
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#9 of 41 in North Wildwood
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#37 of 41 in North Wildwood
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suitcase Motel & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitcase Motel & Travel

Address: 1500 New Jersey Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-2740
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Price Range: $65 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family place motel with modern rooms and reasonable rates. All smoke free rooms. Free daily Continental Breakfast. Pool and Kiddy Pool. Lounge and Patio Areas. Free Parking (one car per unit). Cable TV. Large flat screen TVs. Free WIFI. Air Conditioning/Heater. Refrigerator. Microwave. Iron and Board. In-Room Courtesy Coffee set. Daily Maid Service. Barbecue Grills. Walking distance to beach, boardwalk, restaurants and bars. We are very close to the North Wildwood Entertainment District where all night life take place for all tourists. There are Firework every Friday night on boardwalk to greet all tourists and guests at our motel can see the Firework at our motel site as well. It is a walking distance from our motel to the Free Summer Concerts Under the Stars on every Thursday and Saturday through out the summer. Near by: Golf course, Play ground, Fitness center with gym, fishing and crabbing, lighthouse, zoo, shopping, casino and gambling. Groups and Conventioneers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Suitcase Motel & Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitcase Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing