We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Had a fantastic time with family. Very Very clean, quiet, family friendly and relaxing place to enjoy ones vacation in Wildwood. close to beach, stores and boardwalk. Owners are amazing and want to thank them for everything. will go back again very soon!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
75
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folcroft, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Been staying at The Sandpiper since Kathy and Family got the Motel.. Love it and won't stay anywhere else. Great friendly family, Super clean rooms. Quiet corner motel within very short distance from beach and start of boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyCutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Sandpiper from 6/17 - 6/20 and had a great time. The place is literally a block from beach and start of boardwalk. The hotel is so clean, the owners are great, the pool is fabulous. This is the first time I stayed in this hotel but it won't be the last. If you are looking for a place that is far enough from the noise of the boardwalk but close enough to walk, stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I truly liked the motel, except our room was on the 2nd flr. and I dislike walking up all those steps; it would've been great if there were 1 or 2 elevators.....very clean & friendly place to stay........until the night before we were to leave, we had some friends over to visit me & my boyfriend......and they began smoking all night as we watched movies.........and the next day, my boyfriend told me the owner of the motel fined my boyfriend $250.00 for smelling smoke in the room the day we were leaving. I don't think this was right, had we been forewarned of a huge fine like that in advance of our stay, we would've never allowed our friends to smoke in the room. I feel this was extremely unfair and very shocking
and made the last day of our visit there a disaster; we went home feeling shell shocked, and it ruined the only 3 day vacation I've had in at least 10 years. There should have been a penalty notice for violation of this smoke-free policy posted on the inside of the entry doors to each room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PebblesChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

friendly staff, helpful management, clean comfortable rooms. We have a wonderful stay every year and it has been very nice to see the upgrades each year we stay. Looking forward to seeing what is new next year.
Kathy, we missed chatting with you & Lauren by the pool this year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I luv the Sandpiper, my daughter and her friends luv the Sandpiper. Great location 1/2 block to boardwalk, and the Staff, Steph, Lauren, Kathy, Bill, and Connie are all FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehootman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

As usual we had another nice short vacation at the Sandpiper Motel. The negatives that I can say are: In the bathroom, the toilet seat kept coming off and shower rod was rusted on the sides. The parking is the worst for this motel. My pick up was banged and the paint is gone from the person who parked next to me. My vehicle cannot fit in every space that they have. I was afraid to drive anywhere and lose my spot.
As for everything else, it is wonderful. The three beds, the kitchen, the two tv's all great. The pool was nice. Sleeping has been quiet whenever we stay there. There was a guest who didn't use the best of language to her children/grandchildren. That is always annoying but we tried to ignore them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee5StarAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperMotel, Owner at Sandpiper Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Hello Denise,

I recognized your screen name on your review and was consequently able to locate the elusive “broken toilet seat.” We didn’t realize the lid of the seat slid off if someone moved around on it. It was something you would not notice while cleaning. I wish you had reported it to the office. Bill would have replaced it. ; )

Looking forward to seeing you next year!
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 41 in North Wildwood
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#19 of 41 in North Wildwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Property: Sandpiper Motel
Address: 1600 Ocean Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5525
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Motel is family owned and operated. Our guests are families and couples 25 years of age and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing