We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
114
23
8
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
23
8
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit free hot dogs wildwood vacation an entire week rooms are great last summer the jersey shore can't wait to go back the entire staff cathy boardwalk fireworks motel steps
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 167 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016

We have been coming here for many years and have always enjoyed ourselves. We are always treated kindly and the staff is more than willing to accommodate our needs. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Love the owners. They are friendly and kind. Would recommend staying here if your looking for a family atmosphere. Loved it and will continue to come for many more years.

Room Tip: Apartment offers 2 individual rooms for more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PattyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, Guest Relations Manager at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Thank you for enjoying staying with us this year and reaching out to Tripadvisor to give us a great review.. As always it is a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We look forward to your return for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing personal touch. It is privately owned and customers are given individualized attention beginning with assistance in parking and lasting until checkout. The facilities are up to date and very clean. It is at the north end of the boardwalk and away from the crowded parts. I very highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for enjoying your stay. It is a pleasure having you as our guests. We appreciate that you took the time to review our establishment and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel to stay....the staff gerome and sherry great people down to earth will do anything for you at the the drop of a dime...and the owner cathy is great with the kids smores and wiener Wednesday...will definitely be back....

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, General Manager at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thank you Wayne for enjoying your stay and taking the time to write a wonderful review. Also thank you for noticing how hard the staff works in trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Thursday and checked out on Tuesday following the July 4th weekend. One of our family members has stayed here since he was a boy and this place holds nostalgia for him. So he has since brought his immediate family for the past 10 years. I don't think much has changed since then here. It seems that most of North Wildwood is a well preserved time capsule of decades past.

The manager, Cathy, was personable from the time we booked our reservation through answering my questions about our pending trip. The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating.

The room was surface clean but not very nice. It seemed dated and worn. There was a very small bedroom with two full size beds and a more spacious living area with kitchenette and TV area. The couch in our room had old stains covering it probably from all the families that had stayed there before. The kitchenette was very dated and ill equipped for any kind of meal preparation.

The day we arrived we had to wait until 6:00 PM to get the appropriate amount of bathroom towels and extra sheets and pillows that should have been in the room given the 6 months advance notice that the hotel had since receiving our reservation with number of guests in the room and my $400 deposit. There was another day when we also had to wait until late in the day for new towels.

Our room was on the ground floor near the laundry area. This is where our small children ages 4-5 would run around and play together. Each day just above our room from the 2nd and 3rd floors the cleaning staff would take giant bundles of wet towels tied together with dirty sheets and drop them from above to the ground outside our room with a thud. It was quite dangerous and we had to pull our children from harms way more than once. When our family member asked about this he was told that the linens and towels were too heavy and that there was no elevator, so this is what they do. We all found this practice both dangerous to the people below and very low class.

When pricing out full homes that were nicer and more updated with pools just as close to the boardwalk we discovered it would be cheaper to rent one of them instead. Next year we will do that. There will be no tradition for us with this place. We will not be back.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank evergreenmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, Public Relations Manager at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2016

Thank you for your feedback however this would have been much more beneficial had you reached out to us during your stay so that we could have the opportunity to address your concerns immediately. Our motel has the privilege of serving many new and repeat guests and unfortunately you are not always going to be able to please everyone no matter how hard you try and believe me we try harder than most of our competition. Communication is key! If more kitchen equipment was needed it should have been addressed at the office and it would have been provided for you. We can't do anything about a bedroom being too small. Our hotel has had over $150,000 in renovations this past winter of 2016. We have a linen service and are dependent on their deliverers daily of towels, sheets, pillowcases etc. In the heat of the summer and during holiday weekends they have delays but, they are the only ones that service this island. As far as the towel management the housekeeping staff as been made aware of your complaint and we are looking into other options.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Horizon as much as the numerous other guests that have given us an excellent ratings. We have 101 "excellent" ratings on this forum and 22 "very goods".
As far as the towel mangemant the housekeeping staff as been made aware of your complaint and we are looking into other options

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

This upcoming weekend will be our 4th stay, I and my Family Love The Motor Inn. Cathy and her staff are very friendly and always courteous to our needs if need be. The rooms are clean and very roomy. I Love how close it is to the boards and rides, everything is within walking distance. This is definitely our to go spot for years to come!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

That was a great review that you wrote for the HORIZON and we thank you for that and enjoying our hotel. It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in keeping the grounds, rooms and pool as sparkling as possible. Thank you for noticing. We look forward to seeing you next week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews