We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our family has been staying at the Matador for over 10 years and it gets better every year. Perfect location,clean and friendly. Great place to stay and the beach is not as long as the Crest a major plus with kids!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancineM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Francine,

Thank you for coming to the Matador year after year. We are very grateful that you make the Matador your family vacation destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Matador this past weekend just overnight on saturday for Beach Blast. The staff is incredible and really friendly. They let us park there prior to our check in because we arrived so early for the soccer games and even let us swim after the game while our room was being prepared. once we got in our room we were extremely happy at how clean and big the room was, we stayed in a Type 6 and with a family of 5 it was perfect, the one bedroom was perfect because our children are young and would have woundup been sleeping in the same room as us regardless. Ha. I wish we had more time to stay a couple of more nights. the location is perfect , espicially if you have young children. steps away from beach and boardwalk and a playground in front of motel. we were suprised of how quiet the motel is esp being so close to boardwalk and a lot of foot traffic. We cant wait to book again! we have always wanted a go to place and have been looking for a while. I believe we just found that place. thank you staff and we look foward to staying with you again. Jim J.

Room Tip: Type 6 room is perfect if you have Young children 8 years and younger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Jim, we are so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful time here. Hopefully, next year you will come back for a longer stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Matador is a great place to stay! We looked at other nice places for less money, but in the end you get what you pay for, and we have no regrets in paying a bit more for this place. The location is prime - steps to the beach and right at the beginning of the boardwalk. We stayed in a two-room efficiency that was very clean and well-equipped. The 2nd and 4th floor decks add a nice element to be able to sit outside and look onto the beach and boardwalk. But the best thing was the people. The entire staff from the owner to the cleaning crew were friendly and very accommodating. They even let us remain parked on the premises for a few extra hours after we checked out so that we could get one more day on the boardwalk! And they were happy to let us use the pool, outdoor shower, and changing room for that entire last day. As we were checking out we booked our room for next summer!

Room Tip: Rooms on the short end of the pool side get more sun, so if you want more sun or more shade you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that you had such a good experience here that you booked for next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Matador, we did not spend a lot of time there as we are not one to sit around. The only suggestion I would have to improve things would be the bedding, I found the sheets were not adequate, the top sheet was too small and very thin. Other than that we were happy enough.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean view ask for third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mollyanne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We so pleased that you had a nice time here at the Matador. We will definitely take into consideration your suggestion about the bedding. Thank you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our second time staying here. Both times was a good experience.
This motel is one of the cleanest, quietest and best run motels I have stayed
at in Wildwood. If you have a problem with anything the staff takes care of it.
The staff also knows the area which is always a big help.
We will probably stay at the Matador again next summer.

Room Tip: Go to there website to see what types of rooms they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beachbum1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Glad to hear you had another great time at the Matador. We continue to strive for a clean and friendly place that families can enjoy. We know the area well because this is where we live and raise our families. So my family take great pride in the Matador. Thank you and hope to see you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location of this motel is perfect. Close to the beach, right at the edge of the boardwalk, near a convenience store and bike rentals. Great, clean pool and sun deck(good location for fireworks). Good parking. Very family friendly. We stayed in a type 6 room,oceanfront, on the 4th floor. It was perfect for us. The only negative aspect is that the beds in our room were not very comfortable. They seemed a little old and worn out. We didn't try the pull-out couch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawkinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Matador on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay. We apologize if the beds were a bit uncomfortable but we do appreciate the feedback. Your feedback lets us know how we can do better. Hope to see you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My mother, son and I had a fabulous time at your motel and will definitely be coming back again!!!!! It was very convenient to get to the boardwalk and the ocean....etc. I have already recommended it to other people. The room was clean and the pool was excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Kimberly, we are so pleased to hear that you had a great time at the Matador and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
5.5 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 40 in North Wildwood
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 40 in North Wildwood
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#2 of 40 in North Wildwood
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#9 of 40 in North Wildwood
189 reviews
0 mi away
Condor Motel
Condor Motel
#4 of 40 in North Wildwood
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Oceanfront Resort

Address: 16th and the Beach, 511 East 16th Avenue, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range: $155 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matador Oceanfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated for more than 40 years, the Matador Oceanfront Resort is one of the most renowned North Wildwood NJ hotels located directly on the beach and boardwalk. Affordable rates for family vacations. Rooms, suites, vacation rentals. Hotel rates and specials available. Our hotel is on the beach, ocean and the boardwalk in North Wildwood NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Matador Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Oceanfront Hotel North Wildwood
Matador Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing