We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I luv the SandPiper”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“I luv the SandPiper”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I luv the Sandpiper, my daughter and her friends luv the Sandpiper. Great location 1/2 block to boardwalk, and the Staff, Steph, Lauren, Kathy, Bill, and Connie are all FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehootman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
75
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

As usual we had another nice short vacation at the Sandpiper Motel. The negatives that I can say are: In the bathroom, the toilet seat kept coming off and shower rod was rusted on the sides. The parking is the worst for this motel. My pick up was banged and the paint is gone from the person who parked next to me. My vehicle cannot fit in every space that they have. I was afraid to drive anywhere and lose my spot.
As for everything else, it is wonderful. The three beds, the kitchen, the two tv's all great. The pool was nice. Sleeping has been quiet whenever we stay there. There was a guest who didn't use the best of language to her children/grandchildren. That is always annoying but we tried to ignore them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee5StarAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Hello Denise,

I recognized your screen name on your review and was consequently able to locate the elusive “broken toilet seat.” We didn’t realize the lid of the seat slid off if someone moved around on it. It was something you would not notice while cleaning. I wish you had reported it to the office. Bill would have replaced it. ; )

Looking forward to seeing you next year!
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My name is Mary Love. My husband, grandson,and myself just spent four days and three nights at the Sandpiper Motel in North Wildwood, NJ. We have been going there for the last three years. We always have a great time. The motel is very comfortable and extremely clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will certainly go back again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Hi Mary,
Thank you for your review! While the accommodations are basic, we do our best to see that they are clean and comfortable. A clean, friendly atmosphere always makes for a more enjoyable stay! It's your vacation and we want you to enjoy every minute!!! See you next year~~~

Thank you.
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

MY husband and I have been staying at the Sandpiper for years,we love it ! It's very clean ,most of all, the bathroom is kept up and very clean too.Kathy, the owner and her husband are always friendly ,making sure everyone's visit is a happy one .The decks are very nice to sit out, they have tables ,very nice view.The pool has always been kept up and crystal clear, You always see someone cleaning with smiles and greeting you. Its one short block from the beach and the start of the board walk.WE have stayed at other motels because the Sandpiper was full and we ended up crying ,no one else had clean rooms and caring staff,it was horrible ...so we make sure and tell all our friends to come to the Sandpiper and BE HAPPY!!! BOOK EARLY!!!SEE YOU THERE!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboopNazareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
We want all our guests to enjoy their stay and relax while on vacation. Our goal is to maintain a family friendly atmosphere and to make you feel at home. We don't claim to be perfect, but the staff does care and works hard to keep your rooms clean. Thank you for your kind review. Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Please be aware when booking this hotel. The website was very, very deceiving. I have lived and learned one thing, you must examine and personally inspect and view any hotel before booking same. There were only 14 reviews. i need a vacation after my "vacation." The room was very small and it was not easy accomdating my wife and 2 children. The room was old, antiquated and in need of renovations and updates!! The sheets were never changed, the bahroom was fit only for a midget or a person that was 4 ft tall and weighed less than 100 lbs. What a joke!! Inm addition there was rust in the bathroom with a broken toilet. The pool was murky and dirty!! Thiis place was a dump and I wish I could have received a refund. Finally, it was like a welfare motel, the guests were drrinking in the pool area and outside there room and looked and appeared very dirty. There was a child, less then 10 years old who was walking around unattended and even tried to come into our room!! it was scary. This place should be closed and condemened!!

BIG Tbone- North Jersey

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tbone711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
The Wildwoods are proudly preserving the Doo-Wop style motels such as ours. These motels were built in the early 50’s and 60’s and have similar interior layouts. It is unfortunate that you were dissatisfied with its design. Many guests love the nostalgia. So much so, they return year after year. We have renovated the interior with new furniture, beds, bedding, curtains tile and so on. It is unethical to build a business on deception. Interior pictures are posted on our website. What you see is what you get.

For the sake of future generations, we are pleased to say that we practice water conservation. If our room attendant sees you have soiled your linens, she changes them as needed. If you stay longer then 7 nights, we do a complete linen change. We would never expect anyone to sleep on dirty bedding. Upon check-in, we ask our guests to let us know if they need anything during their stay. It is a shame that you didn’t complain to us directly. Perhaps we could have made you more comfortable.

Our pool passes a weekly County inspection and is vacuumed daily.

As far as we are concerned, our guests are some on the best on the island! They are down to earth, respectful and family oriented. Trash our motel if you must, but please be respectful when it comes to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The staff were pleasant, but not helpful enough. When I reported that the washing machine destroyed my white wash ruined with rust, reply was probably it is not used a lot, and the other staff had no response. It was a nightmare because I tried to wash at a local laundry mat to get the stains out, washing through three times and still not good enough. When i returned to get laundry from dryer clothes were missing. UNBELIEVABLE. In the bathroom, the toilet seat kept coming off and shower rod was rusted. Fan was dirty as well as curtains on bedroom window. The airconditioner was so loud that u couldn't hear the tv. sheets were not changed at all during our week stay. the pool wasn't crystal clear and the stairs to second floor were difficult to climb. there was a guest who wouldn't leave us alone despite our request. there was no adult supervision for this little boy who was taking other children's toys and playing with them without their knowledge. we feel like we need a vacation.......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy47wayne_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Our staff is unaware of the problems you described. Had you voiced your concerns directly to the office, perhaps we would have been able to help you.

We take pride in our motel and I was shocked to read that your fan and curtains were dirty. I immediately did a complete inspection of all the rooms and found everything to be in fine order.

In the future, please go to the office of the motel where you are staying and tell them if there is a problem. The motel industry is a “hospitality” business and their goal is to make guests as comfortable as possible.

Thank you. Kathy, Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The room was spotless, the pool was clean and the staff was friendly. Definately will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tricia516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#22 of 41 in North Wildwood
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#35 of 41 in North Wildwood
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sahara Motel
Sahara Motel
#14 of 41 in North Wildwood
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 1600 Ocean Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5525
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Motel is family owned and operated. Our guests are families and couples 25 years of age and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing