We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay in the Wildwoods”
Review of Candlelight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlelight Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at The Candlelight Inn. We had stayed there many years ago, before Bill and Nancy were the owners, and decided to go to North Wildwood again and stay here since we knew how nice it was at The Candlelight Inn. We found it to be better than we had remembered. The room was very nice and quiet with a comfortable bed. It is a very relaxing setting, with a large front porch, a hot tub and private off street parking. However it is only a few blocks from the beach, and from the excitement of the boardwalk. Also, it is about a three minute walk to the best crab cakes I've ever had. Speaking of food, Bill and Nancy provide a fantastic three course breakfast with a choice of two main courses. I was never one who liked the beach, however both my wife and I are looking forward to our next trip to the Candlelight Inn, where one feels as if he or she is a guest, not of someones business, but in someone's home. Our thanks to Bill and Nancy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebzan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 271 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Candlelight Inn is a beautiful home, but it is Nancy and Bill's attention to detail that makes a stay with them so exceptional. I cannot imagine a request they have not already considered and prepared for. Breakfast is delicious, the rooms are neatly appointed, parking is convenient and anything a guest could want is available. If you are planning a trip to the Jersey Shore stay at the Candlelight.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loshaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful but too-short visit to the Candlelight Inn in North Wildwood. We had a business meeting to attend, and were delighted to be able to stay in such a charming inn. Bill and Nancy were wonderful, welcoming hosts. Our room was the Drawing Room, on the lower level, which had been recently redecorated with pretty green wallpaper. Fabulous bathroom with double whirlpool tub. Great ocean breezes from the two windows almost made us want to turn on the cute romantic fireplace. Nice flat-screen TV. In fact, they've thought of everything. Right outside our door was a little refreshment center, with complimentary cold sodas, which were very welcome. There was also an individual coffee brewer by Braun which we used to make our wake-up cups of coffee in the morning, and a computer with printer which we used to check our email. After relaxing on the patio right outside the door, we enjoyed a walk to the Boardwalk just a few blocks away to stretch our legs. The Candlelight Inn's location is perfect-close enough to the beach and boardwalk, but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing and away from the hustle and bustle. Bill & Nancy recommended a fabulous restaurant in North Wildwood, Claude's for dinner. We enjoyed great seafood in the Italian style, including delicious desserts. Luckily we saved room for their great breakfast the next morning after a comfortable sleep. We had a choice of sign up times, so we chose 9:30, since our meeting wasn't until later in the day. We had eggs benedict with pork roll, a seashore tradition, and peach granola pancakes. Both delicious. But that wasn't all. The meal started with warm grapefruit halves broiled with honey, then huge, warm pina colada muffins. Of course lots of juice and coffee from serve yourself pitchers on the table, plus great conversation with the other two couples at the table. We were sorry to have to leave, but look forward to another visit to North Wildwood and the Candlelight Inn, and especially Bill & Nancy's hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Candelight Inn for three nights and had the most wonderful experience. Upon arrival, we were promptly and warmly greeted and given a thorough explanation of where to find everything. We were made to feel at home and welcome. Each morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast and hospitality by the hosts and staff. It seemed that every detail of what a guest would like to have was thought of and available. Bill and Nancy really care about their guests and that the guests have a very positive experience. The Inn is beautiful and spotless! The rooms extremely private and comfortable. We particularly liked the afternoon wine and freshly baked cookies every day at 5:00, which we enjoyed while we sat on the beautiful and spacious front porch. We would recommend the Candelight Inn to anyone and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suef592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. Clean, attention to every detail, Great breakfast with really nice people. it was my wifes birthday, and they made it really special for us. Bill and Nancy are great host!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essemtec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The owners Bill and Nancy make you feel at home once you step into their establishment. They provide a gourmet breaksfast every morning, with Eggs Benedict on Sundays! Every afternoon they have coffee, tea or wine and delicious cookies to feast on! The inn is well cared for and provides a very cozy environment with all the amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TweetyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

5 stars doesnt do the Candlelight justice! The inn is located on a quiet peaceful street The house is architecturally Victorian. Each room is as wonderful as the next offering many amenities. The bed and linens are as soft as butter! The food is oustanding and unique. You are made to feel right at home, and will want to return again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amclarke6385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
3.4 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,279 reviews
6.6 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
717 reviews
23.7 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,082 reviews
7.5 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 2310 Central Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Wildwood
Price Range: $191 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlelight Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlelight Inn has a Tesla and a universal charging station for our guests with electric vehicles to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Candlelight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing