We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizon Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

First time here and we enjoy our family vacation. The people that run it are great. It has a nice family atmosphere. Great location close enough to the boardwalk (3 min) but not noisy at all and the beach is beautiful. Thanks for the great time, Martin from Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin1112_ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
122
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our first time staying at the Horizon. Cathy and Jim Were such nice People. The Room was Great for our family. durning our week thier, Cathy and Jim had a customer apperciation drawing for some prizes. amoung the prizes were a $25 WaWA Gift card and a free weekend at the Horizon during Thunder on the Beach Monster Truck Race Weekend. I'm Proud to say that we won the grand prize and we'll be back at the Horizon September 30th-October 2nd for the monster truck weedend. Thank you Cathy and Jim

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport,de
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

we had the best time here at the horizon. the staff, the owener Kathy made you feel so welcome. the people that we met that week were wonderful. we shall return for another weeks vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I just wanted to say thank you for everyones hospitality! I was there this past week with my son and my parents and we couldnt have asked for a better time. The staff was so polite and Kathy and Jim were very accomadating. It was such a wonderful experience and I would def go back next year! We met some very nice friends and hope to keep in contact! The pool was awesome, the music was great and overall I had a fantastic time :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSchurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have been staying at the Horizon for about 7 yearsand we love it. The people that run it are great. It has a nice family atmosphere. My daughter and her family and my son and his family also stayed there. My grandkids love the place especially the pool. It's in a great location- close enough to the boardwalk but not so that it is real noisy. This year they put a sand pail and shovel filled with water bottles and snacks in the rooms when you checked in. This was a really nice touch. We had a great time and will be back again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSTREETERTroy_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I took our son for his first trip to the beach. We had initially reserved a room at a different hotel. However, upon learning this other hotel had bed bugs, we cancelled and reserved a room at the Horizon last minute. The only room they had available was the 2 bedroom (I'm assuming they only have 1 because it was separate from the rest of the rooms). After checking in, they showed us to our room, which was connected to the office. The door didin't close enough to use the dead bolt and it was crooked so there was a gap on the top and bottom. Therefore, it was always warm and muggy so we had to crank up the air conditioning. After being in our room not even an hour, my sons feet were black from walking around. They had ant traps everywhere, even in the cupboards where the dishes were kept (we used our own paper plates). We found a Cheeto on the floor in the bedroom and a piece of chicken under the table in the kitchen (neither of which we ate at all while we stayed there). It looked like they hadn't swept or mopped in months (which is why they have an ant problem)! The air conditioners were extremely loud so it made it very difficult to watch tv with our son sleeping in the next room (they only had about 10 stations, none of which were worth watching). We had to turn the air conditioner in our room off at night and crank up the one in the living room because it was so loud it startled us out of our sleep. Upon taking a shower, I noticed part of the shower curtain was black with mold or mildew. The walls aren't remotely sound proof as we could hear the woman in the office talking (it was connected). Because of where the room was located, there were people constantly hanging out outside our room as there was a table and chairs that anyone could use right outside our door.

There were some positive aspects about our stay. The pool is really nice and wasn't crowded, though we only went to the pool once (we stayed for 3 days). It's really close to the boardwalk and beach - about a block away. The area is safe so after the first night, I didn't worry that we couldn't use the dead bolt. I expected to see more bugs because it was so dirty, but we only saw a few small ants. The staff was extremely nice and always said hi when we passed by. We loved North Wildwood, but will be hesitant about staying here again. If we do, we'll definitely request a 1 bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kferrari623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonmotorinn, General Manager at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. This unit has been completely renovated from top to bottom. Although we do not agree with this report we did have this plan in the works long before this review. Please rest assured that this information did help us and this unit is now getting rave reviews. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton,pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We are annual visitors from Hazleton, Pennsylvania to the Horizon. Kathy and her staff keep the property and rooms in excellent shape. The pool is crystal clear and pleasant. The location is near to the nicest beach in Wildwood. My family loves the free hot dog roast during the week and the great poolside music. All in all, you will not find a better place in Wildwood where the people really take pride in what they do and care for you. (I'm sure my son will add pictures to this review!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garrisonjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
0.1 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sand Box Motel
The Sand Box Motel
#3 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Motor Inn

Property: Horizon Motor Inn
Address: 401 E. 21st & Beach Block, P. O. Box 1167, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#14 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new carpeting throughout in 2016! All beach block efficiency suites with kitchens and no streets to cross to the beach and boardwalk. Our rooms were all updated in 2013. The one bedroom units all have Two 32" flat-screen TVs and the two bedroom units all have 3 flat-screens. You'll love our ideal location in the Wildwoods, adjacent to the beach and boardwalk and a few short steps from the amusement piers and water parks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horizon Motor Hotel North Wildwood
Horizon Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing