We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean & family friendly!”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean & family friendly!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of August. My brother and I booked 2 rooms with our families. Kathy, Stephanie and staff could not have been more accomodating! Upon early arrival, our rooms were ready before the usual "3:00 check-in". Any question or request was met with a smile. The motel is small, quiet, clean and family friendly. Rates are good compared with other hotels/motels. It might be in need of a few improvements but -- dollar for dollar -- you can't beat it! I was very impressed that the shower curtain in our bathroom was changed on the 2nd day of our stay. Most 4 star hotels never do that! Beach/boardwalk are only a short walk away. Amenities: Pool, outdoor shower/hose, barbecues, sun deck, coin-op laundry, ice machine.

Room Tip: 3rd floor - Street side - Ocean view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaD827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyCr1007, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi Maria!
It was great to see you and your daughter again. Thank you for recommending us to your brother! His daughters were excited to see the Wildwoods for the first time and LOVED it! We are glad to be a part of that.
If a room is ready before check-in time, we gladly allow guests in the room early! There is nothing better than getting a head start on your vacation! : )
Each year upgrades are made to the motel. Last year we had new roofing installed over the entire motel, new carpeting on the sundeck and upgraded mechanical "stuff" that my husband would be able to explain. We've more planned over the winter! Come next summer to see what we've done! We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated. Take care! Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
72
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My son and I visited the Sandpiper for the second time, staying five nights in room 4B, a type 6K unit (two room with kitchenette) with water view. The kitchenette is well-stocked with cookware/utensils, and it has a four-burner cooktop - it worked fine for preparing most of our meals while we were there. My son slept in the bedroom, I slept in the front room on a comfortable real bed (not a hide-a-bed couch). The owners are *very* nice, family-friendly people. The room was very clean. The property is well-maintained. Wireless system worked fine with a Linux laptop. The north end of the boardwalk is a block away, and the beach is a short walk beyond going under the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeskibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyCr1007, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure having you and Bobby stay with us! Please stop in and say "hello" the next time you are in the area!
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here for a long weekend. The place is very clean and the property well kept. Staff is friendly and they made you feel very welcome. We had a 3rd floor 2B room, which for the two of us was the perfect place to crash and stay after a long day at the beach, on the boardwalk, or just running around town. We didn't check out any of the other rooms, however saw many families enjoying themselves on the 1st floor and in the pool. They also have a few cherry tomatoes growing out front that were awesome to grab one or two as you walked by on your way to the boards!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyCr1007, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We love planting the cherry tomatoes for our guests to enjoy and hope to see you again next year! Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bechtelsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The staff and owners are so friendly and understanding!! It's a very clean place with little rooms, especially the bathrooms. (sorry Kathy), but we were hitting ourselves on the sink and walls when drying ourselves off, and if you are a tall person, your knees are hitting the wall if you go to the bathroom, other than that, we had a very nice and comfortable time staying at this cute place. It seems like a very popular place for big families that rent a lot of rooms for a whole week, so I am glad they let us stay for just 3 nights. Nice family feeling too and we were not treated like just a number. They take good care of any needs that you may have. The location was awesome, just a block back from the boards, and close to the beach! The air conditioner was so powerful and it kept the sleeping area in the living room very cool.

Room Tip: room facing the boards had really good powerful A/C units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im2stinkinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyCr1007, Manager at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
It is good to know you appreciated our efforts to provide a clean, family friendly atmosphere.

The motel was built in the 1960's when bathrooms were not a priority and yes, they are small. We have the same bathroom in our unit and I recommend toweling off in the shower stall. Our family of four manages quite well. If you would like a larger one, request the Type 4 or Type 2 room. You'll be much happier! : )

Thank you for your kind review. Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very happy with our recent stay. Our experience mirrors the other positive reviews on this site. Owners were GREAT-even gave my two girls a little memento of our trip there. Room was very clean which was very much appreciated. Only negative-and really its easy to fix for next time-pillows are terrible! Just bring your own pillows-especially if you want more than one-and you are all set.
Great place...great location...will return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Motel is very clean, staff and owners are extremely friendly and always helpful. Great place for families....(wish the pool had stayed open longer in these extremely high temps). But it is def the place to stay for a relaxing vaction with not only your family but the wonderful Sandpiper family as well. Thank you Sandpiper!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom floor if you have bad legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneys Poin, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Every year on the first weekend in June Wildwood hosts the NJ State Elks Convention. The Penns Grove Elks #1358 rent the motel for the weekend! Kathy, Lauren and Bill are the BEST! They go out of their way to accomodate our "crew" and makes us feel like family. I stayed on the rest of the week as a vacation after the convention and the owners always make me feel at home! There isn't another motel in Wildwood I would stay at!

Room Tip: If you have bad knees choose the first floor rooms The 2nd floor balcony area is a great place to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 41 in North Wildwood
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#19 of 41 in North Wildwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 1600 Ocean Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5525
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#8 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Motel is family owned and operated. Our guests are families and couples 25 years of age and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing