We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family motel, great view of the ocean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Alante for 5 years now, and love it. Firstly, you've got a view of the ocean (well, most rooms), and the beach is just across the street. Short walk to the boards too. The rooms are clean, especially for a resort town where I know it's hard to find reliable help. I saw someone mentioned the rooms werent big enough. I guess it depends on what room size you get and how many people you bring. We stayed in a few different rooms and never felt cramped. another good thing is, if you need anything or are unhappy with something, the owner Melanie is seemingly always available to accommodate. We had a bulb burn out and she came in to change it herself (she insisted!). Someone else said it was too loud and out of control...weird to me, never saw anything like that before. Maybe a fluke? You can't always tell who will be renting at the same time as you, but if the place is full, I expect a lot of kids and people having fun by the pool. If you want peace and quiet, go to a Sandals in the Caribbean. Or Cape May. No one ever said Wildwood was quiet! Oh, and there's a sun deck upstairs if you want to get away from life at the pool. Overall, I have nothing to complain about and we have always enjoyed ourselves. We will be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if available!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello Matt,
Thank you for your thoughtful and honest response to our motel. We love having you and look forward to seeing you next time!!
Warm Regards,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Alante Oceanfront Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been going to Wildwood for 17 years, the Alante was the best place that we have stayed! The room was spotless. The Owners were friendly and helpful!! The Beach is right across the street!! It's only a short walk to the Boardwalk. The pool was clean, and there is even a play area and barbecues! This is the perfect Family Vacation spot at the Beach!! LOVED IT!!!
We will definitely be back!!
We've found our new vacation location!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hi Andrea,
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a positive review. We pride ourselves in our hospitality and we are very happy you saw it shine through.
Looking forward to seeing you next year....or sooner!!!
Best Wishes,
Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been staying at the Alante for a few years now and this place is just not the same.
It used to be a very reserved quiet place now it so noisy with people drinking beer not attending to their little children running around like crazy. Very noisy loud and out of control. Would never return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CHRISTINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hello Christine,
We apologize you found us a little noisy during your stay this time around. We assure you it was an anomaly. We do hope you find it in your heart to come back to The Alante and let its overall warm, cozy family charm bring your back. Please give us a call to discuss your next vaca to Wildwood.
Best Regards,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We made reservations for a 4 day/3 night trip, paid for. Front desk help was horrible, unfriendly. They sat by the pool instead of in their hotel office. A day prior to our checkout, cleaning service stopped to clean our room due to the front desk had it down we were checking out the wrong day. When I went down to clear up confusion, staff was not nice or willing to accommodate. Needless to stay, we left and will not go back. Horrible place to stay!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Jamie,
We are sorry that you feel this way. However, we were both in the office, not buy the pool when we tried to amicably resolve the oversight. We did try to remedy the situation by moving you to another room at a lower rate, but you refused. Further, we did acknowledge the oversight in the last nights stay, however, I wish we would have caught this sooner at check-in when you only paid for two nights and not three. We do see that you found our motel very clean and very family friendly and we hope we can one day win you back as a customer.
Warm Regards,
The Alante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My 15 y/o daughter and I spent 5 days at the Alante from June 27 - July 1 and just concluded another 9 days at the Alante ending just today, June 20, and we can't wait to get back again!

Our air conditioned rooms were remarkably clean and well-attended (thank you Carolee), the unobstructed views of beach and ocean from our rooms and the common decks cannot be matched, and the pool offers a great, clean & cool place to relax after a long hot day at the beach - which, by the way, is directly across the street! And, the 8th Street beach may very well be the best in all of the Wildwoods! Our room was stocked with all of the kitchen essentials for the week's stay including: microwave, coffee maker, toaster and, of course dinner- and flat-wear. There's even gas BBQs in the courtyard for those nights/days when you don't feel like walking to your nearby favorite restaurants or cooking in your efficiency unit.

Melanie, Bill and staff have truly made the Alante a place that we will call "home-away-from-home" for many years to come. We love this place (and the people) so much that we decided to go back again next weekend for another 4 nights and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Stay in an efficiency unit for extended (week or more) stays when you'll want to take advantage...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you guys and we can't wait to see you again!
We love having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were excited about staying here. We haven't been able to find "our place" since Lurae Motel closed. This place was recommended and had good reviews so we figured we would give it a whirl. Melanie was very helpful in making the reservation, however, when the receipt came we were overcharged. Called to make the change and got an updated balance (needed cash) on arrival. Called day before we arrived to find out if there was a blow dryer (no), stovetop (yes), coffee maker (was told no), iron (no). When we arrived, there was a coffee maker in the room. The room smelled awful - so heavy with mildew. We go to the shore a lot, so we are used to the shore smell, but this was awful. We were running out to meet friends and didn't get back till after midnight, I couldn't put my face in the pillow the smell was so strong - I folded up the beach towels to use as a barried. Next morning when we unpacked we found that one of the dresser drawers had a sopping wet blanket in it - the drawer had milder and it was growing up behind the TV. We gave it to the maid and she wiped it down with bleach, which made a huge improvement. Or first morning, I attempted to make breakfast, there was no frying pan, no knives (just butter knives). We were unable to start the stovetop. Melanie came over promptly with a lighter, however, it still would not light. She had to turn the gas on underneath. We guess that between that and the blanket in the drawer, this room had not been used in a while. When I attempted to make eggs in a pot, the smoke detector went off. We didn't try to cook after that :( The location was great and it was a short walk to the beach or boardwalk. We were unable to connect to the WIFI at any time from several different places. The connection was always showing as GOOD or 3-4 ring bar things, but it never actually connected. This was disappointing, we tried the little courtyard area as well as near the pool and it still wouldn't connect. We actually showed 2 bar thingies when we were on the beach but still no luck.
The location was great, and the people were friendly, but for the price, this was just not a good deal. We have washed our clothes twice since we got home and that smell from the first day is still in them, and even in our canvas beach bag. We will keep looking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcs819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hello,
First, we want to thank you for the positive feedback and positive compliments to our location and staff. We pride ourselves in assuring that each and every guest is comfortable and feels at home. All of the amenities that you wanted or needed were only a request away. We have irons, coffee pots, utensils, utensils for grill, and our office is available 24/7 for any and all needs. We are sorry you feel like you were overcharged, the price given is naturally before taxes. We accept all major credit cards as well, as your deposit was made on such. The brief smell of mold was an oversight which was remedied immediately and to your satisfaction. Furthermore, our smoke alarms are very sensitive for our guests protection. it was unfortunate that you were discouraged from cooking any further after your fried egg experience. Perhaps, if you told us we could have placed a new battery in the alarm and that would have solved the problem?
Finally, our internet has boosters in four locations on our property.
Perhaps, because you could receive bars on the beach it was a setting on your phone? I would have been happy to assist you if you again had brought it to our attention.
Nevertheless, we would like to invite you back to our cozy beach front motel to show you your experience was a very unique one.
Please do give us another opportunity, we assure you happiness and perhaps you will reconsider your disparaging review?
Warm Regards, The Alante Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed 3 days from 20-23 June..Rooms were clean and maintained..Neede extra towels every night and never given a problem with that request! Great peopl and great place to stay and North Wildwood is BEAUTIFUL! Will stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hi Brian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your appreciation for The Alante!
We can't wait for you to come back. Miss you already!
Warm Wishes,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
5.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#8 of 41 in North Wildwood
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#3 of 41 in North Wildwood
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#37 of 41 in North Wildwood
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alante Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alante Oceanfront Motel

Address: 515 E. 8th Avenue and JFK Beach Drive, North Wildwood, NJ 08260 (Formerly Alante Oceanfront Motor Inn)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range: $88 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alante Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alante is a ocean front family owned, operated, and maintained motel located in North Wildwood, New Jersey. We have free wi-fi, grills, a pool, outdoor shower and are steps away from the beach. We provide anything you need to make your stay more enjoyable upon request. We pride ourselves in the fact that families return year after year which makes The Alante a destination in and of itself. We are steps to the beach and six short blocks to the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk. We look forward to your stay at the Alante and the world famous Jersey Shore. We are Stronger than the Storm!See you soon at the Sunny Jersey Shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Alante Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alante Motor Hotel North Wildwood
Alante Hotel North Wildwood
Alante Motel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing